Skip to content

Louisiana Christian scholarships and merit aid

The short answer

Louisiana Christian is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 7 published awards, and 2 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. LC Scholarship (automatic academic, ACT-based)$1,350-$2,750 per semesterAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    LC Scholarship (automatic academic, ACT-based)

    $1,350-$2,750 per semester

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    ACT
    20-22 = $1,350/sem; 23-26 = $1,550/sem; 27 and up = $2,750/sem
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for LC Scholarship (automatic academic, ACT-based)

    Who qualifies

    Automatically considered for all new students; graduate-level and second-degree students are not eligible

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the scholarship grid. The university's general financial-aid eligibility requires maintaining a minimum 'C' average (2.0 GPA) for undergraduates, but the grid itself does not state a scholarship-specific renewal GPA.

    Worth knowing

    The Financial Aid Office 'will automatically consider' all new students for this award; no separate application. Amounts are per SEMESTER (double the per-semester figure for an academic-year estimate). STALE-RISK: the only official page publishing this exact grid is a PDF dated 2020/04 on the current lcuniversity.edu domain, still under the school's prior name 'Louisiana College' (renamed 2021). The current /admissions/grants-scholarships/ page no longer republishes the dollar grid and directs applicants to Admissions. Confirm the 2026-27 amounts with the aid office.

  2. Transfer Award (automatic, GPA-based)$1,500-$1,800 per semesterAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Award (automatic, GPA-based)

    $1,500-$1,800 per semester

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.0-2.99 = $1,500/sem; 3.0 and up = $1,800/sem (transfer GPA)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Award (automatic, GPA-based)

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students; automatically considered; graduate-level and second-degree students are not eligible

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the grid.

    Worth knowing

    Automatically considered for new transfer students; amounts are per SEMESTER. Same 2020 PDF staleness caveat as the LC Scholarship — confirm current amounts with Admissions.

  3. Out of State Scholarship$500 per semesterNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Out of State Scholarship

    $500 per semester

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Out of State Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Out-of-state students

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Listed on the automatic-consideration scholarship grid. Per-semester amount. Same 2020 PDF staleness caveat.

  4. Smith ScholarshipFull tuition, room and board (four years)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Smith Scholarship

    Full tuition, room and board (four years)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    ACT
    Minimum 28 ACT
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Smith Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Competitive: academic resume, two letters of recommendation, short essay; evaluated on leadership qualities and Christian character; on-campus competition and interview

    How to keep it

    Awarded as a four-year full tuition, room and board scholarship.

    Worth knowing

    The university's top named award. Competition is held on campus (a recent cohort competed Saturday, Jan. 29). Invitation/competition based — confirm the current application and competition deadline with Admissions.

  5. President's Leadership Scholarship$6,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    President's Leadership Scholarship

    $6,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0 GPA
    ACT
    23 ACT
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for President's Leadership Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Up to three recommendations (LCU urges a committee rather than a unilateral recommendation); not related to athletics

    How to keep it

    Awardees must maintain a 2.5 GPA and meet other participatory requirements.

    Worth knowing

    Application-based leadership award. The deadline on the official page is given for a prior year ('if applied to the Fall 2020 semester is May 30') — confirm the current deadline with Admissions.

  6. STEM to STEAM ScholarshipFull tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    STEM to STEAM Scholarship

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0 GPA
    ACT
    Minimum ACT of 28
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for STEM to STEAM Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Select students from STEM-accredited high schools; 3 letters of recommendation; majoring in a Science/Arts program

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Full-tuition award for qualifying STEM-school applicants pursuing a science/arts program; competitive. Confirm deadline and continuation terms with Admissions.

  7. C.S. Lewis Honors Program (honors scholarship)Amounts vary (not published)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    C.S. Lewis Honors Program (honors scholarship)

    Amounts vary (not published)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    ACT
    ACT 28+, or ACT 26-27 with a written assessment
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for C.S. Lewis Honors Program (honors scholarship)

    Who qualifies

    Essay/written assessment to Dr. Sarah Payne for ACT 26-27 applicants; 'Scholarship opportunities' listed as a benefit of the program

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published.

    Worth knowing

    The Honors Program page lists 'Scholarship opportunities' as a benefit but publishes NO dollar amount. Do not assume an amount — confirm the honors scholarship value with Admissions.

Lights up against Louisiana Christian's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Louisiana Christian award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Louisiana Christian

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes Louisiana Christian different

Louisiana Christian University (the Baptist school in Pineville renamed from 'Louisiana College' in 2021) auto-awards an ACT-based 'LC Scholarship' of $1,350-$2,750 per semester to every new student, then layers competitive full-tuition awards (Smith, STEM to STEAM) and a $6,000/yr President's Leadership Scholarship on top.

Merit tiers72 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Louisiana Christian's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Louisiana College in Pineville renamed to Louisiana Christian University in 2021. The institution is the same; many of its own legacy PDFs and third-party listings still say 'Louisiana College.' The current official domain is lcuniversity.edu.

  2. Lubbock Christian University in Texas also uses 'LCU' (lcu.edu) and publishes very different awards (West Texas Promise, South Plains College, Texas Tuition Equalization Grant). Those amounts do NOT apply to Louisiana Christian University in Pineville.

  3. The published LC Scholarship and Transfer Award figures ($1,350-$2,750 and $1,500-$1,800) are stated 'per semester' — roughly double them for an academic-year figure.

  4. Both require a 28 ACT plus a competitive process (Smith: resume, recommendations, essay, on-campus interview; STEM to STEAM: STEM-accredited high school, 3 letters, a science/arts major). They are not awarded on stats alone.

  5. The only official page that lists the LC Scholarship dollar grid is a 2020 PDF under the old 'Louisiana College' name. The current Grants & Scholarships page no longer republishes the grid and routes applicants to Admissions, so the 2026-27 amounts must be confirmed directly.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Faith-driven students (this is a Louisiana Baptist Convention school) who want an automatic, ACT-based merit floor at a low-cost private Christian college; strong applicants with a 28+ ACT can compete for full-tuition-or-better named awards.

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Louisiana Christian, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Louisiana Christian, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$13,203
$30,001–$48,000$14,619
$48,001–$75,000$14,775
$75,001–$110,000$17,347
$110,001+$6,343
All income levels (average)$13,113

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Total cost of attendance (sticker), AY 2021-22
$33,791
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$20,266
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$13,113

That works out to an average 61% discount off the sticker price above — both figures come from the same federal AY 2021-22 Scorecard report, not a number the school itself published.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
44%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
52%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$21,875 (~$232/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$51,700
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
57%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
67%
See other scholarships and cost examples

Other Louisiana Christian scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$250.00 per semesterEligibilitySpouses or unmarried children (23 years of age and younger) of active or retired International Mission Board missionaries.

Affiliation-based award. Verbatim amount from the Grants & Scholarships page.

Source

AmountContact AdmissionsEligibilityDependents of ministers.

Amount not published; contact Admissions for details.

Source

AmountContact AdmissionsEligibilityDependents of LCU alumni.

Amount not published; contact Admissions for details.

Source

AmountReported $500/yr (home school) — confirmEligibilityFull-time beginning freshmen who graduated from a private Christian school or a home-school program; reported 2.50 cumulative GPA requirement.

These awards are referenced in secondary sources and the school's history, but were NOT found with a current verbatim amount on the official pages opened. Do not publish a dollar figure without confirming on an official page or with Admissions.

Source

Louisiana Christian merit aid FAQ

  • Do I have to apply separately for the automatic academic scholarship?

    No. The Financial Aid Office states it 'will automatically consider' all new students for the LC Scholarship (ACT-based) and transfer applicants for the Transfer Award. The full-tuition named awards (Smith, STEM to STEAM) and the President's Leadership Scholarship are competitive and require an application.

  • What ACT score do I need for the biggest automatic award?

    On the published grid, an ACT of 27 or higher earns the top automatic LC Scholarship tier ($2,750 per semester). A 28+ ACT is the threshold to compete for the full-tuition Smith and STEM to STEAM awards and the C.S. Lewis Honors Program.

  • Is the published scholarship grid current?

    Treat it as needing confirmation. The exact dollar grid appears only on a 2020 PDF still using the school's former name ('Louisiana College'). The current Grants & Scholarships page directs applicants to contact Admissions, so confirm 2026-27 amounts and deadlines directly.

  • What GPA keeps my President's Leadership Scholarship?

    The official page says awardees must maintain a 2.5 GPA and meet other participatory requirements.

See sources and other schools

How Louisiana Christian compares

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Louisiana Christian is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Louisiana Christian’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Louisiana Christian merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Louisiana Christian fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook