The starting point
Illinois Wesleyan (Bloomington IL — not Wesleyan-CT or Ohio Wesleyan) auto-awards an academic Alumni Scholarship OR a fine-arts Alumni Talent Scholarship — the two are mutually exclusive — with a $4,000 National Merit add-on that can stack toward ~$40,000/yr.
Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.
Awards to discuss
First 3 of 5 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.
IWU Alumni Scholarship
Up to $38,000 · Variable or qualified amount
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
GPA: Academic profile is the primary factor (holistic; no published GPA/test grid)
Eligibility: Primary scholarship for the College of Liberal Arts and School of Nursing; automatic via the admission application and transcripts. No separate application.
Renewal: Renewal GPA not stated on the scholarship pages (confirm with the aid office).
Other terms: CONFLICT: the main Scholarships & Grants page states 'up to $38,000 per year'; the Scholarships & Grants List page states the Alumni Scholarship and Alumni Opportunity Grant go 'up to $22,000.' Treat the figure as needs-confirmation.
https://www.iwu.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-grants.html
IWU Alumni Talent Scholarship
Up to $39,000 · Variable or qualified amount
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
Eligibility: College of Fine Arts majors (Theatre, Music, or Art); awarded using audition, portfolio review, or interview. MUTUALLY EXCLUSIVE with the Alumni Scholarship.
Renewal: Renewal GPA not stated (confirm).
Other terms: You will NOT receive both the Alumni Scholarship and the Alumni Talent Scholarship — if you qualify for both, the Talent Scholarship reflects the enhanced (higher) amount. CONFLICT: list page states 'up to $24,000.'
https://www.iwu.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-grants.html
National Merit / National Achievement Scholar Award
$4,000 · Published amount
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
Eligibility: National Merit Scholars and National Achievement Scholars
Renewal: Not stated (confirm).
Other terms: $4,000 add-on. Per the list page, 'Three National Merit Scholars could qualify for as much as $40,000 a year in scholarships from IWU' — i.e., it stacks with the larger academic award.
https://www.iwu.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-grants-list.html