Skip to content

Lamar scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$28,552per year · Not stated on page (current) · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Lamar awards automatic merit on admission. Lamar does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jun 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Presidential Scholarship$100,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Scholarship

    $100,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    4.40+ GPA (5.0 weighted scale) and Class Rank Top 10%
    SAT
    1330-1600 (alternative to GPA/rank)
    ACT
    29-36 (alternative to GPA/rank)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Qualify via 4.40+ GPA AND Top 10% rank, OR via SAT 1330-1600 / ACT 29-36. Students must separately submit materials for this scholarship to the Office of Student Aid by January 15. Class rank waived for homeschool/non-ranking schools.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on the pages reviewed (the headline figure appears to be a multi-year total; disbursement schedule not stated).

    Worth knowing

    Competitive — requires separately submitted materials by January 15, so not automatic. Total amount as displayed ($100,000); the page does not state the disbursement period.

  2. Southeast Texas Legends Scholars$100,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Southeast Texas Legends Scholars

    $100,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    4.40+ GPA (5.0 weighted) and Class Rank Top 10%
    SAT
    1330-1600 (alternative)
    ACT
    29-36 (alternative)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Southeast Texas Legends Scholars

    Who qualifies

    Same stat thresholds as Presidential. Students must separately submit materials to the Office of Student Aid by January 15.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on the pages reviewed (headline figure appears to be a multi-year total).

    Worth knowing

    Competitive — separate January 15 submission required. Total amount as displayed; period not stated.

  3. Smith-Hutson Scholars$74,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Smith-Hutson Scholars

    $74,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Smith-Hutson Scholars

    Who qualifies

    Based on Academic Achievement and Need (holistic; not a fixed stat grid).

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published (headline figure appears to be a multi-year total).

    Worth knowing

    Need-aware award; no published GPA/test threshold.

  4. Automatic Academic Scholarship ladder (Cardinal Elite, Academic Excellence, Distinguished, University Scholars)$8,000-$40,000AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Academic Scholarship ladder (Cardinal Elite, Academic Excellence, Distinguished, University Scholars)

    $8,000-$40,000

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Cardinal Elite 4.25+ & Top 10%; Academic Excellence 3.95+ & Top 25%; Distinguished 3.65-3.94 & Top 25%; University 3.50-3.64 & Top 50% (5.0 weighted scale)
    SAT
    Cardinal Elite 1330-1600; Academic Excellence 1200-1320; Distinguished 1080-1190; University 1010-1070
    ACT
    Cardinal Elite 29-36; Academic Excellence 25-28; Distinguished 21-24; University 19-21 (as an alternative to GPA/rank)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Academic Scholarship ladder (Cardinal Elite, Academic Excellence, Distinguished, University Scholars)

    Who qualifies

    Qualify via GPA+rank OR test score. Class rank waived for homeschool/non-ranking schools. Awarded from the admissions application.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published (headline figures appear to be multi-year totals).

    Worth knowing

    Stat-based ladder awarded from admissions data. Each headline amount is a total (period not stated on the page).

Lights up against Lamar's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Lamar award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Lamar

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Aid capHard $28,552 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at Lamar cannot push the package past $28,552. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes Lamar different

Lamar publishes a clear automatic GPA/rank/test scholarship ladder from $8,000 up to $40,000 — but its two headline $100,000 awards (Presidential and Southeast Texas Legends) are competitive and require separately submitted materials by January 15.

Merit tiers41 based on grades or scores
First-year students with school awards16%First-year students, CDS 2023-2024
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Lamar's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

Straight from the aid office

What Lamar's aid office says

Per the Scholarships / Office of Student Aid, Lamar University, August 2026. How we verify

Combining merit with other institutional aid

Can a merit scholarship be combined with departmental or honors funding, and is there a ceiling on institutional aid?

He can receive departmental or other awards up to his available need within his personalized cost of attendance.

“He will be able to receive departmental or other awards up to his available need within his cost of attendance. Every student is assigned a personalized cost of attendance that we award based on.”
GPA recalculation for scholarship eligibility

Is the GPA used for scholarship eligibility the transcript GPA or a recalculated one?

Lamar recalculates all GPAs when transcripts are received in their system.

“Lamar recalculates all GPAs when we receive transcripts in our system.”
Effect of outside scholarships on aid package

If a student wins an outside scholarship, does it reduce loans first or reduce a Lamar scholarship?

Loans and Federal Aid are reduced first before other scholarship awards, but only if the outside scholarship doesn't fit within the assigned cost of attendance.

“All loans and Federal Aid will be reduced first before other scholarship awards. This is only if the scholarship from an external organization does not fit within the cost of attendance assigned to him.”
GPA requirement to keep merit scholarship

What GPA must be maintained each year to keep a merit award?

Students must maintain a 3.0 GPA to keep their scholarships.

“All students are required to maintain a 3.0 GPA to maintain their scholarships.”
Options after a bad semester

Is there a way to recover a scholarship if a semester goes badly?

A student may be considered for a probationary term or may submit a scholarship appeal, both GPA-based, but if cumulative GPA drops below 2.5 he cannot appeal or be put on probation, and that scenario is judged case-by-case.

“If a semester goes badly, he may be considered for a probationary term, or may have to submit a scholarship appeal. All of these are GPA-based. If a cumulative GPA drops below a 2.5, then he will not be able to appeal or be put on probation. This scenario is judged on a case-by-case basis.”

What families often miss

  1. The Honors apply page states students 'should separately submit materials for those scholarships to Office of Student Aid by January 15' — these top awards are competitive, not granted automatically from the grid.

  2. Figures like $100,000, $40,000, or $8,000 are totals (the page does not state the period), not per-year awards; confirm the multi-year disbursement schedule with the Office of Student Aid.

  3. Most tiers require a class rank (Top 10%/25%/50%) in addition to the GPA, OR a qualifying test score — though rank is waived for homeschool students and high schools that don't rank.

  4. Hundreds of endowed/department scholarships require the supplemental LU Scholarship application in the myScholarships portal, and endowed awards are made only after the January 15 priority deadline.

  5. The grid GPA cutoffs are calculated on a 5.0 weighted scale, so an unweighted GPA will understate where you fall.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Top-decile Texas students with strong GPA and test scores — the automatic ladder rewards a clear GPA/rank/test grid, and the highest-stat applicants who apply separately by January 15 compete for the $100,000 awards.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $28,552 for Not stated on page (current). Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Lamar, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Lamar, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$7,568
$30,001–$48,000$8,261
$48,001–$75,000$8,545
$75,001–$110,000$13,689
$110,001+$16,292
All income levels (average)$9,366

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$8,905
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$18,745
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$9,366

That works out to roughly a 58% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $22,254 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Lamar is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
37%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
62%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$21,250 (~$225/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$49,652
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
56%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
43%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

No specific institutional stacking/displacement policy was published on the pages reviewed. The cost-of-attendance page notes only that COA 'determines the maximum amount of financial aid you can receive' (a federal COA cap).

The Tuition and Fees / Cost of Attendance page states the COA 'determines the maximum amount of financial aid you can receive.' No rule addressing how private/outside scholarships displace Lamar awards was found.

Source

More school data

From the Lamar Common Data Set 2023-2024:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Lamar’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
16%of admitsget merit
Average award$5,731Covers ~20% of $28,552 cost of attendance

At Lamar, roughly 1 in 6 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $5,731 — about 20% of total cost.

As filed in Lamar's CDS Section H2A: of 1,463 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 238 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $5,731. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 778 of 6,008, averaging $7,172. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

Receive institutional merit16%First-year students, Common Data Set 2023-2024
Average merit award$5,731Across recipients, Common Data Set 2023-2024

Source: Common Data Set 2023-2024 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other Lamar scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountAmount not published on these pagesEligibilitySeparate application required to TLS by February 15

State leadership scholarship program; apply separately.

Source

AmountAmount not published (hundreds of awards)EligibilityComplete the supplemental LU Scholarship application in the myScholarships portal

Endowed scholarships awarded after the January 15 priority deadline; LU awards more than $20 million in scholarships each year.

Source

Lamar merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship priority deadline?

    January 15 — endowed scholarships are awarded after this date, and materials for the Presidential and Southeast Texas Legends scholarships must be submitted to the Office of Student Aid by January 15.

  • What code do I use for FAFSA/TASFA?

    Use school code 003581 on the FAFSA and TASFA to be eligible for additional financial aid.

  • How is GPA calculated for these scholarships?

    High school GPA is calculated on a 5.0 weighted scale; class rank requirements do not apply to homeschool students or schools that do not rank.

See sources and other schools

How Lamar compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Lamar is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Lamar is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Lamar’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Lamar merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Lamar fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook