These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
$10,000-$21,000
Roanoke College Merit Awards (Trustee, Presidential, Dean's, Faculty and Maroon) — freshman GPA grid
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Examples: 4.0+ = $21,000; 3.70 = $19,000; 3.50 = $17,000; 3.00 = $15,000; 2.50 = $12,000; 2.00 = $10,000
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesFirst-time freshmen; awarded at the time of admission; recipients must be full-time and degree-seeking. Merit offers are made only to accepted students.
How to keep itAward amounts vary and may be renewed for up to seven additional semesters provided the student maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress.
NotesPage warns: 'Once a need-based award has been presented, the college will no longer evaluate for additional merit-based aid.'
Source
$1,000
Additional $1,000 merit award (GPA + test score)
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- at least a 3.0 high school GPA
- SAT
- 1200 or higher
- ACT
- 25 or higher
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesScores on file at the time of acceptance to Roanoke
How to keep itNot separately stated; merit awards generally may be renewed for up to seven additional semesters with Satisfactory Academic Progress (ask the aid office whether this bonus follows the same rule).
NotesAdded on top of the GPA-grid merit award.
Source
$8,000-$17,000
Transfer merit awards (institutional merit funds for transfer students)
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Transfer GPA examples: 2.40 = $8,000; 2.60 = $10,000; 3.00 = $13,000; 3.15 = $15,000; 3.50 = $17,000
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesAvailable to eligible incoming transfer students upon their acceptance for Fall 2026
How to keep itStated as 'Amount of Annual Grant'; renewal terms for transfers not separately stated beyond the college-wide Satisfactory Academic Progress requirements.
NotesSame warning applies: once a need-based award has been presented, the college will no longer evaluate for additional merit-based aid. Add-ons: +$2,000/yr with an Associates Degree and 3.0+ transfer GPA; $1,500/yr Out of State transfer grant; $1,000/yr transfer visit grant (see lesserKnownScholarships).
Source
$2,000
The Bishop Jim Mauney Lutheran Student Grant
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesFull-time, degree-seeking students who are members of ELCA congregations and who designate a Lutheran denomination on their admissions application; eligibility determined by the denomination submitted on the application at the time of acceptance
How to keep itTo continue this program through four years, students must satisfy the same GPA requirements as specified for Roanoke College grants and awards.
NotesIn addition to the merit scholarships listed above (stacks with the GPA grid).
Source
$1,000
Friends in Faith Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesFull-time, degree-seeking members of The Reformed Church in America, The United Church of Christ, The Episcopal Church, The Moravian Church, or The United Methodist Church, as noted on the admissions application. Not retroactive; first-time students only beginning Fall of 2026.
How to keep itTo continue this program through four years, students must satisfy the same GPA requirements as specified for Roanoke College grants and awards.
NotesIn addition to the merit scholarships listed above (stacks with the GPA grid).
Source
$1,000
The Legacy Award
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesFull-time, degree-seeking students with an alumni connection (parent, sibling, grandparent, or aunt/uncle who attended Roanoke College and graduated) as noted on the admissions application. Not retroactive; first-time students only beginning Fall of 2025.
How to keep itTo continue this program through four years, students must satisfy the same GPA requirements as specified for Roanoke College grants and awards.
NotesIn addition to the merit scholarships listed above (stacks with the GPA grid). Eligibility determined by information submitted on the application at the time of acceptance.
Source
$1,000
The Visit Grant
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesAccepted applicants who visit the campus during their Junior or Senior year of high school and attend Roanoke College; visit must take place before May 1 of their Senior Year
NotesIn addition to the merit award (stacks with the GPA grid). Whether it renews annually is not stated on the page.
Source
Up to $2,500 per year
Art Scholarships
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesApply by sending samples of your work and a 250-word statement
How to keep itPer the SAP page, the Roanoke College Choral, Music, Art and Theatre scholarships are reinstated for each semester of continued participation in the respective program as determined by the Fine Arts Department.
NotesCompetitive Scholarship Program. The page warns added Roanoke College funds may alter a previously awarded Roanoke College Supplemental Grant.
Source
Up to $2,500 per year
Music Performance Scholarships
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesAudition; for participating in the RC Choir, Marching Band, Wind Ensemble or Jazz Ensemble
How to keep itPer the SAP page, the Roanoke College Choral, Music, Art and Theatre scholarships are reinstated for each semester of continued participation in the respective program as determined by the Fine Arts Department.
NotesCompetitive Scholarship Program. The page warns added Roanoke College funds may alter a previously awarded Roanoke College Supplemental Grant.
Source
Up to $2,500 per year
Theatre Art Scholarships
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesApply by sending a resume, a 250-word statement and an optional portfolio of 4 to 6 images of your best work
How to keep itPer the SAP page, the Roanoke College Choral, Music, Art and Theatre scholarships are reinstated for each semester of continued participation in the respective program as determined by the Fine Arts Department.
NotesCompetitive Scholarship Program. The page warns added Roanoke College funds may alter a previously awarded Roanoke College Supplemental Grant.
Source
$500 per year
Honors Program
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesListed under Competitive Scholarship Programs; '$500 per year for attending an event'. Honors Program application deadline for Fall 2026 was March 15, 2026 (per How to Apply page).
NotesThe competitive-programs page states only '$500 per year for attending an event'; full Honors award terms are not detailed there.
Source