Skip to content

New College of Florida scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$26,198per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

New College of Florida awards automatic merit on admission. New College of Florida does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Presidential Honors ScholarshipVaries — determined by individual qualifications (no published dollar amount)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Presidential Honors Scholarship

    Varies — determined by individual qualifications (no published dollar amount)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Honors Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    For high-achieving students with exceptional academic performance, leadership and engagement; automatically considered upon admission; available to both Florida and out-of-state students

    How to keep it

    Listed under New College's renewable institutional scholarships; the page states 'All scholarships are subject to renewal requirements, and to availability of funding.' No specific renewal GPA is published.

    Worth knowing

    This is the flagship automatic merit award. Critically, NCF no longer publishes a dollar figure or stat cutoffs for it — the amount is 'determined by individual qualifications.' Do NOT assume the old (pre-2023) published grid (e.g., $6,000/yr in-state) still applies; the current site does not state any number. Apply by the Feb. 1 priority deadline for the scholarship guarantee.

  2. Pell-Eligible Full Coverage AwardFull tuition and feesNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Pell-Eligible Full Coverage Award

    Full tuition and fees

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Pell-Eligible Full Coverage Award

    Who qualifies

    Must file the FAFSA and meet Pell Grant qualifications; available to both Florida and out-of-state students

    How to keep it

    Subject to New College's general renewal requirements and FAFSA filing each year; the institutional combination covers tuition and fees but excludes the Pell Grant itself.

    Worth knowing

    Need-triggered but functions as a guaranteed merit-style benefit: any admitted, Pell-qualifying student gets tuition and fees fully covered through grants/scholarships/waivers (NOT counting the Pell Grant). File the FAFSA by the Feb. 1 priority deadline (school code 039574). This covers tuition and fees only — not the ~$15,000/yr housing/food/personal budget.

  3. President's Inner Circle ScholarshipFull four-year academic scholarship covering tuition, fees, room and boardNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    President's Inner Circle Scholarship

    Full four-year academic scholarship covering tuition, fees, room and board

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Exceptional GPA (no numeric threshold published)
    SAT
    Exceptional test scores (no numeric threshold published)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for President's Inner Circle Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    All Florida students looking to join the Fall 2026 Freshman class can qualify; Florida residents only; the Office of Admissions will contact students who qualify (not application-based)

    How to keep it

    Full four-year award; 'Requires satisfactory progress towards degree.'

    Worth knowing

    NCF's top freshman award — covers tuition, fees, room AND board for four years (the only NCF award that reaches room and board). Florida residents only; the page says students with 'exceptional test scores and grade point averages' qualify but publishes NO numeric cutoff. You cannot apply — Admissions contacts qualifiers. Includes dinners/programming with the college president.

  4. Benacquisto Scholarship Program (National Merit Finalists)Full cost of attendance (gift aid from multiple sources)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Benacquisto Scholarship Program (National Merit Finalists)

    Full cost of attendance (gift aid from multiple sources)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Benacquisto Scholarship Program (National Merit Finalists)

    Who qualifies

    Recognized as a National Merit Finalist; combines funding from multiple sources to cover the full cost of attendance

    How to keep it

    State-administered award renewable per Florida Office of Student Financial Assistance rules; subject to state appropriation.

    Worth knowing

    State of Florida program (administered by the Florida Office of Student Financial Assistance), not an NCF institutional award, but it lands eligible National Merit Finalists at full cost of attendance — the single most valuable funding path at NCF. Confirm current-year eligibility and amounts with Florida OSFA and the NCF aid office; state programs are contingent on legislative appropriation.

  5. All-Florida Academic Team Award (transfer)$2,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    All-Florida Academic Team Award (transfer)

    $2,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for All-Florida Academic Team Award (transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Entering transfer students who are recognized members of the All-Florida Academic Team; Florida residents; automatically considered upon admission

    How to keep it

    Stated as annual ('$2,000 annually'); subject to NCF's general renewal requirements.

    Worth knowing

    Transfer-student award only. CANNOT be combined with the Phi Theta Kappa Award — you receive one or the other. Florida residents.

  6. Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Award (transfer)$1,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Award (transfer)

    $1,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Award (transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Entering transfer students who are active Phi Theta Kappa members; automatically considered upon admission

    How to keep it

    Stated as annual ('$1,000 annually'); subject to NCF's general renewal requirements.

    Worth knowing

    Transfer-student award only. CANNOT be combined with the All-Florida Academic Team Award — students eligible for both receive the larger ($2,000) one.

  7. NCF Transform Partner Award (transfer)$500 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    NCF Transform Partner Award (transfer)

    $500 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for NCF Transform Partner Award (transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students from NCF Transform Partner Florida State Colleges; automatically considered

    How to keep it

    Stated as '$500 annually'; renewal terms not specified on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Small transfer award ($500/yr) for students coming from designated NCF Transform partner Florida state colleges. Subject to the same best-award-only rule as other NCF scholarships.

  8. NCF Foundation ScholarshipsVaries by scholarship (separate application)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    NCF Foundation Scholarships

    Varies by scholarship (separate application)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for NCF Foundation Scholarships

    Who qualifies

    Incoming freshmen, transfers, and current undergraduates; some Foundation awards require demonstrated financial need (FAFSA); evaluated competitively on academic performance, extracurriculars, leadership, need, and donor goals

    How to keep it

    Students must complete the yearly Foundation scholarship application to be considered for funding; subject to renewal requirements and donor criteria.

    Worth knowing

    Separate, competitive, application-based pool of academic-merit AND need-based donor scholarships — distinct from the automatic institutional awards. Apply in the myNCF 'Scholarship Manager' tile: application opens Jan. 9, 2026, deadline March 31, 2026; notifications begin mid-April. Combined aid cannot exceed total cost of attendance, so file the FAFSA.

Lights up against New College of Florida's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which New College of Florida award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at New College of Florida

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Aid capHard $26,198 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at New College of Florida cannot push the package past $26,198. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes New College of Florida different

New College guarantees scholarship funding to virtually all first-year admits who apply by Feb. 1, but after its 2023 leadership overhaul the published dollar grid is gone — the headline awards (Presidential Honors, President's Inner Circle, Pell-eligible full-coverage) are now stated only as 'full tuition and fees' or 'determined by individual qualifications,' with NO disclosed GPA/test cutoffs.

Merit tiers84 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take New College of Florida's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. After New College's 2023 leadership overhaul, the current scholarship pages no longer publish dollar amounts or GPA/test cutoffs for the Presidential Honors Scholarship — the amount is now 'determined by individual qualifications.' Pre-2023 PDFs circulating online (and third-party sites) are stale. Ask Admissions for your specific offer in writing.

  2. They don't. NCF states 'If a student qualifies for more than one scholarship, we will assign the best option' — you receive only the single largest award, not the sum. The transfer PTK and All-Florida Academic Team awards are explicitly mutually exclusive.

  3. It covers tuition and fees only — not the roughly $15,000/yr in housing, food, and personal costs (2026-27 FL-resident COA is $26,198, of which tuition & fees are just $6,724). Only the President's Inner Circle (tuition + fees + room + board) and Benacquisto (full cost of attendance) reach living costs.

  4. NCF 'guarantees scholarship funding to virtually all admitted first-time-in-college and transfer students who apply for the fall class by our priority deadline, February 1.' Apply and file the FAFSA (code 039574) by Feb. 1; the separate Foundation application runs Jan. 9 – Mar. 31, 2026.

  5. NCF ties scholarship amounts to residency: 'a student who is a Florida resident for tuition purposes will not be eligible for an out-of-state scholarship,' and the top President's Inner Circle award is Florida-residents-only. Out-of-state COA is $51,945 vs. $26,198 in-state for 2026-27.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

In-state Florida students chasing a near-free public honors-college education (especially Pell-eligible students and National Merit Finalists, whose awards reach full tuition/fees or full cost of attendance), plus strong applicants comfortable with a school that no longer publishes a fixed merit grid and decides amounts case-by-case.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $26,198 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at New College of Florida, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at New College of Florida, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$3,591
$30,001–$48,000$3,582
$48,001–$75,000$4,880
$75,001–$110,000$10,204
$110,001+$13,586
All income levels (average)$7,195

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$6,916
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$29,944
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$7,195

That works out to roughly a 71% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $24,449 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

New College of Florida is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
67%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
76%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$17,375 (~$184/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$48,082
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
36%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
21%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

New College's automatic institutional scholarships do NOT stack with each other: 'If a student qualifies for more than one scholarship, we will assign the best option (unless the scholarship indicates otherwise)' — i.e., a student receives the single largest award, not the sum. The transfer Phi Theta Kappa and All-Florida Academic Team awards are explicitly mutually exclusive. Separately, total combined financial assistance from ALL sources (including outside scholarships and Foundation awards) cannot exceed the student's cost of attendance, which can displace other aid.

Two layers operate. (1) Among NCF's own automatic merit awards, only the best/largest is granted — they are not additive. (2) The Foundation page states combined financial assistance cannot exceed total cost of attendance, so winning outside or Foundation aid can reduce other awards once the COA ceiling is hit. No page describes a loan-first or grant-first displacement order; the only stated rule is the COA cap plus best-award-only selection.

Source

Other New College of Florida scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVaries (lottery-funded; set by the State of Florida)EligibilityFlorida residents meeting Bright Futures academic criteria.

State of Florida program usable at NCF; two award levels (Florida Academic Scholar, Florida Medallion Scholar). Amounts/eligibility set by Florida OSFA, not NCF. Call 1-888-827-2004 or see Florida OSFA.

Source

AmountVariesEligibilityStudents who submit the FAFSA and have unmet need.

NEED-BASED (not merit). Preference to students completing the 2026-27 FAFSA by the Feb. 1, 2026 priority deadline.

Source

AmountUp to $10,000 per academic year (lifetime up to $50,000)EligibilityWashington, D.C. residents (12+ months) who graduated HS / GED on or after Jan. 1, 1998 and began college within three years of HS graduation.

External (District of Columbia) grant pays the difference between in-state and out-of-state tuition; submit the DC TAG eligibility letter to the NCF aid office; re-apply each year.

Source

New College of Florida merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    February 1 is the priority deadline to qualify for New College's scholarship guarantee and for FAFSA/need-based consideration (school code 039574). The separate, competitive NCF Foundation Scholarship application opens January 9, 2026 and closes March 31, 2026, with notifications beginning mid-April.

  • Is the merit scholarship automatic, and how much is it?

    The Presidential Honors Scholarship and the Pell-eligible full-tuition-and-fees coverage are automatic on admission — no separate form. However, NCF no longer publishes a dollar amount or GPA/test cutoff for the Presidential Honors award; it is 'determined by individual qualifications.' The President's Inner Circle (Florida freshmen, full tuition/fees/room/board) is also automatic but Admissions contacts qualifiers. The NCF Foundation awards do require a separate application.

  • Can I combine multiple New College scholarships?

    Generally no. NCF assigns 'the best option' if you qualify for more than one, so you receive the single largest award rather than the sum. The transfer PTK ($1,000) and All-Florida Academic Team ($2,000) awards explicitly cannot be combined. Across all sources, your total aid also cannot exceed your cost of attendance.

  • What does it cost to attend?

    For 2026-2027, the estimated total cost of attendance is $26,198 for Florida residents (tuition & fees $6,724) and $51,945 for out-of-state residents (tuition & fees $32,471), including housing $9,450 and food $5,084.

See sources and other schools

How New College of Florida compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    New College of Florida is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    New College of Florida is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

  • 132 of 749 verified schools publish a dedicated National Merit Finalist package.

    New College of Florida is one of them. NMF packages typically carry their own stacking and renewal carve-outs separate from the standard automatic merit ladder; confirm those before assuming the headline NMF value is final.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against New College of Florida’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • UCF merit aid. Florida public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • UF Online merit aid. Florida public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • USF merit aid. Florida public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • UWF merit aid. Florida public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring New College of Florida merit aid

The next chapter

Where does New College of Florida fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook