Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
Based on academic GPA (specific tiers/cutoffs not published)
SAT
Used with GPA; no published cutoffs
ACT
Used with GPA; no published cutoffs
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Academic Merit Scholarships
Who qualifies
The Application for Admission is also the application for Academic Excellence Scholarships (excluding Competitive Scholarships)
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Worth knowing
No grid published — amounts 'range from $1,200-$11,000.' Some are stackable with the Shorter Excellence Scholarship and Baptist Appreciation. Institutional aid is tuition-only and unavailable in summer.
Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.0 GPA
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Shorter Excellence Scholarship
Who qualifies
Residential students receive $3,000 per year (excludes summer)
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Worth knowing
Stacks with the Academic Merit Scholarship, but is NOT stackable with athletic aid.
Shorter Scholars Program (Competitive)Amount not publishedNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Shorter Scholars Program (Competitive)
Amount not published
Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
Freshmen: 3.5 GPA or 28 ACT/1310 SAT; transfers: minimum 3.3 GPA with at least 24 transferrable hours
SAT
1310 (alternative to GPA criterion)
ACT
28 (alternative to GPA criterion)
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Shorter Scholars Program (Competitive)
Who qualifies
Limited number of awards; outstanding academic credentials plus a personal interview; separate scholarship application required (2026 application PDF posted)
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Worth knowing
These scholarships, 'when combined with certain other forms of financial aid, may cover full tuition' — full tuition is the combined ceiling, not the award itself.
Named competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCEFull tuition (Presidential) / Full tuition, room and board (Eubanks) / 75% tuition (Alfred Shorter/Provost)Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Named competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE
Full tuition (Presidential) / Full tuition, room and board (Eubanks) / 75% tuition (Alfred Shorter/Provost)
Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.5 HS GPA (all three, per 2016 article)
SAT
Eubanks: 1300 (CR+M); Presidential and Alfred Shorter/Provost: 1100 (CR+M)
ACT
Eubanks: 28; Presidential and Alfred Shorter/Provost: 24
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Named competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE
Who qualifies
Incoming freshmen; competitive selection
How to keep it
Per the 2016 announcement: Eubanks renewal 3.5 cumulative GPA; Presidential renewal 3.25; Alfred Shorter/Provost renewal 3.0. Eight semesters each.
Worth knowing
CAUTION: documented only in a fall-2016 news announcement still live on shorter.edu — NOT found on the current financial-aid pages, which instead describe the 'Shorter Scholars Program.' Treat as historical/stale until the aid office confirms these named awards still exist on these terms.
Free Merit Check
Check the rules that could cut this.
The free Merit Check shows which Shorter award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.
This page covers one school.
Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.
Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.
“it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa
The fine print
Renewal ruleNamed competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Per the 2016 announcement: Eubanks renewal 3.5 cumulative GPA; Presidential renewal 3.25; Alfred Shorter/Provost renewal 3.0. Eight semesters each. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
Aid capHard $35,328 cost-of-attendance ceiling
Institutional aid at Shorter cannot push the package past $35,328. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.
What makes Shorter different
DRAFT: Shorter awards GPA/test-based academic merit of $1,200-$11,000 with the admission application, layers a $3,000 residential Shorter Excellence award (3.0 GPA) on top — but ALL institutional aid is tuition-only, excludes summer, and athletic aid stacks with academics only at a 3.5 GPA.
Merit tiers4See who qualifies
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
Selection beyond grades and scores
Start with the selection process.
These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.
Read the selection rules
Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.
Check the application dates
Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.
Know what happens next year
Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.
The fine print / Three questions to carry forward
Before you count on it.
Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.
Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.
Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.
A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.
See what could change an award+
Straight from the aid office
What Shorter's aid office says
Per the Financial Aid Office, Shorter University, August 2026. How we verify
Who awards academic/merit aid
Which office is responsible for academic/merit scholarships?
Academic/merit aid is awarded by the Admissions office.
“Academic/merit aid is awarded by our Admissions office.”
How merit aid amount is determined
How is the level of merit aid a student receives determined?
Admissions uses a sliding scale of GPAs and test scores to calculate an academic rating, which determines the level of academic or merit aid a student receives.
“They use a sliding scale of GPAs and test scores to calculate an academic rating. That rating determines what level of academic or merit aid a student receives.”
Deadline information source
Who can provide the merit/Shorter Scholars deadline?
The Admissions office would best be able to guide the student concerning deadlines.
“They would best be able to guide you concerning deadlines.”
GPA renewal requirement notification
How does a student find out the GPA required to keep their academic aid?
The notifications Admissions sends to students about academic aid they receive are believed to also include the GPA required to maintain it.
“I believe the notifications they send to students notifying them of any academic aid they receive also includes what GPA they are required to maintain in order to keep it.”
What families often miss
The page states 'Institutional aid may only be applied towards tuition' — Shorter merit money cannot offset housing, meals, or fees, so families must budget those separately.
'No institutional aid is available for summer semesters' — and the Excellence award explicitly 'excludes summer.' Summer terms are full-price on institutional dollars.
The page is explicit: 'this scholarship is not stackable with athletic aid.' Recruited athletes below a 3.5 GPA generally cannot combine athletic money with other institutional aid at all.
Athletic scholarships 'are rarely stacked with other institutional aid, unless the student has obtained a 3.5 GPA' — only at 3.5+ does the academic + athletic stacking option open.
The Shorter Scholars Program says the competitive award 'when combined with certain other forms of financial aid, may cover full tuition' — full tuition is the combined ceiling across aid sources, not the scholarship's own value.
Those named full-tuition/full-ride awards appear only in a 2016 news post; the current aid pages list a 'Shorter Scholars Program' with different criteria. Confirm with admissions which competitive awards exist for 2026-27 before counting on them.
The admission application covers regular academic scholarships but 'excluding Competitive Scholarships' — Shorter Scholars requires its own application and interview, with deadlines held by the Office of Admissions.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
DRAFT: Students with solid GPA/test stats who plan to live on campus (the $3,000 Excellence award is residential), Georgia Baptist church members, and 3.5+ students — who unlock both the Shorter Scholars competition and the right to stack athletic with academic aid.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $35,328 for 2025-2026. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Shorter, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Shorter, academic year 2021-22
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$15,929
$30,001–$48,000
$21,482
$48,001–$75,000
$22,944
$75,001–$110,000
$21,292
$110,001+
$18,898
All income levels (average)
$16,646
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$24,630
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$16,646
That works out to roughly a 53% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $35,726 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
38%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
61%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$25,000 (~$265/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$44,604
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
43%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
62%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
Combined grant and scholarship aid from all sources may not exceed direct education costs (tuition, room, board, and books) rather than full cost of attendance; for students living off campus, HOPE and Shorter University aid specifically may not exceed the narrower cap of tuition and books only.
Verified policy language (2026-07-02): 4. The total of grant and scholarship funds from all sources may not exceed direct education costs (ie: tuition, room, board and books). For students living off campus the total of HOPE and Shorter University grants and scholarships may not exceed the cost of tuition and books. ... 7. Students must notify the financial aid office of other expected financial assistance not listed on this financial aid notice. The receipt of assistance from other sources may result in an adjustment to this offer. Private scholarships will not be applied to the student account until the funds are received by the university. Separately, the school's own award-stacking rules: Stacking is award-specific: some academic scholarships stack with the Shorter Excellence Scholarship and Baptist Appreciation; the Excellence award does NOT stack with athletic aid; athletic aid 'is rarely stacked with other institutional aid' unless the student has a 3.5 GPA, which unlocks stacking academic + athletic. If a student has obtained a 3.5 GPA, and is offered an athletic scholarship, they have the option of stacking both Academic and Athletic aid.' Excellence: 'not stackable with athletic aid.' Athletic: 'rarely stacked with other institutional aid, unless the student has obtained a 3.5 GPA.' Shorter Scholars: combined with other aid 'may cover full tuition' (a tuition ceiling). (per https://www.shorter.edu/financial-aid-sources/)
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityActive members of Georgia Baptist Convention (GBC) churches; membership verified before the scholarship is applied; limited number.
Application form required. Listed as stackable with some academic scholarships.
AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityNeed-based for Hispanic/Latino students residing in the U.S.; accepted to Shorter before applying; U.S. citizen, DACA, or non-citizen eligible; FAFSA if applicable.
Separate application (posted form is an 18-19 PDF — likely stale).
AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityChildren of those engaged in mission work; detailed information about the missionary work and areas served required.
No specific dates are published. The page says deadlines and criteria 'vary greatly, so check with the Office of Admissions or the Financial Aid Office as far in advance as possible'; the competitive Shorter Scholars Program directs students to contact admissions for deadlines.
How much merit aid can I get?
Academic scholarships range $1,200–$11,000 based on GPA and SAT/ACT (no published grid). Residential students with a 3.0 GPA add the $3,000 Shorter Excellence Scholarship. Top students (3.5 GPA or 28 ACT/1310 SAT) can compete for the Shorter Scholars Program, which combined with other aid may cover full tuition.
Can I use my scholarship for housing?
No — institutional aid may only be applied toward tuition, and none is available for summer semesters.
What does Shorter cost?
Published 2025-26 charges: tuition $24,686/year, activity fee $180, technology fee $250, transportation fee $100, standard double room $5,272, unlimited meal plan $4,840 (total ≈ $35,328), plus about $1,200 estimated books. 2026-27 figures were not yet posted on the page opened.
Is there extra aid for Baptist students?
Yes — a limited number of Baptist Appreciation Scholarships go to verified active members of Georgia Baptist Convention churches (application required; amount not published). It is listed as stackable with some academic scholarships.
See sources and other schools+
How Shorter compares
235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.
Shorter is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Shorter is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Shorter’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.