Baruch College award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Baruch College?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
3 of 3 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 3 of 3
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 3
- Renewal risk profile
- moderate
Renewal risk profile
Baruch College's renewal bar is achievable for steady students but isn't generous. Most awards require a cumulative GPA in the 3.0–3.4 band plus full-time enrollment. Audit the strictest tier on this school's list before assuming the four-year value is locked in.
- Baruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship): Full-time enrollment
- Macaulay Honors College at Baruch (Macaulay Tuition Scholarship): Full-time enrollment
- Peter F. Vallone Academic Scholarship: See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Baruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship)
Full tuition for in-state students; a 'generous tuition scholarship' (amount not published) for out-of-state studentsTo keep it: Tied to graduating with College Honors: scholars must enroll full-time (12-18 units), complete the honors curriculum, and 'Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3 up to the 59th unit and 3.5 after the 60th unit to graduate with College Honors.' Covers fall and spring tuition only.
Macaulay Honors College at Baruch (Macaulay Tuition Scholarship)
Full tuition for NY State residents (amount not published); not available to out-of-state studentsTo keep it: Funds '8 semesters of full-time undergraduate tuition within a student's four years of study,' plus limited summer/winter classes; excludes fees and expenses. Renewal tied to Macaulay academic standing (specific GPA not stated on this page).
Source: https://macaulay.cuny.edu/admissions/tuition-and-merit-scholarship/tuition-information/
Peter F. Vallone Academic Scholarship
$700 per year ($350 per semester)To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the official page; a NYC/NYS Council-funded award administered through Baruch.
How families lose this aid
- Expecting a separate, automatic GPA-based merit grid like at private colleges.
Baruch's official brochure says 'Merit-based only scholarships are rarely available.' There is no published automatic-merit table. The real 'merit award' for most students is CUNY's low in-state tuition itself, plus the two competitive full-tuition honors tracks.
- Out-of-state applicants assuming they get the same deal.
Macaulay's tuition scholarship is 'available only to New York State residents.' Baruch Scholars gives out-of-state students only a 'generous tuition scholarship' whose amount is not published — not the four-year full-tuition that in-state students receive.
Renewal questions families ask
- What does the full-tuition honors scholarship actually cover?
- For New York State residents, the Baruch Scholars and Macaulay tuition scholarships cover fall and spring tuition for four years (Macaulay: '8 semesters'). They do NOT cover the Student Activities Fee, Technology Fee, Change of Program fees, or living expenses. Out-of-state students get only a 'generous tuition scholarship' (Baruch Scholars) and are not eligible for the Macaulay tuition scholarship.
- Do these scholarships renew?
- Yes, while you remain in good honors standing. Baruch Scholars must 'maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3 up to the 59th unit and 3.5 after the 60th unit' and complete the honors curriculum to graduate with College Honors. Macaulay funds 8 semesters within four years; specific Macaulay renewal GPA is not stated on the page reviewed.
Rules that bite at Baruch College
The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from Baruch College's own tier rules and not generic advice.
- Renewal ruleBaruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Tied to graduating with College Honors: scholars must enroll full-time (12-18 units), complete the honors curriculum, and 'Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.3 up to the 59th unit and 3.5 after the 60th unit to graduate with College Honors.' Covers fall and spring tuition only. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
How Baruch College compares across our verified dataset
- 69 of 749 verified schools publish a top renewal tier requiring 3.5+ GPA or major-GPA gating.
Baruch College is one of them. Calibrate year-one academic load against the renewal floor, not just freshman survival.
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Baruch College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Baruch College’s own published materials.
- Policy pageBaruch College stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceBaruch College cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersBaruch Scholars Program (full-tuition honors scholarship)
- Merit tiersMacaulay Honors College at Baruch (Macaulay Tuition Scholarship)
- Scholarship pageMacaulay Opportunities Fund
- Scholarship pageMarxe School graduate scholarships (Clark Foundation, Percopo, Farley, Friedman, Kalish, IMPACT Scholars, Rubinstein)
More on Baruch College merit aid
- Baruch College merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Baruch College scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Baruch College displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.