Skip to content

Spring Arbor scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$48,960per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Spring Arbor awards automatic merit on admission. Spring Arbor does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Undergraduate Merit Scholarships$10,000-$17,500AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Undergraduate Merit Scholarships

    $10,000-$17,500

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Base admittance to 4.00+ (weighted scale); see grid
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Undergraduate Merit Scholarships

    Who qualifies

    Incoming campus undergraduate students

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms for the freshman merit grid are not stated on the current Aid page; the parallel transfer section says scholarships are 'renewable each year, based on eligibility.' Confirm freshman renewal criteria with the aid office.

    Worth knowing

    Grid on the page is labeled '2025-2026 Undergraduate Merit Scholarships' even though 2026-27 costs are published elsewhere on the site — amounts for 2026-2027 entry should be confirmed. GPA is calculated on a weighted scale per the page.

  2. Transfer Scholarships$6,000-$12,000AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Scholarships

    $6,000-$12,000

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    GPA 2.59 or below up to 3.65+ (college GPA); see grid
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Scholarships

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students

    How to keep it

    Scholarships are renewable each year, based on eligibility.

    Worth knowing

    Grid is labeled '2025-2026 Transfer Scholarships'; confirm amounts for 2026-2027 entry.

  3. E.P. Hart Honors Program Scholarship$1,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    E.P. Hart Honors Program Scholarship

    $1,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.6 high school GPA
    SAT
    SAT equivalent of ACT 26 (equivalent score not published)
    ACT
    26 composite
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for E.P. Hart Honors Program Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must be accepted into the Honors program; admission requires a writing sample with the SAU application and an interview with the program directors

    How to keep it

    You must maintain a GPA of at least 3.6 and annual honors participation standards.

    Worth knowing

    Stacks on top of the academic merit scholarship: 'Students admitted into the program will receive an extra $1,000 on top of your merit scholarship.'

  4. Intercultural Leadership Scholarship$3,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Intercultural Leadership Scholarship

    $3,000

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Intercultural Leadership Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    U.S. citizen or permanent resident committed to fostering meaningful relationships across cultural boundaries; must be admitted to SAU; application required by Feb. 15

    How to keep it

    Listed as '$3,000 per year'; specific renewal criteria not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    The dedicated application page loaded as an empty page shell with no additional detail visible.

  5. Student Statesmanship Institute (SSI) Cobb ScholarshipUp to $5,000Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Student Statesmanship Institute (SSI) Cobb Scholarship

    Up to $5,000

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Cumulative GPA of at least 3.0
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Student Statesmanship Institute (SSI) Cobb Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Must have been involved with the Student Statesmanship Institute (SSI); apply with a 1,000-word-or-less essay; candidates must also complete the FAFSA

    How to keep it

    The recipient may retain the scholarship in subsequent years by maintaining a minimum cumulative college GPA of 2.7.

  6. Scholarship Day AwardsAmount not publishedNot automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Scholarship Day Awards

    Amount not published

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    Open award details for Scholarship Day Awards

    Who qualifies

    Invite-only competition; apply by the Early Application Deadline (December 1) to be eligible for an invitation

    Renewal terms

    Renewability not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Students compete for additional departmental and institutional scholarships, including departmental awards, music and art scholarships, and E.P. Hart Honors program scholarships.

Lights up against Spring Arbor's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Spring Arbor award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Spring Arbor

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleE.P. Hart Honors Program Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

You must maintain a GPA of at least 3.6 and annual honors participation standards. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Aid capHard $48,960 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at Spring Arbor cannot push the package past $48,960. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes Spring Arbor different

Spring Arbor publishes a simple weighted-GPA merit grid ($10,000–$17,500 for freshmen, $6,000–$12,000 for transfers) plus stackable add-ons like a $1,000 honors bonus and a $3,000 Intercultural Leadership Scholarship, with extra competitive money reserved for students who apply by the December 1 early deadline and attend invite-only Scholarship Day.

Merit tiers62 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Spring Arbor's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. SAU counts outside scholarship funds as financial assistance: if an outside scholarship pushes total aid above your financial need and/or cost of attendance, the aid package is adjusted, and if an over-award occurs after disbursement you 'may be required to repay all or a portion' of your financial aid.

  2. The Aid page states athletic scholarships preclude 'all other forms of SAU aid other than academic merit awards' — so honors, departmental, and other institutional awards cannot be combined with an athletic award.

  3. Only students who apply by December 1 can be invited to Scholarship Day, the invite-only competition for additional departmental and institutional scholarships and 'maximum financial aid.'

  4. The E.P. Hart Honors Program Scholarship requires maintaining a GPA of at least 3.6 plus annual honors participation standards — a higher bar than the school's general financial-aid SAP standard (2.0 at 48+ attempted credits).

  5. Initial eligibility requires a 3.0 cumulative GPA, but retention in subsequent years requires maintaining a minimum cumulative college GPA of 2.7 — and candidates must also complete the FAFSA.

  6. The admissions process page states FAFSA data 'is used to determine eligibility for most aid sources, including federal and state aid as well as university scholarships and grants,' and the priority FAFSA deadline is May 1.

  7. The $3,000-per-year Intercultural Leadership Scholarship application is due Feb. 15, and the SAU supplemental aid application for endowed and annually funded scholarships also has a Feb. 15 deadline each year.

  8. The merit grid on the Aid page is labeled '2025-2026' even though the tuition page already publishes 2026-27 costs, and the page footnote warns 'Scholarships and grants are subject to change.' Confirm 2026-2027 grid amounts with Student Financial Services.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students with a weighted high-school GPA of 3.35+ (and especially 4.00+) get the strongest published awards, and applicants willing to apply by December 1 can compete for additional departmental and institutional money at Scholarship Day. Free Methodist families and Christian-camp participants have niche matching awards here.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $48,960 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Spring Arbor, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Spring Arbor, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$14,530
$30,001–$48,000$15,697
$48,001–$75,000$16,197
$75,001–$110,000$19,358
$110,001+$21,370
All income levels (average)$19,353

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$34,014
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$19,353

That works out to roughly a 57% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $44,703 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
64%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
77%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$26,375 (~$280/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$51,732
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
23%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
60%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Outside (private) scholarships count as financial assistance: if an outside scholarship pushes total aid above financial need and/or cost of attendance, SAU adjusts the aid package, and aid already disbursed may have to be repaid. Separately, athletic scholarships preclude all other forms of SAU aid except academic merit awards, while the E.P. Hart honors award explicitly stacks on top of merit.

The Aid page states outside scholarship funds are counted as financial assistance and that 'adjustments will be made to the student's aid package' if outside scholarships exceed financial need and/or cost of attendance; it does not say which aid (loans vs. grants) is reduced first. Athletic scholarships: 'This scholarship precludes all other forms of SAU aid other than academic merit awards.'

Source

Other Spring Arbor scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountAward amount variesEligibilityNew freshman studio art majors; submit a portfolio and application to the SAU Art Department

Contact your admissions rep to arrange a portfolio review.

Source

AmountAward amount variesEligibilityMusic majors, minors, or students participating in an SAU musical ensemble; audition with the SAU Music Department

Source

AmountAward amount variesEligibilityBased on leadership, academic standing, sportsmanship, respect for authority, competitive spirit and athletic ability

This scholarship precludes all other forms of SAU aid other than academic merit awards.

Source

AmountAward amount variesEligibilityNeed-based; awarded based on level of unmet need demonstrated on the FAFSA

Source

AmountAward amount variesEligibilitySpecific requirements vary; submit an SAU supplemental aid application upon receiving an email from Student Financial Services

Application deadline is Feb. 15 each year.

Source

Amount$500 per yearEligibilityAt least one parent or guardian is a Free Methodist pastor

Contact your admissions rep for details.

Source

AmountUp to $2,000EligibilityFree Methodist students whose home church provides a scholarship; SAU matches dollar for dollar

Dollars are matched each year based on how much is received from the home church.

Source

AmountUp to $1,500EligibilitySAU students with designated Christian Camp gifts from participating camps (Michindoh, Somerset Beach, Spring Hill, Covenant Hills, Camp Barakel, Michawana)

Header says 'Up to $1,500' but body text says SAU 'will match designated Christian Camp gifts for SAU students up to but not exceeding $750' — internal inconsistency on the page; confirm the cap with the aid office.

Source

Spring Arbor merit aid FAQ

  • What are the application deadlines that affect scholarships?

    The Early Admissions Deadline is December 1 — only students who apply by then can be invited to Scholarship Day to compete for additional scholarships. The Priority Admissions Deadline is February 1, the Intercultural Leadership Scholarship and endowed/donor scholarship applications are due February 15, and the priority FAFSA filing deadline is May 1.

  • Are Spring Arbor's merit scholarships automatic?

    The academic merit grid is calculated directly from GPA: 'To calculate academic merit scholarships for an incoming campus undergraduate student, use the GPA table below. The GPA is calculated on a weighted scale.' No separate scholarship application is mentioned for the grid. Named awards (honors, intercultural leadership, SSI Cobb, art/music, Scholarship Day awards) require separate applications, auditions, or competitions.

  • How much is the top freshman merit award?

    Per the published 2025-2026 grid, a 4.00+ weighted GPA earns $17,500 per academic year; the minimum grid award is $10,000 per academic year for students admitted with up to a 3.34 GPA. (The grid is labeled 2025-2026; confirm 2026-2027 amounts.)

  • Do outside scholarships reduce my SAU aid?

    They can. SAU counts outside scholarship funds as financial assistance, and 'if outside scholarship exceeds financial need and/or cost of attendance, adjustments will be made to the student's aid package.' If an over-award occurs after disbursement, you may have to repay some aid.

  • Is there extra money for honors students?

    Yes — students admitted into the E.P. Hart Honors Program 'will receive an extra $1,000 on top of your merit scholarship.' Eligibility is a 3.6 high school GPA or 26 ACT (or SAT equivalent) plus acceptance into the program, and renewal requires maintaining at least a 3.6 GPA and annual participation standards.

  • What does Spring Arbor cost for 2026-27?

    The published 2026-27 full-time campus undergraduate costs are $36,200 tuition, $714 fees, $5,728 room (housing), and $6,318 board (food) — total expenses of $48,960 per year. The site reports the previous year's average financial aid package was $29,900.

See sources and other schools

How Spring Arbor compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Spring Arbor is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Spring Arbor is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Spring Arbor’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Spring Arbor merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Spring Arbor fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook