Edwin O Reischauer Scholarship
Up to $10,000
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
Oberlin Conservatory awards automatic merit on admission. Oberlin Conservatory does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.
Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.
Step 1 of comparing your list
Check Oberlin Conservatory free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.
The award collection
These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Up to $10,000
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
Full tuition
Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
$10,000
Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditionsUp to $10,000
Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
$10,000
Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
RenewableCheck the conditions$5,000
Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
$2,000
Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
$100,000
Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
Amount not published
Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
Start with the award’s published eligibility.
Lights up against Oberlin Conservatory's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.
This page covers one school.
Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.
“it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa
Oberlin Conservatory treats loans, work-study, and institutional grant under different rules. The same $5,000 outside award can land against any of them depending on category.
Oberlin awards merit aid to high-achieving students with regional ties, distinctive backgrounds, and diverse perspectives.
More than one award path
Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.
Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.
Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.
Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.
The fine print / Three questions to carry forward
Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.
Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.
Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.
A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.
Strong students with strong regional roots or unique experiences should explore Oberlin's merit awards, which recognize more than just grades.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $68,340 for 2026-2027. Source
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Oberlin Conservatory, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
| Family income | Average net price paid |
|---|---|
| $0–$30,000 | $18,774 |
| $30,001–$48,000 | $15,799 |
| $48,001–$75,000 | $22,123 |
| $75,001–$110,000 | $29,207 |
| $110,001+ | $48,731 |
| All income levels (average) | $38,645 |
That works out to roughly a 56% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $87,404 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Treatment depends on the outside award type. Merit-based outside scholarships replace self-help (student loans and student employment) and do not reduce Oberlin grants or scholarships, provided total grants and scholarships do not exceed billed costs (tuition, room, dining, and fees). Need-based outside grants, entitlements, and benefits — including tuition benefits from student or parent employers — replace Oberlin College grants and/or scholarships dollar for dollar. The page does not state a reduction order for merit awards that exceed the billed-costs cap.
Treatment depends on the outside award type. Merit-based outside scholarships replace self-help (student loans and student employment) and do not reduce Oberlin grants or scholarships, provided total grants and scholarships do not exceed billed costs (tuition, room, dining, and fees). Need-based outside grants, entitlements, and benefits — including tuition benefits from student or parent employers — replace Oberlin College grants and/or scholarships dollar for dollar. The page does not state a reduction order for merit awards that exceed the billed-costs cap.
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
Oberlin Conservatory is in the small minority (32 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
Oberlin Conservatory is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Oberlin Conservatory is one of them. NMF packages typically carry their own stacking and renewal carve-outs separate from the standard automatic merit ladder; confirm those before assuming the headline NMF value is final.
Every claim is checked against Oberlin Conservatory’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.