Illinois Wesleyan (Bloomington IL — not Wesleyan-CT or Ohio Wesleyan) auto-awards an academic Alumni Scholarship OR a fine-arts Alumni Talent Scholarship — the two are mutually exclusive — with a $4,000 National Merit add-on that can stack toward ~$40,000/yr.
Verified Jul 20262 months ago
The short answer
Is Illinois Wesleyan worth a closer look?
Illinois Wesleyan may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.
Merit tiers5See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards23%First-year students, CDS 2024-2025
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
Free Merit Check
See what Illinois Wesleyan's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.
Published scholarships
These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Up to $38,000
IWU Alumni Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
Academic profile is the primary factor (holistic; no published GPA/test grid)
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifies
Primary scholarship for the College of Liberal Arts and School of Nursing; automatic via the admission application and transcripts. No separate application.
How to keep it
Renewal GPA not stated on the scholarship pages (confirm with the aid office).
Notes
CONFLICT: the main Scholarships & Grants page states 'up to $38,000 per year'; the Scholarships & Grants List page states the Alumni Scholarship and Alumni Opportunity Grant go 'up to $22,000.' Treat the figure as needs-confirmation.
College of Fine Arts majors (Theatre, Music, or Art); awarded using audition, portfolio review, or interview. MUTUALLY EXCLUSIVE with the Alumni Scholarship.
How to keep it
Renewal GPA not stated (confirm).
Notes
You will NOT receive both the Alumni Scholarship and the Alumni Talent Scholarship — if you qualify for both, the Talent Scholarship reflects the enhanced (higher) amount. CONFLICT: list page states 'up to $24,000.'
National Merit / National Achievement Scholar Award
Apply separately
See who qualifies+
Who qualifies
National Merit Scholars and National Achievement Scholars
Notes
$4,000 add-on. Per the list page, 'Three National Merit Scholars could qualify for as much as $40,000 a year in scholarships from IWU' — i.e., it stacks with the larger academic award.
Listed (on the Scholarships & Grants List page) alongside the Alumni Scholarship as a primary award for Liberal Arts and Nursing; automatic via the admission application.
Notes
Appears only on the Scholarships & Grants List page (not the main scholarships page). Part of the amount conflict noted above.
They are mutually exclusive — 'you will not receive both.' If you qualify for both, the Alumni Talent Scholarship simply reflects the enhanced (higher) amount; the two do not add together.
National Merit and National Achievement Scholars receive a $4,000 scholarship that stacks with the larger academic award — IWU notes National Merit Scholars 'could qualify for as much as $40,000 a year.'
McLean County Scholarships are restricted to residents of McLean County, IL.
IWU's two official pages disagree: the main Scholarships & Grants page lists the Alumni Scholarship 'up to $38,000' and the Talent Scholarship 'up to $39,000,' while the Scholarships & Grants List page lists 'up to $22,000' (Alumni/Opportunity) and 'up to $24,000' (Talent). Confirm the current figure with the aid office, and avoid the www-campus.iwu.edu staging mirror.
Illinois Wesleyan University (iwu.edu, Bloomington IL) is not Wesleyan University (CT), Ohio Wesleyan, or Illinois State.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
A strong academic applicant (Liberal Arts/Nursing) chasing the Alumni Scholarship, or a Fine Arts (Theatre/Music/Art) applicant pursuing the Talent Scholarship — knowing you get one or the other, plus a $4,000 National Merit boost if eligible.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $78,348 for 2026-2027. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Illinois Wesleyan, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Illinois Wesleyan, academic year 2021-22
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$17,732
$30,001–$48,000
$19,057
$48,001–$75,000
$23,152
$75,001–$110,000
$27,396
$110,001+
$37,104
All income levels (average)
$28,199
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$57,704
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$28,199
That works out to roughly a 60% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $70,700 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
75%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
80%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$70,871
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
33%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
66%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
Outside scholarships reduce loans and/or work-study first; institutional grants are only reduced if required to prevent an over-award.
Verified policy language (2026-07-02): Notification of all scholarships received from outside sources are to be sent to the financial aid office and will be counted as part of your financial aid package. Any IWU scholarships and grants you may have been awarded will not be affected unless the total of your scholarships exceed your demonstrated need and tuition and fees. Outside scholarship monies will be used to reduce any unmet need you may have. Once unmet need has been met, the scholarships will be used to reduce loans first and student employment last. Separately, the school's own award-stacking rules: The academic Alumni Scholarship and the fine-arts Alumni Talent Scholarship are mutually exclusive — you receive one, not both. The $4,000 National Merit/Achievement award stacks on top of a larger scholarship (potentially reaching ~$40,000/yr). (per https://www.iwu.edu/financial-aid/scholarships-grants.html)
From the Illinois Wesleyan Common Data Set 2024-2025:
Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Illinois Wesleyan’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
23%of admitsget merit
Average award$32,651Covers ~42% of $78,348 cost of attendance
At Illinois Wesleyan, roughly 1 in 4 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $32,651 — about 42% of total cost.
As filed in Illinois Wesleyan's CDS Section H2A: of 461 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 106 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $32,651. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 460 of 1,582, averaging $32,980. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.
Receive institutional merit23%First-year students, Common Data Set 2024-2025
Average merit award$32,651Across recipients, Common Data Set 2024-2025
No — to be considered for any merit scholarship or grant, you only need to complete the admission application and submit all requested materials (Fine Arts applicants also complete an audition/portfolio/interview). Need-based grants require the FAFSA and the IWU Financial Aid Application.
Can scholarships be combined?
The academic Alumni Scholarship and the fine-arts Alumni Talent Scholarship cannot both be received (you get the higher one), but the $4,000 National Merit/Achievement award stacks on top, and need-based grants are added after filing aid forms.
What is the 2026-27 cost of attendance?
Total estimated cost of attendance is $78,348 (tuition $61,004; housing $8,796; food $5,644; residence hall fee $30; student senate activity fee $204; plus estimated personal $1,700, textbooks $800, and transportation $200). Direct costs subtotal $75,678.
See sources and other schools+
How Illinois Wesleyan compares
145 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use loan-first displacement.
Illinois Wesleyan is in a recognizable cluster (145 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Illinois Wesleyan is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
132 of 749 verified schools publish a dedicated National Merit Finalist package.
Illinois Wesleyan is one of them. NMF packages typically carry their own stacking and renewal carve-outs separate from the standard automatic merit ladder; confirm those before assuming the headline NMF value is final.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Illinois Wesleyan’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.