Skip to content
← Back to Rice's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Rice
Decision sheet

Texas · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

A highly selective private university (8% admit rate) that automatically considers all admitted freshmen for merit scholarships with no separate application, but publishes no automatic stat-based grids and no specific award amounts. About 20% of admitted students receive a merit offer, though only about 5% of first-year students with no financial need received pure non-need institutional merit in 2024-2025. Rice meets 100% of demonstrated need loan-free through the Rice Investment.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Rice Merit Scholarship (general pool)

Varies. Rice does not publicly disclose specific merit award amounts. The CDS reports an average non-need-based institutional merit award of $26,665 for first-year students (2024-2025 estimated). Individual awards may range from partial tuition to full tuition based on admission review. · Variable or qualified amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: All admitted freshman applicants are automatically considered for merit-based scholarships. No separate application, forms, or interviews are required. The Office of Admission selects recipients based on the admission application. Merit scholarships are not influenced by the FAFSA or CSS Profile. Recipients typically distinguish themselves academically and personally - past honorees include political and community service leaders, math and science competition winners, creative and performance artists, entrepreneurs, scholar-athletes, and exceptional writers.

Renewal: Renewed annually as long as the student maintains full-time enrollment and a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.8 or 3.0, with the specific GPA requirement referenced in the individual admissions merit award letter.

Other terms: About 20% of admitted students receive a merit scholarship offer. The CDS reports 55 first-time first-year students with no financial need received non-need institutional merit in 2024-2025 out of 1,147 degree-seeking first-years. Merit awards may be exchanged for endowed or named scholarships partially or completely. Merit scholarship funds cannot be used for coursework outside Rice, and students who graduate early cannot receive unexpended merit funds.

https://financialaid.rice.edu/types-aid/merit-scholarships

Trustee Distinguished Scholarship

Not publicly disclosed. Based on recipient testimonials, the award is substantial enough to enable debt-free graduation. · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Selected from the admitted applicant pool by the Office of Admission. No separate application. Specific selection criteria are not published.

Renewal: Renewed annually with full-time enrollment and minimum cumulative GPA per the admissions merit award letter (2.8 or 3.0).

Other terms: One of Rice's named endowed merit scholarships. Referenced in university donor communications but not detailed on the financial aid website. Exact number of awards per year is not published.

https://news.rice.edu/news/2025/video-owls-thank-donors-fueling-scholarships-student-success

Century Scholars Program

Two-year merit scholarship (amount not publicly disclosed) plus a research stipend for faculty-mentored research. The stipend covers research materials, textbooks, or conference travel as determined with mentor approval. · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: All admitted Rice students are automatically considered. No separate application required. The selection committee looks for special qualities and achievements in both academic and personal areas. Prior research experience is not required - demonstrated interest and enthusiasm qualify students.

Renewal: The scholarship and research component last two years (freshman through sophomore year). The stipend is not awarded during semesters spent studying abroad. Students must maintain a one-semester minimum commitment to their initial research project.

Other terms: Introduced in the 2000-2001 academic year. Pairs incoming freshmen with faculty mentors for two years of collaborative research in areas including data analysis, interviews, computer programming, gene cloning, and international conferences. Mandatory participation in Inquiry Weeks (sophomores must present). Administered by the Office of Undergraduate Research and Inquiry, not the main financial aid office.

https://ouri.rice.edu/research-programs/century-scholars

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Outside scholarships first displace work-study, then reduce Rice institutional need-based grants. Pell grants and merit scholarships are protected and not reduced by outside aid. Total aid cannot exceed the cost of attendance.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/rice/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.