Skip to content
← Back to Francis Marion's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Francis Marion
Decision sheet

South Carolina · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

South Carolina's most affordable four-year public university offers automatic merit aid starting at $1,000 for in-state freshmen, a full-ride Governor McNair Scholarship for future public-service leaders, and need-based full-tuition coverage through the Premier Pledge.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 9 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Academic Distinction Award (Automatic Minimum)

Minimum $1,000 per year · Published award terms

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: 3.0 cumulative high school GPA · SAT: 1100 (CR and Math) · ACT: 22

Eligibility: Top 40% of graduating class; South Carolina resident; accepted as first-time freshman for fall semester

Renewal: Competitive academic scholarships are renewable; specific renewal GPA for this tier not published on the page. General university scholarship renewal terms referenced in award letter: limits on total scholarships/grants may apply per a signed Terms & Conditions form.

Other terms: Awarded automatically to accepted SC resident first-time freshmen who meet all three criteria. Merit-based scholarships are awarded in rounds; higher amounts are given in earlier rounds. Early application is strongly encouraged. The $1,000 is stated as the minimum; actual award may be higher depending on application timing and competition.

https://www.fmarion.edu/financialassistance/scholarships/

Academic Distinction Award (Competitive / Admissions Scholarships)

$500–full tuition, room, and board (range) · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Minimum 3.0 cumulative weighted high school GPA (incoming freshman); 3.0 college GPA (transfer/returning) · SAT: Strongly considered but not a hard cutoff · ACT: Strongly considered but not a hard cutoff

Eligibility: Top 40% of graduating class strongly recommended; must submit Admissions Scholarship application by March 15; need-based aid also considered from FAFSA for need-based portion; SC residency required for most awards

Renewal: Competitive awards require maintaining a 3.0 cumulative GPA (college). Specific annual renewal hours requirement not published for this tier. Award letter notes 4-year renewable scholarships have a cap on total aid per signed Terms & Conditions.

Other terms: Competitive awards distributed via the Admissions Scholarships application (deadline March 15). Range stated as $500 to full tuition, room and board. Class rank, cumulative weighted GPA, and SAT/ACT test scores are strongly considered. Need-based scholarship support uses FAFSA data. Merit awards given in rounds — earlier applicants receive higher amounts.

https://www.fmarion.edu/financialassistance/scholarships/

Governor Robert E. McNair Scholarship

Full tuition, room and board, book allowance, and study abroad (all four years) · Published coverage or package

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.0 cumulative high school GPA or higher · SAT: Not specified · ACT: Not specified

Eligibility: South Carolina resident; high school senior; top 30% of graduating class; demonstrated dedication to public service; application required; two references required; deadline December 1, 2025 (for 2026 entry). Finalists interview in March.

Renewal: Renewable for four years provided recipient: completes 30 semester hours each year and maintains a cumulative 3.25 GPA or higher; participates in Honors Program and graduates with University Honors; participates in travel and study abroad; participates in service learning/public service; lives in on-campus housing for the duration of the scholarship.

Other terms: Privately funded scholarship. Covers free tuition, fees, room and board, book allowance each semester, admission to Honors Program, upgraded housing in Forest Villas Apartments, early class registration, opportunity to travel abroad during freshman spring break, and opportunity to study abroad. Students must complete FMU admission application before submitting McNair application. Application deadline stated as December 1, 2025 (for 2026 entry — year referenced on page).

https://www.fmarion.edu/mcnairinstitute/mcnairscholarsprogram/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Outside scholarships must be reported to the Financial Assistance Office (FAO). For 4-year renewable scholarships, a signed Terms & Conditions form limits the total amount of scholarships, grants, etc. that can be received in addition to the scholarship. Outside scholarships credited to the student account as soon as received by the university. The Premier Pledge is explicitly tuition-only and does not apply when existing scholarships/grants already cover the full tuition of $10,384.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/francis-marion-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.