These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
$40,000 total…$40,000 total ($5,000 per semester over four years)
Honors Scholarship (Elliott T. Bowers Honors College)
Apply separatelyCan continue
- SAT
- 1320
- ACT
- 29
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifies23 awarded to incoming freshmen each academic year; the Honors College application serves as the scholarship application (priority deadline March 1); all eligible applicants invited to a Zoom interview; evaluated on leadership, volunteerism, achievements, and plans to engage; disbursed over four years / max eight semesters
How to keep itMust remain in good standing with Honors: maintain Status 1 (satisfactory progress toward graduating with 'Honors' or 'Highest Honors'), follow a track of excellence (research, community engagement, leadership, or global scholarship), remain enrolled full-time (12 credit hours) each semester, maintain a 3.25 SHSU GPA, be advised by the Scholar Advisor each semester, attend 2 qualifying events per semester, live in Honors housing the first academic year, and enroll in the Honors Scholar section of HONR 1301.
Source
$80,000 total…$80,000 total ($10,000 per semester over four years)
Bowers Scholarship (Elliott T. Bowers Honors College)
Apply separatelyCan continue
- SAT
- 1350
- ACT
- 30
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesOnly 2 awarded to incoming freshmen each academic year; Honors application is the scholarship application (priority deadline March 1); Bowers-eligible students may be invited to a second round of interviews
How to keep itSame Honors good-standing requirements as the Honors Scholarship, PLUS: Bowers Scholars are required to follow the research track and complete a thesis, graduating with 'Highest Honors.'
Source
$5,000 one-time…$5,000 one-time ($2,500 per semester for the first full academic year)
Honors Transfer Scholarship
Apply separately
- GPA
- 3.25
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesLimited number of one-time awards; robust resume required; Honors application is the scholarship application (priority deadline March 1; transfer students beginning in a spring semester must submit by November 1)
Source
$2,000 total…$2,000 total ($1,000 Fall + $1,000 Spring, single year)
Bearkat Transfer Scholarship
Based on grades or scores
- GPA
- 2.75 cumulative
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesFirst-time SHSU student enrolling full-time in a Fall semester; transfer from an accredited community college or university; undergraduate seeking first bachelor's degree; minimum 30 but fewer than 90 transferable academic credit hours; first come, first served; must accept the award offer within 45 days; spring-start transfers are NOT eligible
Notes'Awarded automatically, so no application is required other than applying for admission to Sam Houston State University!'
Source
$40,000 total…$40,000 total ($10,000 annually over four years)
National Merit Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesMust be a Finalist in the National Merit Scholarship Program; select SHSU as first college of choice with NMSC on or before May 31 prior to the first semester; complete the National Merit Scholarship application in Scholarships4Kats
How to keep itDisbursed $10,000 annually over four years; ongoing conditions not stated on the page opened.
Source
$1,000 annually for 4 years
SHSU Local Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesGraduating senior from Grimes, Houston, Madison, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity or Walker county (Texas); first-time freshman; complete Scholarships4Kats to qualify
How to keep itAnnual for 4 years; ongoing conditions not stated on the page opened.
Source
Non-resident tuition waived…Non-resident tuition waived (pay resident tuition rate)
Non-Resident Tuition Waiver (competitive scholarship $1,000+)
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesMust be selected for at least a $1,000 SHSU competitive scholarship; the funds must come from a single, institutional, competitive scholarship — the $1,000 minimum cannot be the sum of multiple scholarships
How to keep itWaiver applies 'for the same period covered by your scholarship.'
NotesPowerful lever for out-of-state students: 2026-27 non-resident tuition/fees are $23,810 vs $11,370 resident.
Source