Skip to content
← Back to Spring Hill College's chapter

MeritPlaybook / Take-home research

Spring Hill College
Decision sheet

Alabama · Research checked 2026-07-02 · School research, not an aid offer

The starting point

Every admitted Spring Hill student is automatically considered for an academic merit scholarship of $4,000-$11,500/year (no separate application), with a flat $8,000 Magis award for Jesuit-high-school graduates that replaces rather than stacks on the standard merit grant.

More than one award path. Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

Awards to discuss

First 3 of 9 recorded awards, in chapter display order. This is a selection, not a ranking. Read the full chapter for all awards. Amounts retain the original units and conditions; confirm the entering year with the school.

Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic)

$4,000-$11,500 per year · Published range

Recorded as automatic on academic criteria; all conditions apply.

GPA: Based on the student's high school record; no published numeric GPA/test cutoff grid

Eligibility: All admitted students are automatically considered; no separate scholarship application required

Renewal: Described as merit scholarships students are awarded on admission; specific renewal GPA is not stated on the scholarships page (a third-party secondary source cites a renewal GPA, but it is NOT confirmed on an official SHC page — see Section C).

Other terms: Determined from the high school record, not a published stat grid. Merit award is automatic on admission. A student cannot also take the Magis award on top of this — Magis replaces the standard merit scholarship (see Magis entry).

https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/

Magis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates)

$8,000 per year for up to four years · Variable or qualified amount

Not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules.

Eligibility: Incoming first-year students who are graduates of a Jesuit High School

Renewal: Stated as 'for up to four years of full time study.' Specific renewal GPA not stated.

Other terms: Does NOT stack: this award replaces the standard academic merit scholarship rather than adding to it. If a Jesuit-high-school student qualifies for a merit scholarship worth more than $8,000, they receive the higher scholarship instead.

https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/

Ask before you decide

  1. Which entering-year policy and residency category apply to us? What are the admission and scholarship deadlines?
  2. What grades and credits are required to renew, and for how many terms?
  3. How would other school awards or outside scholarships change the offer?

Recorded stacking policy: Spring Hill publishes no general institutional stacking or outside-scholarship displacement policy on its scholarships page. The one explicit stacking rule found is for the Magis Scholar Award, which REPLACES (does not add to) any other merit scholarship — a Jesuit-high-school graduate gets either the $8,000 Magis award or a higher merit award, never both. How third-party outside scholarships affect institutional aid is not stated.

Our unanswered questions / Family notes

Keep the sources with the decision

Full research, award details and source context: https://meritplaybook.com/colleges/spring-hill-college/merit-aid

The research date is not a guarantee that a policy still applies. Confirm current amounts, deadlines and conditions with the school before making a financial decision.