Skip to content
← Back to Roanoke's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Roanoke
Decision sheet

Virginia · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Roanoke College publishes a transparent GPA-only freshman merit grid ($10,000-$21,000, awarded automatically at acceptance with no separate application), plus stackable $1,000-$2,000 add-on grants for campus visits, alumni legacy, test scores, and Lutheran/partner-denomination affiliation.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 11 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Roanoke College Merit Awards (Trustee, Presidential, Dean's, Faculty and Maroon) — freshman GPA grid

$10,000-$21,000 · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Examples: 4.0+ = $21,000; 3.70 = $19,000; 3.50 = $17,000; 3.00 = $15,000; 2.50 = $12,000; 2.00 = $10,000

Eligibility: First-time freshmen; awarded at the time of admission; recipients must be full-time and degree-seeking. Merit offers are made only to accepted students.

Renewal: Award amounts vary and may be renewed for up to seven additional semesters provided the student maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress.

Other terms: Page warns: 'Once a need-based award has been presented, the college will no longer evaluate for additional merit-based aid.'

https://www.roanoke.edu/merit

Additional $1,000 merit award (GPA + test score)

$1,000 · Published amount

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: at least a 3.0 high school GPA · SAT: 1200 or higher · ACT: 25 or higher

Eligibility: Scores on file at the time of acceptance to Roanoke

Renewal: Not separately stated; merit awards generally may be renewed for up to seven additional semesters with Satisfactory Academic Progress (ask the aid office whether this bonus follows the same rule).

Other terms: Added on top of the GPA-grid merit award.

https://www.roanoke.edu/merit

Transfer merit awards (institutional merit funds for transfer students)

$8,000-$17,000 · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Transfer GPA examples: 2.40 = $8,000; 2.60 = $10,000; 3.00 = $13,000; 3.15 = $15,000; 3.50 = $17,000

Eligibility: Available to eligible incoming transfer students upon their acceptance for Fall 2026

Renewal: Stated as 'Amount of Annual Grant'; renewal terms for transfers not separately stated beyond the college-wide Satisfactory Academic Progress requirements.

Other terms: Same warning applies: once a need-based award has been presented, the college will no longer evaluate for additional merit-based aid. Add-ons: +$2,000/yr with an Associates Degree and 3.0+ transfer GPA; $1,500/yr Out of State transfer grant; $1,000/yr transfer visit grant (see lesserKnownScholarships).

https://www.roanoke.edu/merit

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: The school does not publish a specific outside-scholarship displacement policy; confirm treatment with the aid office before counting on stacking.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/roanoke-college/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.