Skip to content
← Back to Shorter's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Shorter
Decision sheet

Georgia · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

DRAFT: Shorter awards GPA/test-based academic merit of $1,200-$11,000 with the admission application, layers a $3,000 residential Shorter Excellence award (3.0 GPA) on top — but ALL institutional aid is tuition-only, excludes summer, and athletic aid stacks with academics only at a 3.5 GPA.

Selection beyond grades and scores. These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 4 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Academic Merit Scholarships

$1,200-$11,000 · Published range

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Based on academic GPA (specific tiers/cutoffs not published) · SAT: Used with GPA; no published cutoffs · ACT: Used with GPA; no published cutoffs

Eligibility: The Application for Admission is also the application for Academic Excellence Scholarships (excluding Competitive Scholarships)

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the page.

Other terms: No grid published — amounts 'range from $1,200-$11,000.' Some are stackable with the Shorter Excellence Scholarship and Baptist Appreciation. Institutional aid is tuition-only and unavailable in summer.

https://www.shorter.edu/financial-aid-sources/

Shorter Excellence Scholarship

$3,000 · Published amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: 3.0 GPA

Eligibility: Residential students receive $3,000 per year (excludes summer)

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the page.

Other terms: Stacks with the Academic Merit Scholarship, but is NOT stackable with athletic aid.

https://www.shorter.edu/financial-aid-sources/

Shorter Scholars Program (Competitive)

Amount not published · Published award terms

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

GPA: Freshmen: 3.5 GPA or 28 ACT/1310 SAT; transfers: minimum 3.3 GPA with at least 24 transferrable hours · SAT: 1310 (alternative to GPA criterion) · ACT: 28 (alternative to GPA criterion)

Eligibility: Limited number of awards; outstanding academic credentials plus a personal interview; separate scholarship application required (2026 application PDF posted)

Renewal: Renewal terms not stated on the page.

Other terms: These scholarships, 'when combined with certain other forms of financial aid, may cover full tuition' — full tuition is the combined ceiling, not the award itself.

https://www.shorter.edu/financial-aid-sources/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Combined grant and scholarship aid from all sources may not exceed direct education costs (tuition, room, board, and books) rather than full cost of attendance; for students living off campus, HOPE and Shorter University aid specifically may not exceed the narrower cap of tuition and books only.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/shorter-university/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.