Skip to content

Baruch College scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$6,930per year · 2025-2026 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Baruch College may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Baruch College free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Baruch College

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Baruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship)Full tuition for in-state students; a 'generous tuition scholarship' (amount not published) for out-of-state studentsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Baruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship)

    Full tuition for in-state students; a 'generous tuition scholarship' (amount not published) for out-of-state students

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Baruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship)

    Who qualifies

    Admits entering first-year students; selected through the freshman honors application (apply via Macaulay Honors College at Baruch and you are also considered for Baruch Scholars and other awards). No published GPA/test cutoff on the official page.

    How to keep it

    Tied to graduating with College Honors: scholars must enroll full-time (12-18 units), complete the honors curriculum, and 'Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3 up to the 59th unit and 3.5 after the 60th unit to graduate with College Honors.' Covers fall and spring tuition only.

    Worth knowing

    Scholarship 'only covers fall and spring tuition' and does NOT cover Student Activities Fees, Technology Fees, or Change of Program Fees, for which scholars remain financially responsible. Scholars also receive a $1,300 study-abroad grant. No specific dollar amount is published; for NY residents it equals the in-state tuition (currently $3,465/semester, ~$6,930/year).

  2. Macaulay Honors College at Baruch (Macaulay Tuition Scholarship)Full tuition for NY State residents (amount not published); not available to out-of-state studentsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Macaulay Honors College at Baruch (Macaulay Tuition Scholarship)

    Full tuition for NY State residents (amount not published); not available to out-of-state students

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Macaulay Honors College at Baruch (Macaulay Tuition Scholarship)

    Who qualifies

    Selective admission to Macaulay Honors College at Baruch (one of 8 CUNY senior-college campuses); the tuition scholarship is 'available only to New York State residents as defined by CUNY.' No published GPA/test cutoff on this page.

    How to keep it

    Funds '8 semesters of full-time undergraduate tuition within a student's four years of study,' plus limited summer/winter classes; excludes fees and expenses. Renewal tied to Macaulay academic standing (specific GPA not stated on this page).

    Worth knowing

    The merit package includes the tuition scholarship plus a laptop, the NYC Cultural Passport, dedicated advising, and access to the Opportunities Fund (a grant for study abroad / experiential learning — no dollar amount published). No specific scholarship dollar amount is published. Out-of-state students are NOT eligible for the Macaulay tuition scholarship.

  3. Peter F. Vallone Academic Scholarship$700 per year ($350 per semester)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Peter F. Vallone Academic Scholarship

    $700 per year ($350 per semester)

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Peter F. Vallone Academic Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    New York City high school graduates who demonstrated academic ability in high school. Formerly the New York City Council Merit Scholarship.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the official page; a NYC/NYS Council-funded award administered through Baruch.

    Worth knowing

    Small fixed award. Eligibility is restricted to NYC high school graduates; it is a state/city-funded merit award rather than an institutional Baruch scholarship. One of the very few named, dollar-quantified merit awards Baruch publishes for undergraduates.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleBaruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Tied to graduating with College Honors: scholars must enroll full-time (12-18 units), complete the honors curriculum, and 'Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3 up to the 59th unit and 3.5 after the 60th unit to graduate with College Honors.' Covers fall and spring tuition only. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Baruch College's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Baruch College different

Baruch's merit aid is concentrated in two full-tuition honors awards for NY residents — the Baruch Scholars Program and Macaulay Honors College at Baruch — both tied to one freshman honors application; the college states that 'merit-based only scholarships are rarely available' beyond those, so for most admits the value is CUNY's already-low in-state tuition, not a separate merit grant.

Merit tiers3See who qualifies
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Baruch College's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Baruch's official brochure says 'Merit-based only scholarships are rarely available.' There is no published automatic-merit table. The real 'merit award' for most students is CUNY's low in-state tuition itself, plus the two competitive full-tuition honors tracks.

  2. It covers fall and spring TUITION only. Scholars remain responsible for the Student Activities Fee, Technology Fee, and Change of Program Fees, plus all living costs — and CUNY's own budget estimates $15,635/yr of variable costs living at home and $29,965/yr living away, on top of fees.

  3. Macaulay's tuition scholarship is 'available only to New York State residents.' Baruch Scholars gives out-of-state students only a 'generous tuition scholarship' whose amount is not published — not the four-year full-tuition that in-state students receive.

  4. Entering first-year applicants apply through the Macaulay Honors College at Baruch application and are simultaneously considered for the Baruch Scholars Program and other awards (e.g., Dean's Scholars). Treat the honors application as the single gateway to the full-tuition merit tracks.

  5. The Peter F. Vallone Academic Scholarship ($700/yr) is a NYC-funded award restricted to New York City high school graduates, not an institutional Baruch scholarship and not available to out-of-city or out-of-state students.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

High-achieving New York State residents who can win admission to Baruch's honors track (Baruch Scholars or Macaulay) for a four-year full-tuition scholarship; out-of-state students get only a 'generous' (undisclosed) honors tuition scholarship, and non-honors admits should plan around low CUNY tuition rather than a merit grant.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $6,930 for 2025-2026. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Baruch College, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Baruch College, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$607
$30,001–$48,000$2,052
$48,001–$75,000$6,312
$75,001–$110,000$8,623
$110,001+$12,314
All income levels (average)$3,033

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$7,464
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$15,414
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$3,033

That works out to roughly a 79% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $14,170 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Baruch College is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
72%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
89%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$11,512 (~$122/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$75,971
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
71%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
7%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Baruch publishes no general institutional outside-scholarship displacement rule on the pages reviewed. The official financial-aid brochure states 'merit-based only scholarships are rarely available' and that most Baruch undergraduate scholarships have mixed merit/need criteria and are for currently enrolled students. No verbatim stacking or third-party displacement policy was found.

The Baruch Scholars and Macaulay tuition scholarships cover tuition only (fall/spring), so by construction they do not reduce other aid that targets fees or living costs; but no page explicitly states how an outside private scholarship interacts with these awards or with TAP/Pell. CUNY-wide, outside awards are generally coordinated against the federal cost-of-attendance, but Baruch's own pages do not state this. Treat as unconfirmed pending the aid office.

Source

Other Baruch College scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVaries (amount not published)EligibilityMacaulay Honors College students; competitive grant for study abroad and experiential learning.

Part of the Macaulay merit package, not a standalone admission award; students who receive extended (fifth-year) tuition funding lose Opportunities Fund eligibility for that year.

Source

AmountVaries (amounts not published)EligibilityGraduate MPA/Marxe School students with 3.2-3.4+ GPA; merit and/or need based.

GRADUATE-level awards, not undergraduate freshman merit. Listed for completeness only; no dollar amounts published and not relevant to incoming first-year merit.

Source

Baruch College merit aid FAQ

  • Does Baruch give automatic merit scholarships to all admitted freshmen?

    No. Baruch's official financial-aid brochure states that 'merit-based only scholarships are rarely available,' and most Baruch undergraduate scholarships are for currently enrolled students and mix merit with need. The main merit pathway for incoming freshmen is the competitive honors track (Baruch Scholars or Macaulay Honors College at Baruch).

  • What does the full-tuition honors scholarship actually cover?

    For New York State residents, the Baruch Scholars and Macaulay tuition scholarships cover fall and spring tuition for four years (Macaulay: '8 semesters'). They do NOT cover the Student Activities Fee, Technology Fee, Change of Program fees, or living expenses. Out-of-state students get only a 'generous tuition scholarship' (Baruch Scholars) and are not eligible for the Macaulay tuition scholarship.

  • How do I apply for the merit/honors scholarships?

    Entering first-year students apply through the Macaulay Honors College at Baruch application, which also puts them in consideration for the Baruch Scholars Program and other awards. Check the official Macaulay and Baruch admissions pages for current deadlines (not published on the pages reviewed here).

  • Do these scholarships renew?

    Yes, while you remain in good honors standing. Baruch Scholars must 'maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3 up to the 59th unit and 3.5 after the 60th unit' and complete the honors curriculum to graduate with College Honors. Macaulay funds 8 semesters within four years; specific Macaulay renewal GPA is not stated on the page reviewed.

See sources and other schools

How Baruch College compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Baruch College is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Baruch College is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Baruch College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Baruch College’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Baruch College merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Baruch College fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook