Skip to content

Millsaps scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$63,518per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Millsaps awards automatic merit on admission. Millsaps does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Millsaps Merit Scholarship (automatic)$18,000-$34,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Millsaps Merit Scholarship (automatic)

    $18,000-$34,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Estimated via the merit calculator using cumulative GPA + highest super-scored ACT/SAT; no published hard cutoff for the merit range
    SAT
    Test-optional
    ACT
    Test-optional; higher scores can be submitted for re-review through the February ACT / March SAT
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Millsaps Merit Scholarship (automatic)

    Who qualifies

    All admitted undergraduate students are automatically considered; no separate scholarship application required for the base merit award

    How to keep it

    Renewal of merit-based institutional aid requires satisfactory academic progress, a minimum course load of at least 12 hours per semester, continuous enrollment at Millsaps, and (per the renewal terms surfaced in search) residing on campus. The page also states renewal is 'contingent upon meeting specific eligibility criteria provided with the award.' Exact renewal GPA is not published on the page — ask the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    Awarded automatically to admitted students — no separate application. Test-optional. CRITICAL: awards do not stack — 'If you are eligible for multiple awards, you will receive the award with the highest monetary value.' Use the net price calculator / merit calculator to estimate the specific number.

  2. Premier ScholarshipFull cost of tuition and fees (16 awarded)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Premier Scholarship

    Full cost of tuition and fees (16 awarded)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Unweighted minimum 3.5 on a 4.0 scale
    SAT
    Minimum 1300
    ACT
    Minimum 28
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Premier Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Complete the standard Millsaps application first, then the Premier Scholarship application: one 500-700 word essay, two letters of recommendation (one academic, one from a coach/employer/mentor), optional portfolio. Competitive — only 16 awarded.

    How to keep it

    Described as a four-year scholarship ('Over four years, you will share experiences...'); specific renewal GPA not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Competitive, application-based. Application opens Aug. 1, 2025; final submission Dec. 12, 2025; Scholars Weekend Feb. 6-7, 2026; acceptance deadline Mar. 13, 2026. Includes an honors-level course track and guaranteed support for an experiential learning opportunity.

  3. Millsaps Advantage ScholarshipFull tuition and feesNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Millsaps Advantage Scholarship

    Full tuition and fees

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Millsaps Advantage Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Mississippi's highest-achieving Pell-eligible students (Pell eligibility required; Mississippi residency)

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Full-tuition-and-fees award targeted at high-achieving, Pell-eligible Mississippi residents. Selection criteria beyond Pell eligibility + 'highest-achieving' are not detailed on the page.

  4. Scouting Scholarship (Eagle Scout / Girl Scout Gold Award)Minimum total scholarship package of $15,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Scouting Scholarship (Eagle Scout / Girl Scout Gold Award)

    Minimum total scholarship package of $15,000 per year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Scouting Scholarship (Eagle Scout / Girl Scout Gold Award)

    Who qualifies

    Eagle Scout, or Girl Scout who has earned Gold Award status, and admitted to Millsaps

    How to keep it

    Renewable all four years.

    Worth knowing

    Stated as a MINIMUM total scholarship PACKAGE of $15,000/year — i.e., it sets a floor for the combined award rather than adding $15,000 on top of merit. Combined with the 'highest monetary value' rule, treat this as a guaranteed floor, not an additive bonus. Confirm with the aid office.

  5. Gulf Scholars ProgramUp to $5,000 per year for four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Gulf Scholars Program

    Up to $5,000 per year for four years

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Gulf Scholars Program

    Who qualifies

    Selection into the Gulf Scholars Program (program-based, not automatic)

    How to keep it

    Up to $5,000 per year for four years.

    Worth knowing

    Program-based award; selection process and criteria are not detailed on this page.

  6. Children of United Methodist Pastors Scholarship$2,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Children of United Methodist Pastors Scholarship

    $2,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Children of United Methodist Pastors Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-year or transfer students whose parent provides confirmation of appointment as a United Methodist Church pastor; confirmation of appointment required at the point of application for admission

    How to keep it

    Renewable up to four years.

    Worth knowing

    Faith-affiliation award (United Methodist). Confirmation of the parent's pastoral appointment must be provided when applying for admission.

  7. Millsaps Legacy Scholarship$1,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Millsaps Legacy Scholarship

    $1,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Millsaps Legacy Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    A brother, sister, parent or grandparent attended Millsaps for two or more years

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Small legacy award. Subject to the 'highest monetary value' rule — likely not additive on top of a larger merit award; confirm with the aid office.

  8. Phi Theta Kappa Scholarships (transfer)$5,000 (member), $6,000 (officer), $7,000 (president), annuallyNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Phi Theta Kappa Scholarships (transfer)

    $5,000 (member), $6,000 (officer), $7,000 (president), annually

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Phi Theta Kappa Scholarships (transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Phi Theta Kappa membership/leadership status (transfer-student honor society); amount scales with role

    How to keep it

    Annual amounts stated; renewal terms not detailed on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Transfer-focused award tied to Phi Theta Kappa status. Tiered by role: member/officer/president.

  9. JPS Pathway ScholarshipAt least 50% of tuition (renewable)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    JPS Pathway Scholarship

    At least 50% of tuition (renewable)

    Published coverage or packageAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for JPS Pathway Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Jackson Public Schools (JPS) scholars who meet the college's standard admissions requirements

    How to keep it

    Described as a 'renewable undergraduate scholarship'; specific renewal terms not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Geographic/partnership award for Jackson Public Schools graduates who meet standard admission requirements. Covers at least half of tuition (not tuition + fees + room/board).

Lights up against Millsaps's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Millsaps award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Millsaps

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Millsaps's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Millsaps different

Every admitted Millsaps student is automatically considered for a merit scholarship ranging from $18,000 to $34,000 a year; the catch is that merit awards are not additive — when you qualify for several, you keep only the single highest-value award.

Merit tiers92 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Millsaps's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Millsaps states: 'If you are eligible for multiple awards, you will receive the award with the highest monetary value.' Internal awards are mutually exclusive — a $1,000 Legacy award won't increase a $30,000 merit package; you simply keep the larger one.

  2. The page says you 'receive a minimum total scholarship PACKAGE of $15,000 per year' — that's a floor on your combined award, not $15,000 added to your merit scholarship. If your merit award already exceeds $15,000, the scouting status may not raise it.

  3. Full cost of attendance for 2026-2027 is $63,518 (tuition $43,640 + fees $3,064 + room $8,110 + board $6,260 + books, transportation, miscellaneous and loan fees). A 'full tuition and fees' Premier or Advantage award still leaves room, board, and indirect costs (~$16,800) to cover.

  4. Only 16 are awarded, it requires a separate application (essay + two recommendation letters), and a 3.5 unweighted GPA plus a 28 ACT / 1300 SAT minimum. The application closes Dec. 12, 2025, with a Scholars Weekend on Feb. 6-7, 2026.

  5. Premier has its own calendar: opens Aug. 1, 2025, final submission Dec. 12, 2025. Miss it and you cannot compete for a full-tuition-and-fees Premier award, even with strong stats.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students who want a large, automatic, no-extra-application merit award at a small Methodist liberal-arts college in Jackson, MS — plus high achievers (3.5 GPA / 28 ACT) chasing one of 16 competitive full-tuition Premier Scholarships, and high-achieving Pell-eligible Mississippians eligible for the full-tuition Millsaps Advantage.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $63,518 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Millsaps, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Millsaps, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$24,215
$30,001–$48,000$23,719
$48,001–$75,000$23,062
$75,001–$110,000$27,049
$110,001+$30,945
All income levels (average)$26,034

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$44,680
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$26,034

That works out to roughly a 57% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $60,061 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
57%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
58%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$53,848
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
41%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
61%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Millsaps institutional merit awards do NOT stack with each other — when a student qualifies for more than one, they receive only the single award with the highest monetary value. Outside/third-party scholarships must be reported and the financial-aid award is then revised; the page does not state which component (merit, need-based, or self-help) is reduced first, so displacement order is unclear.

Two distinct rules apply. (1) Internal awards: 'If you are eligible for multiple awards, you will receive the award with the highest monetary value' — so the named/automatic merit awards are mutually exclusive at the highest value, not additive. (2) Outside awards: students must report them and the aid award is 'revised to include outside aid,' but no displacement hierarchy (loan-first vs. grant-first vs. coa-cap) is published.

Source

Other Millsaps scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVariesEligibilityUnited Methodist students attending UM-related schools, including Millsaps.

External (provider) program encouraged by Millsaps; includes the UM Dollars for Scholars program. Applications typically open Jan. 1 through Mar. 1.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityUnited Methodist students.

External provider; ~$5.5 million awarded annually across UM students. Applications open Dec. 15 through Mar. 24.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityMississippi United Methodist students.

External provider; applications open Jan. 2 through Apr. 1.

Source

Millsaps merit aid FAQ

  • Do I have to apply separately for the merit scholarship?

    No. All admitted undergraduate students are automatically considered for the $18,000-$34,000 merit scholarship; there is no separate application. The competitive Premier Scholarship and certain named awards do require extra steps.

  • Can I stack multiple Millsaps scholarships?

    Generally no for internal awards. Millsaps states that if you are eligible for multiple awards, you receive the award with the highest monetary value — the named institutional awards are mutually exclusive rather than additive. Outside scholarships must be reported and your aid is revised accordingly.

  • What are the Premier Scholarship requirements and deadline?

    An unweighted 3.5 GPA, a 28 ACT or 1300 SAT, a completed Millsaps application, a 500-700 word essay, and two letters of recommendation. The application opens Aug. 1, 2025 and closes Dec. 12, 2025; Scholars Weekend is Feb. 6-7, 2026 with an acceptance deadline of Mar. 13, 2026. Only 16 are awarded, covering full tuition and fees.

  • Is the merit scholarship renewable?

    Yes. Renewal requires satisfactory academic progress, at least a 12-hour course load each semester, continuous enrollment, and (per renewal terms) residing on campus, and is 'contingent upon meeting specific eligibility criteria provided with the award.' A specific renewal GPA is not published — confirm with the aid office.

See sources and other schools

How Millsaps compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Millsaps is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Millsaps is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Millsaps is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Millsaps’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Millsaps merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Millsaps fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook