Skip to content

GWU scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$92,345per year · 2025-2026 · On-campus
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

GWU may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Presidential Academic ScholarshipVaries (tuition-specific; amount not published in a public tier table)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Academic Scholarship

    Varies (tuition-specific; amount not published in a public tier table)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Academic Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    All first-year applicants — domestic and international — are automatically considered. No separate application. Awarded to 'the most competitive applicants in the pool.' Award is restricted to tuition expenses unless otherwise indicated.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to 10 consecutive semesters with continuous full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress.

    Worth knowing

    GW does not publish a stat-to-amount table for the Presidential. Award size is decided by the Office of Undergraduate Admissions and disclosed in the admission decision.

  2. Stephen Joel Trachtenberg (SJT) ScholarshipFull tuition and fees (beyond the D.C. Tag Program allowance) + room and board + book allowanceNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Stephen Joel Trachtenberg (SJT) Scholarship

    Full tuition and fees (beyond the D.C. Tag Program allowance) + room and board + book allowance

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Stephen Joel Trachtenberg (SJT) Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Outstanding graduates of regionally accredited D.C. high schools, nominated by school counselors. Must be a D.C. resident and must have applied for financial assistance.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to 10 consecutive semesters with continuous full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress.

    Worth knowing

    GW's flagship local-pipeline full-ride. The award sits on top of the District of Columbia Tuition Assistance Grant (DC TAG) — SJT covers what TAG does not.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which GWU award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at GWU

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal rulePresidential Academic Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Renewable for up to 10 consecutive semesters with continuous full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Outside awardsGrant-first displacement = outside wins can pay the school

GWU reduces institutional grant before any other aid line when an outside award arrives. A $5,000 community-foundation win can leave the family bill unchanged.

Campus view at George Washington University

Campus view at George Washington University

What makes GWU different

Mid-size private research university in downtown DC with auto-considered Presidential Academic Scholarships, a flagship full-ride Stephen Joel Trachtenberg Scholarship for DC public high school graduates, and an outside-scholarship policy that treats outside awards as part of the need package — useful unmet-need first, but the May 1 cutoff materially changes the displacement math.

Merit tiers2See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards30%First-year students, CDS 2025-2026 (school-estimated)
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Selection beyond grades and scores

Start with the selection process.

These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

  1. Read the selection rules

    Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take GWU's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

Straight from the aid office

What GWU's aid office says

Per the Student Financial and Registration Services, George Washington University, August 2026. How we verify

Merit scholarship application process

Does the admission application cover merit scholarship consideration, or is there a separate application?

There is no separate application for merit; the admission application itself is reviewed for potential merit awards.

“There is no separate application for merit; the admission application is what is reviewed for potential merit awards.”
Who finalizes merit awards

Who decides merit aid and can it be appealed?

Merit aid decisions are finalized by the Office of Admissions and are not appealable or re-negotiated once set.

“Merit aid decisions are finalized by the Office of Admissions, and once set, they are not appealable or re-negotiated.”
Satisfactory academic progress GPA

What GPA is required to maintain satisfactory academic progress?

GW's general undergraduate satisfactory academic progress standard requires at least a 2.0 GPA and completion of at least 75% of attempted credits.

“GW's general undergraduate satisfactory academic progress standard requires at least a 2.0 GPA and completion of at least 75% of attempted credits.”

What families often miss

  1. GW's policy treats outside resources as part of the need-based award package — which means they typically displace institutional aid dollar-for-dollar against the cost of attendance and the federal aid cap. The only exception is outside scholarships awarded to new students after May 1, which apply to unmet need instead. Students whose outside scholarship notification timing is flexible should consider reporting later in the cycle when possible. (Do not lie about timing — the certification language on GW's outside-resources form explicitly requires accurate reporting.)

  2. GW policy: students cannot combine GW Employee Benefits or Tuition Exchange with Merit Awards, the GW Family Grant, or the University and Alumni Award. When multiple non-combinable awards are offered, the student receives only the largest one. Children of higher-education employees using Tuition Exchange should not budget for stacked GW merit on top.

  3. GW does not publish a tier table for the Presidential Academic Scholarship. Award size is decided by Admissions on a holistic basis and disclosed in the decision letter. Forum-sourced anchors ('Presidential is usually $25k') are not reliable. Use the GW Net Price Calculator as the primary budget tool.

  4. The Stephen Joel Trachtenberg Scholarship requires a counselor nomination from a regionally accredited D.C. high school — students cannot self-apply. The award is generous: full tuition + fees + room + board + book allowance (sitting on top of DC TAG). DC families should explicitly ask their counselor whether they have been nominated, and whether the counselor plans to do so.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Strong students drawn to a DC location and policy/government adjacency; especially valuable for DC residents nominated for SJT and for outside-scholarship winners who can time their award notification to be after May 1.

Cost of attendance$92,345 for 2025-2026Each bar is the full published cost for that scenario, sized against the highest figure so totals compare at a glance.
On-campus$92,345
  • Tuition & fees
  • Housing & food
  • Books
  • Travel
  • Personal

On-campus first-year undergraduate. Tuition & fees combines tuition ($69,780), mandatory student fees ($390), matriculation fee ($350). No separate loan fee in the published budget.

GWU cost-of-attendance source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at GWU, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at GWU, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$17,440
$30,001–$48,000$17,292
$48,001–$75,000$22,080
$75,001–$110,000$28,100
$110,001+$55,337
All income levels (average)$36,586

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$67,710
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$36,586

That works out to roughly a 56% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $83,856 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
84%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
92%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$20,449 (~$217/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$90,873
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
17%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
34%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Outside resources are treated as part of the need-based aid package, not as additive to it. The one exception is outside scholarships awarded to new students after May 1 — those apply to unmet need rather than displacing institutional aid. GW Employee Benefits and Tuition Exchange cannot combine with most GW merit and grant awards.

Per GW's Office of Student Financial Assistance, outside resources (scholarships, grants, fellowships, employer tuition benefits, ROTC, VA benefits, etc.) are treated as part of the need-based award package. Outside awards cannot reduce the family contribution. Tuition-based scholarships combined cannot exceed full tuition, and total aid cannot exceed the estimated cost of attendance — excesses cause GW awards to be adjusted down. The May 1 timing rule is the only path to non-displacement: outside scholarships received by new students after that date are applied toward unmet need rather than reducing GW aid.

Source

More school data

From the GWU Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated figures):

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From GWU’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
30%of admitsget merit
Average award$22,037Covers ~24% of $92,345 cost of attendance

At GWU, roughly 1 in 3 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $22,037 — about 24% of total cost.

As filed in GWU's CDS Section H2A: of 2,391 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 722 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $22,037. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 2,888 of 10,662, averaging $19,840. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

The 2025-2026 column is marked "estimated" in the school's own CDS filing — school-projected figures, not final audited counts.

Receive institutional merit30%First-year students, Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated)
Average merit award$22,037Across recipients, Common Data Set 2025-2026 (school-estimated)

Source: Common Data Set 2025-2026 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other GWU scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountNot publicly disclosedEligibilityNeed-based institutional grant; not combinable with Tuition Exchange or GW Employee Benefits.

Source

AmountNot publicly disclosedEligibilityAwarded by Office of Student Financial Assistance; not combinable with Tuition Exchange or GW Employee Benefits.

Source

AmountUp to $10,000 per year toward the difference between in-state and out-of-state tuition at participating institutions (state-funded; verify annual amount with DC OSSE)EligibilityD.C. residents attending qualifying out-of-state public colleges or private HBCUs. At GW, the SJT Scholarship is structured to sit on top of TAG.

Source

GWU merit aid FAQ

  • What merit scholarships does GWU offer?

    GW awards two main first-year merit scholarships. The Presidential Academic Scholarship is auto-considered for all applicants (amount not published; given to 'the most competitive applicants in the pool') and is tuition-specific. The Stephen Joel Trachtenberg Scholarship is a full-ride award (tuition, fees, room and board, book allowance, beyond DC TAG) reserved for D.C. residents from regionally accredited D.C. high schools nominated by their counselors.

  • How long do GW merit scholarships last?

    Up to 10 consecutive semesters of continuous full-time enrollment with satisfactory academic progress. That covers a standard four-year degree plus a fifth-year cushion for approved program structures.

  • Will outside scholarships reduce my GW aid?

    Usually yes. GW treats outside resources as part of the need-based award package, which means they generally displace GW aid dollar-for-dollar against the cost-of-attendance and federal-aid caps. The only published exception is outside scholarships awarded to new students after May 1 — those apply to unmet need rather than displacing GW aid.

  • Can I stack Tuition Exchange with a GW merit award?

    No. GW policy is explicit: GW Employee Benefits and Tuition Exchange cannot be combined with Merit Awards, the GW Family Grant, or the University and Alumni Award. Students offered multiple non-combinable awards receive only the largest. Tuition Exchange replaces merit; it does not add to it.

  • What is the Stephen Joel Trachtenberg Scholarship?

    The SJT Scholarship is GW's flagship local-pipeline full-ride for outstanding graduates of regionally accredited D.C. high schools nominated by their counselors. It covers full tuition and fees (beyond DC TAG), room and board, and a book allowance. Candidates must be D.C. residents and must have applied for financial assistance. The award is auto-considered when nominated — no separate student application.

See sources and other schools

How GWU compares

  • 19 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use grant-first displacement.

    GWU is in the small minority (19 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • Grant-first displacement is the rarest published policy in our dataset.

    It also produces the worst family-dollar outcome on outside scholarships. GWU sits in this small minority, so treat outside-award strategy here as conservatively as you would at a school with no published policy at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    GWU is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against GWU’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Gallaudet merit aid. District of Columbia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • American merit aid. District of Columbia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Georgetown merit aid. District of Columbia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Catholic University merit aid. District of Columbia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring GWU merit aid

The next chapter

Where does GWU fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook