The starting point
Every admitted Millsaps student is automatically considered for a merit scholarship ranging from $18,000 to $34,000 a year; the catch is that merit awards are not additive — when you qualify for several, you keep only the single highest-value award.
More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.
Awards to discuss
First 3 of 9 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.
Millsaps Merit Scholarship (automatic)
$18,000-$34,000 per year · Published range
Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.
GPA: Estimated via the merit calculator using cumulative GPA + highest super-scored ACT/SAT; no published hard cutoff for the merit range · SAT: Test-optional · ACT: Test-optional; higher scores can be submitted for re-review through the February ACT / March SAT
Eligibility: All admitted undergraduate students are automatically considered; no separate scholarship application required for the base merit award
Renewal: Renewal of merit-based institutional aid requires satisfactory academic progress, a minimum course load of at least 12 hours per semester, continuous enrollment at Millsaps, and (per the renewal terms surfaced in search) residing on campus. The page also states renewal is 'contingent upon meeting specific eligibility criteria provided with the award.' Exact renewal GPA is not published on the page — ask the aid office.
Other terms: Awarded automatically to admitted students — no separate application. Test-optional. CRITICAL: awards do not stack — 'If you are eligible for multiple awards, you will receive the award with the highest monetary value.' Use the net price calculator / merit calculator to estimate the specific number.
https://millsaps.edu/apply-to-millsaps/financial-aid-scholarships/scholarships/
JPS Pathway Scholarship
At least 50% of tuition (renewable) · Published coverage or package
Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.
Eligibility: Jackson Public Schools (JPS) scholars who meet the college's standard admissions requirements
Renewal: Described as a 'renewable undergraduate scholarship'; specific renewal terms not stated.
Other terms: Geographic/partnership award for Jackson Public Schools graduates who meet standard admission requirements. Covers at least half of tuition (not tuition + fees + room/board).
https://millsaps.edu/apply-to-millsaps/financial-aid-scholarships/scholarships/
Premier Scholarship
Full cost of tuition and fees (16 awarded) · Published coverage or package
Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.
GPA: Unweighted minimum 3.5 on a 4.0 scale · SAT: Minimum 1300 · ACT: Minimum 28
Eligibility: Complete the standard Millsaps application first, then the Premier Scholarship application: one 500-700 word essay, two letters of recommendation (one academic, one from a coach/employer/mentor), optional portfolio. Competitive — only 16 awarded.
Renewal: Described as a four-year scholarship ('Over four years, you will share experiences...'); specific renewal GPA not stated on the page.
Other terms: Competitive, application-based. Application opens Aug. 1, 2025; final submission Dec. 12, 2025; Scholars Weekend Feb. 6-7, 2026; acceptance deadline Mar. 13, 2026. Includes an honors-level course track and guaranteed support for an experiential learning opportunity.
https://millsaps.edu/apply-to-millsaps/financial-aid-scholarships/premier-scholarships/