Shorter award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Shorter?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
4 of 4 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 4 of 4
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 4
- Renewal risk profile
- moderate
Renewal risk profile
Shorter's renewal bar is achievable for steady students but isn't generous. Most awards require a cumulative GPA in the 3.0–3.4 band plus full-time enrollment. Audit the strictest tier on this school's list before assuming the four-year value is locked in.
- Academic Merit Scholarships: See notes
- Shorter Excellence Scholarship: See notes
- Shorter Scholars Program (Competitive): See notes
- Named competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE: 3.5 GPA
Renewal terms by tier
Academic Merit Scholarships
$1,200-$11,000Entry requirements: Based on academic GPA (specific tiers/cutoffs not published) GPA · Used with GPA; no published cutoffs SAT · Used with GPA; no published cutoffs ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Shorter Excellence Scholarship
$3,000Entry requirements: 3.0 GPA GPA
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Shorter Scholars Program (Competitive)
Amount not publishedEntry requirements: Freshmen: 3.5 GPA or 28 ACT/1310 SAT; transfers: minimum 3.3 GPA with at least 24 transferrable hours GPA · 1310 (alternative to GPA criterion) SAT · 28 (alternative to GPA criterion) ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Named competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE
Full tuition (Presidential) / Full tuition, room and board (Eubanks) / 75% tuition (Alfred Shorter/Provost)Entry requirements: 3.5 HS GPA (all three, per 2016 article) GPA · Eubanks: 1300 (CR+M); Presidential and Alfred Shorter/Provost: 1100 (CR+M) SAT · Eubanks: 28; Presidential and Alfred Shorter/Provost: 24 ACT
To keep it: Per the 2016 announcement: Eubanks renewal 3.5 cumulative GPA; Presidential renewal 3.25; Alfred Shorter/Provost renewal 3.0. Eight semesters each.
Source: https://www.shorter.edu/incoming-students-receive-academic-scholarships-from-shorter-university/
How families lose this aid
- Expecting institutional aid in summer.
'No institutional aid is available for summer semesters' — and the Excellence award explicitly 'excludes summer.' Summer terms are full-price on institutional dollars.
- Trying to stack the $3,000 Shorter Excellence Scholarship with an athletic scholarship.
The page is explicit: 'this scholarship is not stackable with athletic aid.' Recruited athletes below a 3.5 GPA generally cannot combine athletic money with other institutional aid at all.
- An athlete assuming academic merit stacks automatically.
Athletic scholarships 'are rarely stacked with other institutional aid, unless the student has obtained a 3.5 GPA' — only at 3.5+ does the academic + athletic stacking option open.
Renewal questions families ask
- How much merit aid can I get?
- Academic scholarships range $1,200–$11,000 based on GPA and SAT/ACT (no published grid). Residential students with a 3.0 GPA add the $3,000 Shorter Excellence Scholarship. Top students (3.5 GPA or 28 ACT/1310 SAT) can compete for the Shorter Scholars Program, which combined with other aid may cover full tuition.
- Can I use my scholarship for housing?
- No — institutional aid may only be applied toward tuition, and none is available for summer semesters.
Rules that bite at Shorter
The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from Shorter's own tier rules and not generic advice.
- Renewal ruleNamed competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Per the 2016 announcement: Eubanks renewal 3.5 cumulative GPA; Presidential renewal 3.25; Alfred Shorter/Provost renewal 3.0. Eight semesters each. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
How Shorter compares across our verified dataset
- 69 of 749 verified schools publish a top renewal tier requiring 3.5+ GPA or major-GPA gating.
Shorter is one of them. Calibrate year-one academic load against the renewal floor, not just freshman survival.
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Shorter is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Shorter’s own published materials.
- Policy pageShorter stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceShorter cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersAcademic Merit Scholarships
- Merit tiersNamed competitive scholarships (Eubanks / Presidential / Alfred Shorter-Provost) — STALE SOURCE
More on Shorter merit aid
- Shorter merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Shorter scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Shorter displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.