Louisiana Christian award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Louisiana Christian?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
7 of 7 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 7 of 7
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 7
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Louisiana Christian's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- LC Scholarship (automatic academic, ACT-based): 2.0 GPA
- Transfer Award (automatic, GPA-based): See notes
- Out of State Scholarship: See notes
- Smith Scholarship: See notes
- President's Leadership Scholarship: 2.5 GPA
- STEM to STEAM Scholarship: See notes
- C.S. Lewis Honors Program (honors scholarship): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
LC Scholarship (automatic academic, ACT-based)
$1,350-$2,750 per semesterEntry requirements: 20-22 = $1,350/sem; 23-26 = $1,550/sem; 27 and up = $2,750/sem ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the scholarship grid. The university's general financial-aid eligibility requires maintaining a minimum 'C' average (2.0 GPA) for undergraduates, but the grid itself does not state a scholarship-specific renewal GPA.
Source: https://lcuniversity.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/scholarshipinfo.pdf
Transfer Award (automatic, GPA-based)
$1,500-$1,800 per semesterEntry requirements: 2.0-2.99 = $1,500/sem; 3.0 and up = $1,800/sem (transfer GPA) GPA
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the grid.
Source: https://lcuniversity.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/scholarshipinfo.pdf
Out of State Scholarship
$500 per semesterTo keep it: Renewal terms not stated.
Source: https://lcuniversity.edu/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/scholarshipinfo.pdf
Smith Scholarship
Full tuition, room and board (four years)Entry requirements: Minimum 28 ACT ACT
To keep it: Awarded as a four-year full tuition, room and board scholarship.
President's Leadership Scholarship
$6,000 per yearEntry requirements: 3.0 GPA GPA · 23 ACT ACT
To keep it: Awardees must maintain a 2.5 GPA and meet other participatory requirements.
Source: https://lcuniversity.edu/presidents-leadership-award-2/
STEM to STEAM Scholarship
Full tuitionEntry requirements: 3.0 GPA GPA · Minimum ACT of 28 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated.
Source: https://lcuniversity.edu/admissions/grants-scholarships/
C.S. Lewis Honors Program (honors scholarship)
Amounts vary (not published)Entry requirements: ACT 28+, or ACT 26-27 with a written assessment ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published.
Source: https://lcuniversity.edu/admissions/undergraduate-admissions/c-s-lewis-honors-program/
How families lose this aid
- Searching for 'Louisiana College' and assuming the school closed.
Louisiana College in Pineville renamed to Louisiana Christian University in 2021. The institution is the same; many of its own legacy PDFs and third-party listings still say 'Louisiana College.' The current official domain is lcuniversity.edu.
- Reading the automatic LC Scholarship amounts as per-year.
The published LC Scholarship and Transfer Award figures ($1,350-$2,750 and $1,500-$1,800) are stated 'per semester' — roughly double them for an academic-year figure.
Renewal questions families ask
- What ACT score do I need for the biggest automatic award?
- On the published grid, an ACT of 27 or higher earns the top automatic LC Scholarship tier ($2,750 per semester). A 28+ ACT is the threshold to compete for the full-tuition Smith and STEM to STEAM awards and the C.S. Lewis Honors Program.
- What GPA keeps my President's Leadership Scholarship?
- The official page says awardees must maintain a 2.5 GPA and meet other participatory requirements.
How Louisiana Christian compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Louisiana Christian is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Louisiana Christian’s own published materials.
- Merit tiersLC Scholarship (automatic academic, ACT-based)
- Merit tiersSmith Scholarship
- Merit tiersPresident's Leadership Scholarship
- Merit tiersSTEM to STEAM Scholarship
- Merit tiersC.S. Lewis Honors Program (honors scholarship)