Skip to content

Southern Wesleyan University · South Carolina

Southern Wesleyan scholarships and merit aid

SWU runs a GPA-only freshman grid where even a sub-2.5 GPA earns $10,000 (residential), stacks a $5,000 SWU Fellows bonus on top for Palmetto Fellows, and reserves a handful of full scholarships that explicitly absorb all other aid.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

Is Southern Wesleyan worth a closer look?

Southern Wesleyan may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.

Merit tiers8See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards14%First-year students, CDS 2021-2022
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Free Merit Check

See what Southern Wesleyan's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Southern Wesleyan

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

$10,000-$14,000

Freshman Academic Aid — Residential Students (Presidential / Trustee / Warrior / Opportunity)

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
Tiered by HS GPA: 4.3+ ($14,000); 3.4-4.29 ($13,000); 2.5-3.39 ($11,000); <2.5 ($10,000)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Grid is 'Based on high school GPA.' The page intro also mentions SAT/ACT/CLT scores but the published grid uses GPA only. No application process is described, but the page does not explicitly state the award is automatic.

How to keep it

Renewable for up to four years or 120 SWU credit hours, whichever comes first. No renewal GPA is published on this page.

Notes

Every residential freshman lands somewhere on the grid — even below a 2.5 GPA earns the $10,000 Opportunity Scholarship.

Source

$5,000-$7,000

Freshman Academic Aid — Commuter Students (Presidential / Trustee / Warrior / Opportunity)

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
Tiered by HS GPA: 4.3+ ($7,000); 3.4-4.29 ($6,500); 2.5-3.39 ($5,500); <2.5 ($5,000)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Same tier names as the residential grid at roughly half the dollar value.

How to keep it

Renewable for up to four years or 120 SWU credit hours, whichever comes first.

Notes

Commuter amounts are roughly half the residential amounts at every tier.

Source

$5,000 per year

SWU Fellows (Palmetto Fellows Recipients)

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

South Carolina students designated as a South Carolina Palmetto Fellow.

How to keep it

Described as 'per year'; explicit renewal conditions not stated.

Notes

Explicitly stacks: 'will be in addition to freshman academic aid.' The same $5,000 add-on exists for transfer students ('in addition to transfer academic aid').

Source

Full tuition…Full tuition, required fees, room (double room), and board

SWU Fellows Full Scholarship

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
Palmetto Fellows criteria: 3.5 cumulative GPA + top 6% of class (with 1200 SAT or 25 ACT), OR 4.0 GPA (with 1400 SAT or 31 ACT)
SAT
1200 or 1400 depending on path
ACT
25 or 31 depending on path
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

SC residents confirmed (or to be confirmed) as Palmetto Fellows by the SC Commission on Higher Education; competitive application; only THREE awarded each year.

How to keep it

Renewal terms not stated on the page.

Notes

Direct-cost cap with absorption: 'Institutional aid, state aid, and federal grants will be absorbed by this award not to exceed total direct institutional costs.'

Source

Full tuition and fees

SWU Life Tuition Scholarship

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
SC LIFE criteria — meet 2 of 3: 3.0 cumulative GPA; 1100 SAT or 22 ACT; top 30% of class
SAT
1100 (one of three criteria)
ACT
22 (one of three criteria)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

SC residents confirmed as SC LIFE Scholarship recipients by the SC Commission on Higher Education; competitive application; only FOUR awarded each year.

How to keep it

Renewal terms not stated on the page.

Notes

Tuition-and-fees cap with absorption: 'Institutional aid, state aid, and federal grants will be absorbed by this award not to exceed total tuition and fees.' This is NOT a full ride — room and board are excluded.

Source

$7,500 per year

Out-of-State SWU Fellows

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
3.0 cumulative GPA (one of three criteria)
SAT
1100 (one of three criteria)
ACT
22 (one of three criteria)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Out-of-state students meeting 2 of the 3 requirements; application required; only THREE awarded.

How to keep it

Described as 'per year'; explicit renewal conditions not stated.

Source

$2,500 per year

Out-of-State / International Scholarship

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Incoming out-of-state or international freshman (and transfer) students.

How to keep it

Described as 'per year'; explicit renewal conditions not stated.

Notes

Stacks: 'in addition to the academic aid.'

Source

$6,000-$11,000

Transfer Academic Aid (Transfer Trustee / Transfer Warrior / Transfer Opportunity)

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
3.5-4.0 ($11,000); 3.0-3.49 ($10,000); <3.0 ($6,000) — cumulative GPA from all institutions attended
See who qualifies and how to keep it
How to keep it

Renewable for up to four years or 120 SWU credit hours, whichever comes first.

Notes

Even transfers under a 3.0 receive $6,000.

Source

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Both the SWU Fellows Full Scholarship and the SWU Life Tuition Scholarship state that 'Institutional aid, state aid, and federal grants will be absorbed by this award' — your Palmetto Fellows, SC Tuition Grant, and even Pell are folded into the award, not added on top of it.

  2. It awards 'up to total tuition and fees' only — room (minimum $4,870) and board ($6,250 meal plan) for 2026-2027 remain the family's responsibility.

  3. Only three SWU Fellows Full Scholarships and four SWU Life Tuition Scholarships are awarded each year, by competitive application — qualifying for Palmetto Fellows or LIFE makes you eligible to apply, not to win.

  4. The commuter grid pays $5,000-$7,000 versus $10,000-$14,000 for residential students at identical GPA tiers.

  5. Renewal runs 'up to four years or 120 SWU credit hours, whichever comes first' — students who bring in dual-enrollment credit or take overloads can hit the 120-hour cap before their fourth year.

  6. The page states 'SWU Fellow Full Scholarship recipients are not eligible because they receive a full tuition and room and board award from SWU.'

  7. No renewal GPA is published for the academic grid on this page — but the catalog may impose one. Ask the aid office in writing what GPA (and SAP standard) is required to keep the scholarship all four years.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Friendly to a wide academic range — every residential freshman gets at least $10,000 regardless of GPA — and especially rewarding for SC Palmetto Fellows, who stack $5,000 more and can compete for one of three full scholarships.

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Southern Wesleyan, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Southern Wesleyan, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$14,084
$30,001–$48,000$14,218
$48,001–$75,000$14,230
$75,001–$110,000$14,899
$110,001+$17,381
All income levels (average)$15,464

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Total cost of attendance (sticker), AY 2021-22
$39,914
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$29,800
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$15,464

That works out to an average 61% discount off the sticker price above — both figures come from the same federal AY 2021-22 Scorecard report, not a number the school itself published.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
52%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
69%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$26,000 (~$276/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$47,756
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
41%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
51%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Southern Wesleyan caps total grants and scholarships at direct on-campus expenses, not full cost of attendance; if the outside, state, and federal aid already secured doesn't cover those direct costs, institutional aid is layered in order (Church Matching Scholarship, other SWU scholarships/grants, Athletic or Music Scholarships, Academic Scholarships or Grants, then the Wesleyan Ministers Dependent Grant), but the combined total never exceeds that narrower cap.

Verified policy language (2026-07-02): First, all federal grants and scholarships, state grants & scholarships, outside scholarships, and church scholarships are packaged. If this package does not meet direct, on-campus expenses, institutional aid will be applied in the following order: SWU Church Matching Scholarship, other SWU scholarships and grants, SWU Athletic or Music Scholarships, SWU Academic Scholarships or Grants, SWU Wesleyan Ministers Dependent Grant. In no case will the total grants and scholarships financial aid exceed direct on-campus expenses. Separately, the school's own award-stacking rules: SWU's smaller named awards explicitly stack on top of the academic grid ($5,000 SWU Fellows, $2,500 out-of-state/international, $1,000 Phi Theta Kappa). Stack-on language: SWU Fellows $5,000 'will be in addition to freshman academic aid'; Out-of-State/International $2,500 'in addition to the academic aid'; PTK $1,000 'in addition to other sources of eligible institutional aid.' Absorption language: both full scholarships state 'Institutional aid, state aid, and federal grants will be absorbed by this award' not to exceed the award's cap. (per https://www.swu.edu/on-campus/financial-aid/scholarships-and-grants/)

Source

More school data

From the Southern Wesleyan Common Data Set 2021-2022:

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Southern Wesleyan’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
14%of admitsget merit
Average award$6,047

At Southern Wesleyan, roughly 1 in 7 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $6,047.

As filed in Southern Wesleyan's CDS Section H2A: of 187 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 26 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $6,047. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 106 of 669, averaging $8,415. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

Receive institutional merit14%First-year students, Common Data Set 2021-2022
Average merit award$6,047Across recipients, Common Data Set 2021-2022

Source: Common Data Set 2021-2022 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other Southern Wesleyan scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$8,000 ($2,000 per year)EligibilityALL PBS/PGS program participants, confirmed via official lists SWU receives from the PBGSO.

SWU Fellows Full Scholarship recipients are not eligible (they already receive full tuition + room/board).

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityPTK members transferring to the on-campus program; full-time enrollment; submit membership proof.

Only five awarded, first-come basis; stacks with other eligible institutional aid.

Source

AmountUp to $1,000EligibilityGift from the student's church or church district, matched by SWU up to $1,000/yr ($500 per semester).

Source

Amount50% of tuition costsEligibilityDependents of licensed/ordained full-time Wesleyan ministers, career Wesleyan missionaries (Global Partners), or district-office appointees.

Tuition-only percentage award.

Source

Amount$4,000/semester for senior yearEligibilityLicensed Ministerial Students in the Wesleyan Church; apply through the denomination.

Senior year only.

Source

AmountUp to $1,000EligibilityTop students who audition for the music department; renewable for music majors based on continued advancement.

Auditions must be completed by April 20.

Source

AmountUp to $5,000EligibilityTeacher-education students with a background and desire to work in underserved areas.

Source

AmountEqual to competition winningsEligibilityArea and national WBB winners.

Capped: 'not to exceed direct university costs.'

Source

Amount50% tuitionEligibilityStudents holding a bachelor's degree for at least one year (official transcript required).

Applies to tuition only; does not include fees.

Source

Southern Wesleyan merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    No general scholarship deadline is published on the scholarships page (retrieved 2026-06-07). The only date shown is for the music Young Artist Award: auditions must be completed by April 20. Ask the aid office whether the SWU Fellows Full / Life Tuition applications have a deadline for fall 2026 entry.

  • Do I need test scores for the freshman academic scholarships?

    The published freshman grid is 'Based on high school GPA' alone — tiers run from $10,000 (<2.5 GPA) to $14,000 (4.3+) for residential students. The page intro mentions SAT/ACT/CLT, but no test cutoffs appear in the grid; confirm with admissions whether scores can affect placement.

  • How much does SWU cost for 2026-2027?

    Published full-time per-year costs: tuition $29,500, combined fees $3,000, double room from $4,870 (minimum), meal plan $6,250. SWU does not publish a single total cost-of-attendance figure on this page.

  • Can I stack awards at SWU?

    Smaller awards stack: the $5,000 SWU Fellows (for Palmetto Fellows designees), the $2,500 out-of-state/international scholarship, and the $1,000 PTK award are all 'in addition to' academic aid. The full scholarships do NOT stack — they absorb institutional, state, and federal grant aid.

  • How long is the academic scholarship renewable?

    Up to four years or 120 SWU credit hours, whichever comes first.

See sources and other schools

How Southern Wesleyan compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Southern Wesleyan is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Southern Wesleyan is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Southern Wesleyan’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Southern Wesleyan merit aid