Check Jacksonville University free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.
The award collection
Published scholarships
These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Where does your student land?
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 1$30,000 – $33,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
Published awardAcademic thresholds
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 1
$30,000 – $33,000 per year
Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.8+ unweighted HS GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 1
Who qualifies
First-year applicants are determined by academic record; awarded upon acceptance for admission
How to keep it
Institutional scholarships and grants are awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits). Final award amounts are confirmed in the official offer letter and may include renewal criteria; specific renewal GPA not published on the tier page.
Worth knowing
Top band of the published six-band first-year grid. Amounts shown are annual. Awarded automatically on the unweighted HS GPA at the time of admission — no separate scholarship application.
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 2$26,000 – $29,999 per yearAutomaticRenewable
Published awardAcademic thresholds
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 2
$26,000 – $29,999 per year
Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.50 – 3.799 unweighted HS GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 2
Who qualifies
Automatic on academic record at time of admission
How to keep it
Awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits); final amounts confirmed in the official offer letter.
Worth knowing
Second band of the published first-year grid; annual amount.
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 3$23,000 – $25,999 per yearAutomaticRenewable
Published awardAcademic thresholds
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 3
$23,000 – $25,999 per year
Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.25 – 3.499 unweighted HS GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 3
Who qualifies
Automatic on academic record at time of admission
How to keep it
Awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits); final amounts confirmed in the official offer letter.
Worth knowing
Third band of the published first-year grid; annual amount.
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 4$20,000 – $22,999 per yearAutomaticRenewable
Published awardAcademic thresholds
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 4
$20,000 – $22,999 per year
Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.00 – 3.249 unweighted HS GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 4
Who qualifies
Automatic on academic record at time of admission
How to keep it
Awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits); final amounts confirmed in the official offer letter.
Worth knowing
Fourth band of the published first-year grid; annual amount.
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 5$17,000 – $19,999 per yearAutomaticRenewable
Published awardAcademic thresholds
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 5
$17,000 – $19,999 per year
Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
2.75 – 2.999 unweighted HS GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 5
Who qualifies
Automatic on academic record at time of admission
How to keep it
Awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits); final amounts confirmed in the official offer letter.
Worth knowing
Fifth band of the published first-year grid; annual amount.
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 6$14,000 – $16,999 per yearAutomaticRenewable
Published awardAcademic thresholds
JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 6
$14,000 – $16,999 per year
Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
2.50 – 2.749 unweighted HS GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Academic Scholarship (First-Year) — GPA Band 6
Who qualifies
Automatic on academic record at time of admission; lowest published band
How to keep it
Awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits); final amounts confirmed in the official offer letter.
Worth knowing
Bottom band of the published first-year grid; annual amount. The grid does not publish an award below a 2.50 GPA.
JU Transfer Student ScholarshipUp to $23,000 per year (transfer)Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
JU Transfer Student Scholarship
Up to $23,000 per year (transfer)
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU Transfer Student Scholarship
Who qualifies
Transfer students from accredited colleges; awards based on previous college performance and other factors
How to keep it
Awarded for up to four years or normal degree completion (120 earned credits); final amounts confirmed in the official offer letter.
Worth knowing
Average transfer award; the affordability summary elsewhere states 'Transfer: up to $25,000' as a ceiling. Determined by previous college record, not a published grid.
Legacy Scholarship$1,000 per year for up to 4 yearsNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Legacy Scholarship
$1,000 per year for up to 4 years
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Legacy Scholarship
Who qualifies
Incoming undergraduate with an alumni relationship — father, mother, sibling, or grandparent who is a JU alum; designate on the admissions application
How to keep it
Stated as $1,000 per year for up to 4 years upon verification of the legacy relationship.
Worth knowing
Add-on award; relationship must be designated on the admissions application and verified.
Sibling Scholarship$2,500 per year for up to 4 yearsNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Sibling Scholarship
$2,500 per year for up to 4 years
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Sibling Scholarship
Who qualifies
Incoming first-degree undergraduate with a sibling currently enrolled in a JU undergraduate program; awarded to the youngest sibling
How to keep it
Stated as $2,500 per year for up to 4 years (to the youngest sibling) upon verification.
Worth knowing
Add-on award; goes to the youngest sibling and requires verification of the sibling relationship.
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
Qualify for the Honors threshold based on GPA and test scores (threshold not published)
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Honors Scholarship
Who qualifies
Fully accepted for admission; must complete a separate application to the Honors program to accept the offer
How to keep it
Renewable for four consecutive academic years, eight semesters, provided the student remains in good academic standing and enrolled in the Honors program. If the student leaves the Honors Program, the Honors Scholarship may be replaced with an alternative award of lesser value. Must file FAFSA by March 15 each year. Does not cover course overloads or books.
Worth knowing
Competitive/Honors-gated. The page does not publish the GPA/test threshold or the dollar value — both must be confirmed with admissions/Honors. Tied to continued Honors enrollment.
Jacksonville Commitment ScholarshipFull ride — tuition, double room, full meal plan, and books (up to 2 awards/year)Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Jacksonville Commitment Scholarship
Full ride — tuition, double room, full meal plan, and books (up to 2 awards/year)
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Jacksonville Commitment Scholarship
Who qualifies
Must attend a Duval County public high school, qualify for the federal Pell grant program, and be accepted to JU; apply to Jacksonville Commitment directly and submit an additional essay
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on the page; awarded in the spring prior to the start of freshman year.
Worth knowing
Competitive full-ride (up to two per year). Need-linked (Pell-eligible) plus a separate application and essay. Covers tuition + double room + full meal plan + books.
JU & Brooks Rehabilitation Nursing Excellence Scholarship
$10,000 – $25,000 (program-specific)
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for JU & Brooks Rehabilitation Nursing Excellence Scholarship
Who qualifies
Enrolled in JU's accelerated or traditional Bachelor of Science in Nursing program; tied to a Brooks Rehabilitation work-agreement/employment pathway
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated; amount based on program track and work-agreement length. Funds applied directly to tuition and paired with an employment opportunity at Brooks.
Worth knowing
Departmental/nursing-only award tied to a work agreement; not a general merit scholarship. Amount varies by program track and agreement length.
Lights up against Jacksonville University's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.
This page covers one school.
Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.
Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.
“it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa
The fine print
Aid capHard $48,500 cost-of-attendance ceiling
Institutional aid at Jacksonville University cannot push the package past $48,500. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.
What makes Jacksonville University different
Jacksonville University awards every first-year applicant an automatic, unweighted-GPA-based academic scholarship on a published six-band grid running from $14,000 up to $33,000 per year — no separate application required.
Merit tiers126 based on grades or scores
First-year students with school awards24%First-year students, CDS 2022-2023 (school-estimated)
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
More than one award path
Separate the two paths.
Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.
Match the published criteria
Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.
Check the application dates
Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.
Know what happens next year
Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.
The fine print / Three questions to carry forward
Before you count on it.
Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.
Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.
Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.
A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.
See what could change an award+
Straight from the aid office
What Jacksonville University's aid office says
Per the Student Financial Services, Jacksonville University, August 2026. How we verify
Stacking outside scholarships
If my student wins an outside scholarship, is it allowed on top of JU's aid?
JU allows students to stack outside scholarship funds with their existing awards.
“If a student receives outside scholarship funds, we will allow them to stack these awards.”
Order of reduction for outside scholarships
Does an outside scholarship reduce loans first or JU's own award?
Outside scholarship funds will replace loans first.
“They will replace any loans first.”
Reduction of JU aid when total aid exceeds costs
Can JU scholarships or grants be reduced if total aid is too high?
JU scholarships and grants may be reduced if a student's total gift aid exceeds their direct costs, defined as tuition and on-campus room and board.
“Jacksonville University scholarships and grants may be reduced if the total gift aid available to a student is more than the student's direct costs, defined as tuition and on-campus room and board.”
Scholarships covering books
Do scholarships and grants cover the cost of books?
Scholarships and grants do not cover books unless specifically stated otherwise.
“Unless specifically stated, scholarships and grants do not cover books.”
SAT score consideration
Will an updated SAT score be considered, and can it be submitted after a new test date?
The SAT will be considered as part of the overall academic profile, and the student may submit an updated score after his fall test date.
“His SAT will also be considered as part of his overall academic profile, and he is welcome to submit his updated score after his fall test date.”
Timing of application submission
Should we wait to submit the application until after the fall SAT scores are in?
The counselor suggests waiting to fully submit the application until the new fall SAT scores are available.
“has another SAT planned this fall, I would suggest waiting to fully submit his application until those new scores are available.”
Locking of scholarship decision
Can the scholarship decision be reconsidered after it's released if new scores come in?
Once a decision has been released, JU cannot make changes to the application or reconsider the scholarship based on updated information.
“Once a decision has been released, we will not be able to make changes to the application or reconsider the scholarship based on updated information.”
What families often miss
The first-year academic scholarship is automatic: it is set by your unweighted high school GPA at the time of admission and confirmed in the official offer letter. The separate applications are for Honors, Jacksonville Commitment, Legacy/Sibling verification, and the Brooks nursing award.
The grid is explicitly based on UNWEIGHTED high school GPA. A weighted GPA can push you into the wrong band in your estimate; a 3.8+ unweighted is required for the top $30,000-$33,000 band.
JU scholarships and grants may be reduced when total gift aid exceeds your direct costs — defined narrowly as tuition plus on-campus room and board, not the full cost of attendance. Stacking Legacy/Sibling/Honors on top of a large academic award can hit that cap.
2026-27 tuition alone is $48,500 before the comprehensive fee, housing, meals, and books. Even the top band covers roughly two-thirds of tuition; only Jacksonville Commitment is a true full ride (tuition + double room + meal plan + books).
That range appears on an older/Master-of-Public-Policy admissions page. The current 2026-27 first-year undergraduate grid runs $14,000-$33,000. Confirm your band against the affordability/tier page, not the lower legacy figure.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
Students who want a transparent, automatic GPA-based merit award at a mid-size private Florida university; strong applicants can layer Honors and named awards on top, and Duval County Pell-eligible students can compete for a full-ride Jacksonville Commitment.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $48,500 for 2026-2027. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Jacksonville University, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Jacksonville University, academic year 2021-22
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$21,893
$30,001–$48,000
$19,733
$48,001–$75,000
$23,974
$75,001–$110,000
$27,936
$110,001+
$29,653
All income levels (average)
$25,180
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$47,830
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$25,180
That works out to roughly a 61% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $63,969 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
51%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
75%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$22,000 (~$233/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$68,010
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
36%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
49%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
JU institutional scholarships and grants are subject to a direct-cost cap: combined gift aid that exceeds a student's direct costs (tuition + on-campus room and board) may be reduced. No separate displacement rule is published for third-party OUTSIDE scholarships, so outside awards plausibly count toward that same cap.
The reduction is triggered when total gift aid exceeds direct costs, defined narrowly as tuition and on-campus room and board (not the full cost of attendance). Unless specifically stated, scholarships and grants do not cover books. Institutional aid is for fall/spring only, terminates if full-time enrollment is interrupted (other than summer), and is not available for study abroad. The outside-scholarship page is only a Scholarship Universe matching resource and states no displacement order (loan-first vs grant-first).
From the Jacksonville University Common Data Set 2022-2023 (school-estimated figures):
Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Jacksonville University’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
24%of admitsget merit
Average award$26,897Covers ~55% of $48,500 cost of attendance
At Jacksonville University, roughly 1 in 4 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $26,897 — about 55% of total cost.
As filed in Jacksonville University's CDS Section H2A: of 700 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 165 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $26,897. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 592 of 2,335, averaging $22,861. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.
The 2022-2023 column is marked "estimated" in the school's own CDS filing — school-projected figures, not final audited counts.
Receive institutional merit24%First-year students, Common Data Set 2022-2023 (school-estimated)
Average merit award$26,897Across recipients, Common Data Set 2022-2023 (school-estimated)
Other Jacksonville University scholarships worth checking
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
AmountCapped at the value of a double room and a full meal planEligibilityOn-campus resident students who receive a full-tuition ROTC scholarship funded by a branch of the military.
Award is reduced by any state aid; covers room and board on top of an ROTC full-tuition benefit.
Yes. JU determines the first-year academic scholarship from your unweighted high school GPA at the time of admission across a published six-band grid ($14,000-$33,000/yr). No separate scholarship application is required; the final amount is confirmed in your offer letter.
What GPA do I need for the top award?
A 3.8+ unweighted high school GPA places you in the top band ($30,000-$33,000/yr). The grid steps down to $14,000-$16,999/yr at a 2.50-2.749 GPA; no first-year award is published below 2.50.
Can I stack other JU scholarships on top?
You can layer awards like Legacy ($1,000/yr), Sibling ($2,500/yr) and Honors, but JU scholarships and grants may be reduced if your total gift aid exceeds your direct costs (tuition + on-campus room and board). Books are generally not covered unless stated.
Does winning an outside scholarship reduce my JU aid?
JU does not publish a specific outside-scholarship displacement rule. Because institutional aid is capped at direct costs, outside awards could count toward that cap. Ask Student Financial Services whether an outside scholarship reduces your JU award and, if so, whether it reduces loans or grants first.
When should I file the FAFSA?
For Honors scholarships, JU requires filing the FAFSA by March 15 each year. JU's FAFSA process is rolling/first-come, and the FAFSA opens each October — apply early while funds remain. Confirm the first-year priority deadline with the aid office.
See sources and other schools+
How Jacksonville University compares
235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.
Jacksonville University is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Jacksonville University is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Jacksonville University’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.