Morehead State award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Morehead State?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
24 of 24 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 24 of 24
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 24
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Morehead State's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+): 2.0 GPA
- Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (all cells): Full-time enrollment
- Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (select Ohio counties): Full-time enrollment
- Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Freshman): Full-time enrollment
- Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Freshman): See notes
- Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Freshman): See notes
- Eagle Leader Scholarship (Indiana, Ohio non-Regional, and Tennessee Students): See notes
- SOAR Higher Scholarship (West Virginia Students): Full-time enrollment
- George M. Luckey, Jr. Honors Scholarship: See notes
- Eagle Opportunity Scholarship: See notes
- YMCA Eagle SOAR Scholarship: See notes
- Governor's Award — Full Tuition Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus): See notes
- Governor's Award — $8,000 Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus): See notes
- Rogers Scholar Award: See notes
- Alumni Family Scholarship: See notes
- Kentucky Transfer Scholarship: Full-time enrollment
- Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Transfer): Full-time enrollment
- Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Transfer): See notes
- Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Transfer): See notes
- Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship: See notes
- Regional Tuition Advantage Transfer Scholarship (select Ohio counties): See notes
- Eagle Assurance Scholarship (need-based institutional): Full-time enrollment
- International Student Scholarship: 2.00 GPA
- Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+)
$8,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.8+ (unweighted high school GPA) GPA · 1300–1600 SAT · 28+ ACT
To keep it: Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. Renewal GPA for merit scholarships not stated on scholarship page; SAP policy requires cumulative 2.0 GPA for financial aid continuance. Specific merit renewal GPA not published — confirm with aid office.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (all cells)
$1,000–$8,000/yr depending on GPA/ACT combinationEntry requirements: 3.0–3.8+ (unweighted high school GPA) GPA · 1030–1600 SAT · 20–28+ ACT
To keep it: Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. Specific merit renewal GPA not published on page.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (select Ohio counties)
$1,000–$8,000/yr depending on GPA/ACT combinationEntry requirements: 3.0–3.8+ (unweighted high school GPA) GPA · 1030–1600 SAT · 20–28+ ACT
To keep it: Automatically considered. Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/out-of-state
Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Freshman)
$10,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.75 GPA · 1300–1320 SAT · 28 ACT
To keep it: Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters (Note: out-of-state page says 6 semesters for Indiana/Ohio/Tennessee students; 4 semesters for WV students). 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. If charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus: reduced to $7,000.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/out-of-state
Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Freshman)
$7,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.5 GPA · 1160–1190 SAT · 24 ACT
To keep it: Same housing requirements as Tier 1. If charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus: reduced to $4,000.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/out-of-state
Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Freshman)
$4,500/yrEntry requirements: 3.0 GPA · 1060–1090 SAT · 21 ACT
To keep it: Same housing requirements. If charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus: reduced to $1,500.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/out-of-state
Eagle Leader Scholarship (Indiana, Ohio non-Regional, and Tennessee Students)
$11,000/yr (renewable)Entry requirements: 2.85 GPA · 1060–1090 SAT · 21 ACT
To keep it: Explicitly labeled '(renewable)' on page. Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 6 semesters (per note on out-of-state page for IN/OH/TN students). 50% reduction if housing requirement not met.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/out-of-state
SOAR Higher Scholarship (West Virginia Students)
Full tuitionEntry requirements: 3.0 GPA · 1060–1090 SAT · 21 ACT
To keep it: Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters (WV section note). 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/out-of-state
George M. Luckey, Jr. Honors Scholarship
Up to full tuition + housing (Fields Hall double occupancy) + Eagle Weekly 7 Meal Plan + $250/semester books + $1,500 education abroad allowanceEntry requirements: Not published — competitive GPA · Not published — competitive SAT · Not published — competitive ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published on scholarship page. Page notes scholarship is 'highly competitive and only offered to a limited number of students yearly.' Requires on-campus housing in Fields Hall Honors Learning Community. Confirm renewal GPA with honors office.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/student-support/academic-honors/scholarship
Eagle Opportunity Scholarship
Full tuitionEntry requirements: Competitive — not published GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published. Separate application required.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
YMCA Eagle SOAR Scholarship
Full tuitionEntry requirements: Competitive — not published GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published. Separate application required.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Governor's Award — Full Tuition Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)
Full tuitionEntry requirements: 3.5 GPA · 1220 SAT · 25 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published on page. Full tuition = $10,192/yr (2025-26 rate).
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Governor's Award — $8,000 Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)
$8,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.5 GPA · 1130–1150 SAT · 23 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published on page.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Rogers Scholar Award
$9,000/yr + 1 year housing ($4,800)Entry requirements: 3.25 GPA · 990–1020 SAT · 19 ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published. Total first-year value = $13,800.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Alumni Family Scholarship
Up to $1,000/yrEntry requirements: Not published GPA · Not published SAT · Not published ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published. Limited number awarded. Separate application process required.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/kentucky
Kentucky Transfer Scholarship
$1,500–$4,000/yr depending on GPAEntry requirements: 3.00 ($1,500), 3.25 ($2,500), 3.50 ($4,000) — college GPA GPA · Not required for transfer SAT · Not required for transfer ACT
To keep it: Must maintain full-time enrollment. On-campus housing required for minimum of 4 semesters. 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Priority application deadline June 15.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/transfer
Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Transfer)
$10,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.75+ transfer GPA GPA · Not required SAT · Not required ACT
To keep it: Must be enrolled full-time. On-campus housing required. If all courses online or at regional campus: reduced to $7,000.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/transfer
Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Transfer)
$7,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.50+ transfer GPA GPA · Not required SAT · Not required ACT
To keep it: Same as Tier 1. If all courses online or at regional campus: reduced to $4,000.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/transfer
Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Transfer)
$4,500/yrEntry requirements: 3.00+ transfer GPA GPA · Not required SAT · Not required ACT
To keep it: Same as Tier 1/2. If all courses online or at regional campus: reduced to $1,500.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/transfer
Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship
$1,000/yrEntry requirements: 3.75+ cumulative college GPA GPA · Not required SAT · Not required ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not published. May be combined with KY Transfer Scholarship or Non-Resident Merit per transfer page note.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/transfer
Regional Tuition Advantage Transfer Scholarship (select Ohio counties)
$1,500–$4,000/yr depending on GPAEntry requirements: 3.00 ($1,500), 3.25 ($2,500), 3.50 ($4,000) — college GPA GPA · Not required SAT · Not required ACT
To keep it: Same requirements as Kentucky Transfer Scholarship.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/transfer
Eagle Assurance Scholarship (need-based institutional)
Amount not publishedEntry requirements: 2.8 (unweighted high school GPA) GPA · Not required SAT · Not required ACT
To keep it: Renewable if students maintain Pell Grant and KEES eligibility, full-time student status, and live on campus.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/eagle-assurance
International Student Scholarship
$8,000/yr ($4,000/semester)Entry requirements: Freshmen/transfers <24 hrs: Admission index score of 450+ and ACT 20+/SAT 940+. Transfers 24+ hrs: Cumulative college GPA of 3.00+ GPA · 940 (combined, freshmen or transfers <24 hrs) SAT · 20 (freshmen or transfers <24 hrs) ACT
To keep it: Must maintain at least a 2.00 GPA (on a 4-point scale) for renewal. Cannot be combined with non-resident tuition scholarship. Cannot be used for internet classes.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/scholarships/international-scholarships
Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES)
Amount not published on MSU pages — administered by KHEAAEntry requirements: Not specified on MSU pages GPA · Not specified on MSU pages SAT · Not specified on MSU pages ACT
To keep it: KEES is a state-administered portable award. MSU's overaward policy states: 'The amount of the Federal Pell Grant and the Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) are never reduced.' Eagle Assurance renewal page references 'KEES eligibility' as a renewal condition.
Source: https://www.moreheadstate.edu/admissions/finaid/policies/overaward
How families lose this aid
- Assuming the KY merit grid awards don't change if you move off campus after first year
Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters (KY/WV/OOS) or 6 semesters (IN/OH/TN students). If you move off campus before meeting this requirement, your scholarship is reduced by 50%.
- Thinking the KY merit scholarship is based on a weighted GPA
All MSU scholarships use unweighted high school GPA. A weighted GPA above 4.0 does not help and an unweighted GPA may be lower than expected.
Renewal questions families ask
- Do I need to submit a separate application for the Kentucky merit grid scholarships?
- No. You are automatically considered for the GPA/ACT merit grid when you apply for admission. ACT/SAT scores are not required for admission but are used for scholarship eligibility.
- What GPA do I need to renew my merit scholarship each year?
- The scholarship pages do not publish a specific merit renewal GPA beyond requiring full-time enrollment and on-campus housing. The SAP policy requires a cumulative 2.0 GPA for financial aid continuance. Contact scholarships@moreheadstate.edu to confirm the merit-specific renewal GPA.
- What does the Honors Scholarship cover for 2026?
- The 2026 application packet is listed as TBD as of 2026-06-04. Benefits documented from current page include: up to tuition, up to cost of a double occupancy room in Fields Hall, Eagle Weekly 7 Meal Plan, $250/semester bookstore, Undergraduate Research Fellowship, $1,500 education abroad, priority registration. Contact honors@moreheadstate.edu.
- Is KEES portable to Morehead State?
- MSU's overaward policy confirms KEES is honored and never reduced. The Eagle Assurance Scholarship renewal requires maintaining KEES eligibility. KEES award amounts are not published on MSU pages — see KHEAA (kheaa.com) for the current schedule.
Rules that bite at Morehead State
The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from Morehead State's own tier rules and not generic advice.
- Renewal ruleKentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. Renewal GPA for merit scholarships not stated on scholarship page; SAP policy requires cumulative 2.0 GPA for financial aid continuance. Specific merit renewal GPA not published — confirm with aid office. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
How Morehead State compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Morehead State is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Morehead State’s own published materials.
- Policy pageMorehead State stacking policy
- Merit tiersKentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+)
- Merit tiersOhio Regional Tuition Advantage Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (select Ohio counties)
- Merit tiersGeorge M. Luckey, Jr. Honors Scholarship
- Merit tiersKentucky Transfer Scholarship
- Merit tiersEagle Assurance Scholarship (need-based institutional)
- Merit tiersInternational Student Scholarship
- Scholarship pageCaudill Fellowship
More on Morehead State merit aid
- Morehead State merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Morehead State scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Morehead State displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.