Skip to content

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+)$8,000/yrAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+)

    $8,000/yr

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.8+ (unweighted high school GPA)
    SAT
    1300–1600
    ACT
    28+
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+)

    Who qualifies

    Kentucky resident; automatically considered upon admission application

    How to keep it

    Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. Renewal GPA for merit scholarships not stated on scholarship page; SAP policy requires cumulative 2.0 GPA for financial aid continuance. Specific merit renewal GPA not published — confirm with aid office.

    Worth knowing

    This is the maximum cell in the Kentucky Merit grid. Grid covers ACT 20–28+ and GPA 3.0–3.8+. For all cells see sourceExcerpt. Applies to 2026-27 new students per page header.

  2. Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (all cells)$1,000–$8,000/yr depending on GPA/ACT combinationAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (all cells)

    $1,000–$8,000/yr depending on GPA/ACT combination

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0–3.8+ (unweighted high school GPA)
    SAT
    1030–1600
    ACT
    20–28+
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Kentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (all cells)

    Who qualifies

    Kentucky resident; automatically considered upon admission application. No separate application required.

    How to keep it

    Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. Specific merit renewal GPA not published on page.

    Worth knowing

    Full 5×5 grid. Lowest award: $1,000 (3.0–3.29 GPA, ACT 20 or ACT 21–23). Highest: $8,000 (3.8+ GPA, ACT 28+). Awards for GPA below 3.0 not listed — no merit award published for GPA under 3.0.

  3. Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (select Ohio counties)$1,000–$8,000/yr depending on GPA/ACT combinationAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (select Ohio counties)

    $1,000–$8,000/yr depending on GPA/ACT combination

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0–3.8+ (unweighted high school GPA)
    SAT
    1030–1600
    ACT
    20–28+
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage Merit Scholarship — Full Grid (select Ohio counties)

    Who qualifies

    Must be from eligible Ohio counties: Adams, Athens, Brown, Gallia, Jackson, Highland, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike, Scioto, or Vinton. Reciprocity-based program offering in-state tuition rates.

    How to keep it

    Automatically considered. Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time.

    Worth knowing

    Identical dollar grid to Kentucky resident grid. These students receive in-state tuition rates AND a merit scholarship. Same 5×5 matrix.

  4. Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Freshman)$10,000/yrNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Freshman)

    $10,000/yr

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.75
    SAT
    1300–1320
    ACT
    28
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Freshman)

    Who qualifies

    Out-of-state student (non-Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage participant). Specialized incoming student scholarship — automatic consideration on admission app.

    How to keep it

    Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters (Note: out-of-state page says 6 semesters for Indiana/Ohio/Tennessee students; 4 semesters for WV students). 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. If charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus: reduced to $7,000.

    Worth knowing

    Page lists this under 'Specialized incoming Out-of-state student scholarships.' Automatically considered. Note: separate housing semester requirement from KY grid (6 semesters for IN/OH/TN per note on same page).

  5. Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Freshman)$7,000/yrNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Freshman)

    $7,000/yr

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5
    SAT
    1160–1190
    ACT
    24
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Freshman)

    Who qualifies

    Out-of-state student (non-Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage participant)

    How to keep it

    Same housing requirements as Tier 1. If charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus: reduced to $4,000.

    Worth knowing

    Automatically considered on admission application.

  6. Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Freshman)$4,500/yrNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Freshman)

    $4,500/yr

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0
    SAT
    1060–1090
    ACT
    21
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Freshman)

    Who qualifies

    Out-of-state student (non-Ohio Regional Tuition Advantage participant)

    How to keep it

    Same housing requirements. If charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus: reduced to $1,500.

    Worth knowing

    Automatically considered on admission application.

  7. Eagle Leader Scholarship (Indiana, Ohio non-Regional, and Tennessee Students)$11,000/yr (renewable)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Eagle Leader Scholarship (Indiana, Ohio non-Regional, and Tennessee Students)

    $11,000/yr (renewable)

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.85
    SAT
    1060–1090
    ACT
    21
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Eagle Leader Scholarship (Indiana, Ohio non-Regional, and Tennessee Students)

    Who qualifies

    Indiana, Ohio (not Regional Tuition Advantage participants), or Tennessee students. Note: 'Regional Tuition Advantage reciprocity program participants excluded.'

    How to keep it

    Explicitly labeled '(renewable)' on page. Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 6 semesters (per note on out-of-state page for IN/OH/TN students). 50% reduction if housing requirement not met.

    Worth knowing

    Listed under Indiana, OHIO & Tennessee Students / Specialized Incoming Student Scholarships. Separate application or automatic — not specified beyond admission application.

  8. SOAR Higher Scholarship (West Virginia Students)Full tuitionAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    SOAR Higher Scholarship (West Virginia Students)

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0
    SAT
    1060–1090
    ACT
    21
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for SOAR Higher Scholarship (West Virginia Students)

    Who qualifies

    West Virginia resident. Listed as 'Automatic Incoming Student Scholarship' — automatically considered.

    How to keep it

    Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters (WV section note). 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time.

    Worth knowing

    Full tuition for WV students with 3.0 GPA and 21 ACT. Labeled 'Automatic' on page. Full tuition = $10,192/yr (2025-26 in-state rate, but WV students pay out-of-state; confirm whether full out-of-state tuition or equivalent — page says 'Full tuition' without specifying in/out rate).

  9. George M. Luckey, Jr. Honors ScholarshipUp to full tuition + housing (Fields Hall double occupancy) + Eagle Weekly 7 Meal Plan + $250/semester books + $1,500 education abroad allowanceNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    George M. Luckey, Jr. Honors Scholarship

    Up to full tuition + housing (Fields Hall double occupancy) + Eagle Weekly 7 Meal Plan + $250/semester books + $1,500 education abroad allowance

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published — competitive
    SAT
    Not published — competitive
    ACT
    Not published — competitive
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for George M. Luckey, Jr. Honors Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Incoming MSU freshmen; requires separate application with essay, recent photograph, sample work, and letter of recommendation submitted to Dr. Philip Krummrich (honors@moreheadstate.edu). 2026 application packet listed as TBD.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on scholarship page. Page notes scholarship is 'highly competitive and only offered to a limited number of students yearly.' Requires on-campus housing in Fields Hall Honors Learning Community. Confirm renewal GPA with honors office.

    Worth knowing

    Available to both KY and out-of-state students (appears on both Kentucky and Out-of-State pages). Applied after other financial aid is posted; total aid may not exceed COA (per international page). Benefits include: up to tuition and housing in Fields Hall (up to cost of double occupancy room), Eagle Weekly 7 Meal Plan, $250/semester books, Undergraduate Research Fellowship, $1,500 for required overseas experience, priority registration.

  10. Eagle Opportunity ScholarshipFull tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Eagle Opportunity Scholarship

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Competitive — not published
    SAT
    Not published
    ACT
    Not published
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Eagle Opportunity Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Separate application required. Available to KY and out-of-state students. See application PDF linked from scholarship pages.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published. Separate application required.

    Worth knowing

    Appears on both Kentucky and Out-of-State pages under 'Full Tuition scholarships.' Separate application process required (^). Application PDF: moreheadstate.edu/_files/files/admissions-aid/finaid/25-26/ymca-eagle-soar-eagle-opportunity-scholarship-app.pdf

  11. YMCA Eagle SOAR ScholarshipFull tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    YMCA Eagle SOAR Scholarship

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Competitive — not published
    SAT
    Not published
    ACT
    Not published
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for YMCA Eagle SOAR Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Separate application required. Available to KY and out-of-state students. See same PDF as Eagle Opportunity Scholarship.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published. Separate application required.

    Worth knowing

    Appears on both Kentucky and Out-of-State pages. Separate application process required (^).

  12. Governor's Award — Full Tuition Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)Full tuitionNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Governor's Award — Full Tuition Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5
    SAT
    1220
    ACT
    25
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Governor's Award — Full Tuition Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)

    Who qualifies

    Must be an alumnus of Governor's Scholars Program (GSP), Governor's School for the Arts (GSA), or Governor's School for Entrepreneurs (GSE). Kentucky resident. Marked with '+' on page.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on page. Full tuition = $10,192/yr (2025-26 rate).

    Worth knowing

    Two Governor's Award tiers exist: full-tuition (ACT 25/SAT 1220 & 3.5 GPA) and $8,000 (ACT 23/SAT 1130-1150 & 3.5 GPA). Both require alumni status from GSP/GSA/GSE.

  13. Governor's Award — $8,000 Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)$8,000/yrNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Governor's Award — $8,000 Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)

    $8,000/yr

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5
    SAT
    1130–1150
    ACT
    23
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Governor's Award — $8,000 Tier (GSP/GSA/GSE Alumnus)

    Who qualifies

    Must be an alumnus of Governor's Scholars Program (GSP), Governor's School for the Arts (GSA), or Governor's School for Entrepreneurs (GSE). Kentucky resident.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published on page.

    Worth knowing

    Lower tier of the Governor's Award for GSP/GSA/GSE alumni.

  14. Rogers Scholar Award$9,000/yr + 1 year housing ($4,800)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Rogers Scholar Award

    $9,000/yr + 1 year housing ($4,800)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.25
    SAT
    990–1020
    ACT
    19
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Rogers Scholar Award

    Who qualifies

    Must be a Rogers Scholar alumnus. Kentucky resident.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published. Total first-year value = $13,800.

    Worth knowing

    Housing component ($4,800) appears to be a one-year benefit only based on phrasing '1 year housing.' Confirm whether scholarship base of $9,000 is renewable beyond year 1.

  15. Alumni Family ScholarshipUp to $1,000/yrNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Alumni Family Scholarship

    Up to $1,000/yr

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published
    SAT
    Not published
    ACT
    Not published
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Alumni Family Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Child, grandchild, or spouse of an MSU alumnus. Limited number awarded. Separate application (^) via MSU Alumni Association portal.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published. Limited number awarded. Separate application process required.

    Worth knowing

    Available to KY residents, out-of-state students, and transfer students. Appears across multiple scholarship pages. Transfer page notes: 'Only the Alumni Award and the Phi Kappa Transfer Scholarship may be combined with these scholarships.'

  16. Kentucky Transfer Scholarship$1,500–$4,000/yr depending on GPAAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Kentucky Transfer Scholarship

    $1,500–$4,000/yr depending on GPA

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.00 ($1,500), 3.25 ($2,500), 3.50 ($4,000) — college GPA
    SAT
    Not required for transfer
    ACT
    Not required for transfer
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Kentucky Transfer Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Kentucky resident. Must be new transfer student with at least 24 hours of non-developmental, college-level credit. Submit application packet including transcripts by June 15. '2026-27 school year' confirmed on page.

    How to keep it

    Must maintain full-time enrollment. On-campus housing required for minimum of 4 semesters. 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Priority application deadline June 15.

    Worth knowing

    Three-tier structure: 3.50 GPA = $4,000; 3.25 GPA = $2,500; 3.00 GPA = $1,500. Awards based on final college transcripts and GPA.

  17. Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Transfer)$10,000/yrAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Transfer)

    $10,000/yr

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.75+ transfer GPA
    SAT
    Not required
    ACT
    Not required
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 1 (Transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Minimum of 24 hours transferred. Out-of-state transfer student.

    How to keep it

    Must be enrolled full-time. On-campus housing required. If all courses online or at regional campus: reduced to $7,000.

    Worth knowing

    Transfer version of Non-Resident Merit; GPA-only criteria (no test score needed).

  18. Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Transfer)$7,000/yrAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Transfer)

    $7,000/yr

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.50+ transfer GPA
    SAT
    Not required
    ACT
    Not required
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 2 (Transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Minimum of 24 hours transferred. Out-of-state transfer student.

    How to keep it

    Same as Tier 1. If all courses online or at regional campus: reduced to $4,000.

  19. Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Transfer)$4,500/yrAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Transfer)

    $4,500/yr

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.00+ transfer GPA
    SAT
    Not required
    ACT
    Not required
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Non-Resident Merit Scholarship — Tier 3 (Transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Minimum of 24 hours transferred. Out-of-state transfer student.

    How to keep it

    Same as Tier 1/2. If all courses online or at regional campus: reduced to $1,500.

  20. Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship$1,000/yrNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship

    $1,000/yr

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.75+ cumulative college GPA
    SAT
    Not required
    ACT
    Not required
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Transfer student. Phi Theta Kappa membership implied by name but not explicitly stated on page.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not published. May be combined with KY Transfer Scholarship or Non-Resident Merit per transfer page note.

    Worth knowing

    Listed on Transfer Scholarships page. Transfer page notes only Alumni Award and PTK scholarship may be combined with base transfer scholarships.

  21. Regional Tuition Advantage Transfer Scholarship (select Ohio counties)$1,500–$4,000/yr depending on GPAAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Regional Tuition Advantage Transfer Scholarship (select Ohio counties)

    $1,500–$4,000/yr depending on GPA

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.00 ($1,500), 3.25 ($2,500), 3.50 ($4,000) — college GPA
    SAT
    Not required
    ACT
    Not required
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Regional Tuition Advantage Transfer Scholarship (select Ohio counties)

    Who qualifies

    Must be from eligible Ohio counties: Adams, Athens, Brown, Gallia, Jackson, Highland, Lawrence, Meigs, Pike, Scioto, or Vinton. Transfer student with at least 24 hours.

    How to keep it

    Same requirements as Kentucky Transfer Scholarship.

    Worth knowing

    In-state tuition rates plus scholarship matching KY Transfer tiers.

  22. Eagle Assurance Scholarship (need-based institutional)Amount not publishedNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Eagle Assurance Scholarship (need-based institutional)

    Amount not published

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.8 (unweighted high school GPA)
    SAT
    Not required
    ACT
    Not required
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Eagle Assurance Scholarship (need-based institutional)

    Who qualifies

    Kentucky high school graduate; Pell Grant eligible (per FAFSA); enrolling as first-time, full-time student; must live in campus housing. FAFSA required.

    How to keep it

    Renewable if students maintain Pell Grant and KEES eligibility, full-time student status, and live on campus.

    Worth knowing

    Need-based, not pure merit, but requires HS GPA of 2.8 and Pell eligibility. Fills remaining need for tuition and mandatory fees after other grants and scholarships. Dollar amount not stated — depends on individual need calculation.

  23. International Student Scholarship$8,000/yr ($4,000/semester)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    International Student Scholarship

    $8,000/yr ($4,000/semester)

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Freshmen/transfers <24 hrs: Admission index score of 450+ and ACT 20+/SAT 940+. Transfers 24+ hrs: Cumulative college GPA of 3.00+
    SAT
    940 (combined, freshmen or transfers <24 hrs)
    ACT
    20 (freshmen or transfers <24 hrs)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for International Student Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    International undergraduate student. Separate application/enrollment process. Cannot be combined with non-resident tuition scholarship.

    How to keep it

    Must maintain at least a 2.00 GPA (on a 4-point scale) for renewal. Cannot be combined with non-resident tuition scholarship. Cannot be used for internet classes.

    Worth knowing

    Stacking restriction: cannot be combined with non-resident tuition scholarship. Renewal GPA 2.0 is explicitly lower than standard SAP GPA requirement.

  24. Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES)Amount not published on MSU pages — administered by KHEAAAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES)

    Amount not published on MSU pages — administered by KHEAA

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not specified on MSU pages
    SAT
    Not specified on MSU pages
    ACT
    Not specified on MSU pages
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES)

    Who qualifies

    Kentucky resident. State-administered. MSU's pages reference KEES but do not publish the award schedule — see KHEAA (kheaa.com) for amounts.

    How to keep it

    KEES is a state-administered portable award. MSU's overaward policy states: 'The amount of the Federal Pell Grant and the Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) are never reduced.' Eagle Assurance renewal page references 'KEES eligibility' as a renewal condition.

    Worth knowing

    MSU only documents KEES as a pass-through award that is never reduced in the overaward hierarchy and is required for Eagle Assurance renewal. KEES amounts are not published on MSU pages; award schedule is at KHEAA. Including here only because MSU's official page explicitly names and references it.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleKentucky Automatic Merit Scholarship — Top Tier (3.8+ GPA / ACT 28+): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters; 50% reduction if housing requirement not met. Must be enrolled full-time. Renewal GPA for merit scholarships not stated on scholarship page; SAP policy requires cumulative 2.0 GPA for financial aid continuance. Specific merit renewal GPA not published — confirm with aid office. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

What makes Morehead State different

Morehead State automatically awards merit scholarships of $1,000–$8,000/yr to Kentucky freshmen based on a GPA/ACT grid, with full-tuition competitive awards for top scholars, and separate grids for out-of-state and Ohio regional students.

Merit tiers2410 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Morehead State's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

Straight from the aid office

What Morehead State's aid office says

Per the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships, Morehead State University, August 2026. How we verify

Outside scholarship overaward reduction order

If the student wins an outside scholarship that causes an overaward, will it reduce his loans or Morehead State's own award first?

If an outside scholarship causes an overaward, the school will first reduce any student loan on the account before reducing other types of financial aid.

“receives an outside scholarship that results in an overaward on his account, we will first reduce any student loan on his account before reducing other types of financial aid.”
Scholarship renewal GPA

What GPA is needed to renew the student's scholarship each year?

The renewal GPA depends on the specific scholarship and only 2026-27 requirements are currently available, and these can change year to year.

“The renewal GPA depends on the specific scholarship. At this time, we only have the scholarship requirements for the 2026-27 academic year available, and these requirements can change from year to year.”
Scholarship recovery/appeal process

Is there a way to regain the scholarship if the GPA requirement is not met for a semester?

If a student does not meet renewal requirements, there is an appeal process that allows the student to potentially regain the scholarship.

“If a student does not meet the renewal requirements, we do offer an appeal process that allows the student to potentially regain the scholarship.”
Source of GPA used for admissions/scholarships

Is the GPA used for scholarship consideration the transcript GPA or calculated differently?

The Admissions Office enters the GPA from the student's high school transcript, but the specific factors considered are not known to this office and should be confirmed with Admissions.

“Our Admissions Office enters the GPA from the student's high school transcript. I am not sure what specific factors they consider when determining the GPA, so this question would be best answered by the Admissions Office.”
Highest automatic merit scholarship

What is the highest merit scholarship automatically awarded?

The Commonwealth Scholarship is currently the highest merit scholarship that is automatically awarded.

“At this time, the Commonwealth Scholarship is the highest merit scholarship that is automatically awarded.”
Additional merit scholarship options

Can the student apply for other merit scholarships beyond the automatic one?

The student may also apply for the Honors Scholarship, Eagle Opportunity Scholarship, or YMCA Eagle SOAR Scholarship, though these have a separate application process and new applications are not yet available.

“may also apply for the Honors Scholarship, Eagle Opportunity Scholarship, or YMCA Eagle SOAR Scholarship. These scholarships have a separate application process; however, the new applications are not available at this time.”
Only one merit scholarship awarded

Can the student receive both the Commonwealth Scholarship and another merit scholarship?

If selected for one of the other merit scholarships, the student would no longer be eligible for the Commonwealth Scholarship, since only one merit scholarship can be awarded.

“If he was selected as a recipient of one of these scholarships, he would no longer be eligible for the merit scholarship. We can only award one merit scholarship.”

What families often miss

  1. Scholarships require on-campus housing for a minimum of 4 semesters (KY/WV/OOS) or 6 semesters (IN/OH/TN students). If you move off campus before meeting this requirement, your scholarship is reduced by 50%.

  2. All MSU scholarships use unweighted high school GPA. A weighted GPA above 4.0 does not help and an unweighted GPA may be lower than expected.

  3. Transfer scholarships may ONLY be combined with the Alumni Family Award and the Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship. Combining them with other institutional awards is not permitted.

  4. The Honors Scholarship is applied after other financial aid is posted and total aid may not exceed the cost of attendance. Students with significant other aid may see their Honors Scholarship reduced.

  5. If a non-resident merit scholarship recipient is charged in-state tuition because all courses are online or at a regional campus, Tier 1 is reduced from $10,000 to $7,000; Tier 2 from $7,000 to $4,000; Tier 3 from $4,500 to $1,500.

  6. Only tuition, fees, on-campus housing, and meal plan are billed directly. Books, transportation, and personal costs are estimates. The COA is used for financial aid eligibility calculations, not the amount owed.

  7. The Kentucky scholarships page states these full-tuition awards 'require a separate application & have an early deadline.' Specific deadline is not published but described as 'early'; check with scholarships@moreheadstate.edu.

  8. The page explicitly states: 'This scholarship cannot be combined with the non-resident tuition scholarship.'

  9. Per MSU's overaward policy, KEES (like Pell) is never reduced in any overaward correction. Institutional merit scholarships are reduced before KEES.

  10. All MSU institutional scholarships require full-time enrollment. Part-time enrollment cancels the scholarship.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Kentucky high-school seniors who want automatic merit consideration without a separate application; out-of-state students from Indiana, Ohio, Tennessee, or West Virginia who may qualify for large reciprocity or regional awards; competitive scholars seeking full-tuition honors awards.

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Morehead State, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Morehead State, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$7,150
$30,001–$48,000$7,057
$48,001–$75,000$8,874
$75,001–$110,000$13,341
$110,001+$15,164
All income levels (average)$9,793

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Total cost of attendance (sticker), AY 2021-22
$21,961
Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$10,024
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$14,980
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$9,793

That works out to an average 55% discount off the sticker price above — both figures come from the same federal AY 2021-22 Scorecard report, not a number the school itself published.

Morehead State is a public school; Scorecard's net price and cost of attendance figures cover in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
52%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
65%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$22,250 (~$236/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$43,197
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
56%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
58%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Total financial aid from all sources cannot exceed the Cost of Attendance (COA). When an overaward occurs, MSU first eliminates loans (work-study, private, PLUS, unsubsidized federal, subsidized federal) before reducing institutional merit scholarships. The Pell Grant and KEES are never reduced. The Honors Scholarship is applied after other financial aid is posted. Transfer scholarships may only be combined with the Alumni Award and Phi Theta Kappa Transfer Scholarship. The International Student Scholarship cannot be combined with the non-resident tuition scholarship.

The overaward policy establishes a priority reduction order: (1) Federal Work-Study, (2) Alternative/Private Loan, (3) PLUS Loan, (4) Grad PLUS, (5) Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan, (6) Subsidized Federal Direct Loan, (7) Need-Based Scholarships by Financial Aid Office, (8) Academic Scholarship Office Scholarships (including Commonwealth, Kentucky Scholars Award, Dean's Scholar, Governor's Scholar, Rogers Scholar, Eagle Opportunity, Alumni, Honors, Non-Resident Merit, Reciprocity Merit, Transfer Scholarship), (9) Federal TEACH Grant, (10) KY Teachers Scholarship, (11) FSEOG, (12) KY CAP Grant. Pell and KEES are never reduced. Transfer page explicitly states: 'Only the Alumni Award and the Phi Kappa Transfer Scholarship may be combined with these scholarships.' Honors Scholarship on international page: 'They're applied after other financial aid is posted (total aid may not exceed the cost of attendance).'

Source

Other Morehead State scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountTuition and feesEligibilityKentucky residents 65 years or older. Must apply before start of semester.

Contact Office of Financial Aid, 606-783-2011.

Source

AmountFull tuition and fees; $1,200/year book allowance; $300–$500/month stipendEligibilityFull-time undergraduate or graduate students (2–4 years remaining) with GPA of 2.5+, meeting qualifications to commission as Army Officer. Deadline: December 1.

Contact Department of Military Science, 606-783-2106 or 606-783-5225.

Source

AmountFull tuition and fees; $1,200/year book allowance; $300–$500/month stipendEligibilityNursing majors with ACT 19 (SAT 990–1020) or higher and GPA of 2.5+. Deadline: December 1.

Contact Department of Military Science.

Source

AmountUp to $59,200 (before taxes)EligibilityMust be enrolled in Construction Management major at MSU. Apply by Feb. 1 (year on page listed as 2025, may be stale — confirm).

State government scholarship with major restriction to Construction Management. Email kytc.scholarships@ky.gov.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityTop freshman and sophomore candidates in MSU ROTC program; determined by GPA and Army Physical Fitness Test scores.

Contact Department of Military Science.

Source

Morehead State merit aid FAQ

  • Do I need to submit a separate application for the Kentucky merit grid scholarships?

    No. You are automatically considered for the GPA/ACT merit grid when you apply for admission. ACT/SAT scores are not required for admission but are used for scholarship eligibility.

  • What is the scholarship priority deadline?

    March 15 is the scholarship priority deadline per the Financial Aid page. Transfer scholarship priority deadline is June 15.

  • What GPA do I need to renew my merit scholarship each year?

    The scholarship pages do not publish a specific merit renewal GPA beyond requiring full-time enrollment and on-campus housing. The SAP policy requires a cumulative 2.0 GPA for financial aid continuance. Contact scholarships@moreheadstate.edu to confirm the merit-specific renewal GPA.

  • Does the SOAR Higher Scholarship cover WV students' out-of-state tuition or in-state tuition?

    The page says 'Full tuition' without specifying the rate. West Virginia students are charged non-resident tuition ($15,362/yr in 2025-26). Confirm with aid office whether 'Full tuition' means full out-of-state tuition or only in-state equivalent.

  • What does the Honors Scholarship cover for 2026?

    The 2026 application packet is listed as TBD as of 2026-06-04. Benefits documented from current page include: up to tuition, up to cost of a double occupancy room in Fields Hall, Eagle Weekly 7 Meal Plan, $250/semester bookstore, Undergraduate Research Fellowship, $1,500 education abroad, priority registration. Contact honors@moreheadstate.edu.

  • Is KEES portable to Morehead State?

    MSU's overaward policy confirms KEES is honored and never reduced. The Eagle Assurance Scholarship renewal requires maintaining KEES eligibility. KEES award amounts are not published on MSU pages — see KHEAA (kheaa.com) for the current schedule.

  • Can I receive both a KY merit scholarship and the Honors Scholarship?

    The Honors Scholarship is applied after other financial aid; total aid cannot exceed COA. There is no explicit prohibition on receiving both, but the Honors award will be reduced if total aid would exceed COA. Confirm with scholarships@moreheadstate.edu.

See sources and other schools

How Morehead State compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Morehead State is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Morehead State is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Morehead State’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Morehead State merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Morehead State fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Revisit the school research
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook