Skip to content

Spring Hill College scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$40,948per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Spring Hill College awards automatic merit on admission. Spring Hill College does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic)$4,000-$11,500 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic)

    $4,000-$11,500 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Based on the student's high school record; no published numeric GPA/test cutoff grid
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic)

    Who qualifies

    All admitted students are automatically considered; no separate scholarship application required

    How to keep it

    Described as merit scholarships students are awarded on admission; specific renewal GPA is not stated on the scholarships page (a third-party secondary source cites a renewal GPA, but it is NOT confirmed on an official SHC page — see Section C).

    Worth knowing

    Determined from the high school record, not a published stat grid. Merit award is automatic on admission. A student cannot also take the Magis award on top of this — Magis replaces the standard merit scholarship (see Magis entry).

  2. Magis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates)$8,000 per year for up to four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Magis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates)

    $8,000 per year for up to four years

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Magis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates)

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-year students who are graduates of a Jesuit High School

    How to keep it

    Stated as 'for up to four years of full time study.' Specific renewal GPA not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Does NOT stack: this award replaces the standard academic merit scholarship rather than adding to it. If a Jesuit-high-school student qualifies for a merit scholarship worth more than $8,000, they receive the higher scholarship instead.

  3. Legacy Award$1,000 annually for four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Legacy Award

    $1,000 annually for four years

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Legacy Award

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-year students whose parent or grandparent graduated from Spring Hill College

    How to keep it

    Stated as '$1,000 annually for four year[s].'

    Worth knowing

    Legacy award for children/grandchildren of SHC alumni.

  4. Opportunity Grant$1,000 annually for four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Opportunity Grant

    $1,000 annually for four years

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Opportunity Grant

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-year, full-time students who submit a complete FAFSA to enroll in Fall 2026

    How to keep it

    Stated as '$1,000 annually for four years.'

    Worth knowing

    Requires a complete FAFSA. Priority deadline April 1st. (Labeled a 'grant' by SHC but is awarded to all FAFSA-filing first-year enrollees, not need-tested on the page.)

  5. Visit Grant$500 per year (up to $2,000 over four years)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Visit Grant

    $500 per year (up to $2,000 over four years)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Visit Grant

    Who qualifies

    Incoming students who come on an official Spring Hill College campus visit

    How to keep it

    Stated as '$500 annual visit grant ... up to $2,000 over four years.'

    Worth knowing

    Earned by attending an official campus visit; added to the financial aid package.

  6. Transfer Academic Scholarship (tuition-only)$6,000-$10,000 annuallyNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Transfer Academic Scholarship (tuition-only)

    $6,000-$10,000 annually

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Academic Scholarship (tuition-only)

    Who qualifies

    All transfer students admitted to Spring Hill College; awarded by holistic review; automatic (no separate application)

    How to keep it

    Renewal GPA not stated on the scholarships page.

    Worth knowing

    Tuition-only scholarship for transfer students; automatically considered on admission.

  7. DeWine Family ScholarshipVaries (amount not published)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    DeWine Family Scholarship

    Varies (amount not published)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Minimum unweighted high school GPA 3.0
    SAT
    1030
    ACT
    20
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for DeWine Family Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    NEED-BASED. Must be Pell eligible; for students who would not otherwise have the financial means to attend. Priority to students from Ohio, students within a 50-mile radius of campus, and students who were part of the foster care system. Separate application; deadline March 15.

    How to keep it

    Renewable provided the recipient maintains a minimum 2.5 GPA in all college coursework.

    Worth knowing

    Need-based award (not pure merit), but carries explicit academic-stat floors. Dollar amount is not published on the page. Separate application required by March 15.

  8. Foley Center Service Scholarship$1,500 per year (divided in half, applied each semester as a tuition stipend)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Foley Center Service Scholarship

    $1,500 per year (divided in half, applied each semester as a tuition stipend)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Foley Center Service Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded through the Foley Community Service Center; recipients perform community service (tutoring, health programs, teaching English to immigrants, etc.). Separate application; priority deadline April 1st.

    How to keep it

    Not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Service scholarship: $1,500 split across two semesters as a tuition stipend. Application deadline April 1st.

  9. Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship (transfer)$1,000 scholarship for up to three yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship (transfer)

    $1,000 scholarship for up to three years

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship (transfer)

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students who are inducted members of Phi Theta Kappa

    How to keep it

    Stated as 'for up to three years.'

    Worth knowing

    For transfer students with Phi Theta Kappa membership.

Lights up against Spring Hill College's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Spring Hill College award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Spring Hill College

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleMagis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Stated as 'for up to four years of full time study.' Specific renewal GPA not stated. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Spring Hill College's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Spring Hill College different

Every admitted Spring Hill student is automatically considered for an academic merit scholarship of $4,000-$11,500/year (no separate application), with a flat $8,000 Magis award for Jesuit-high-school graduates that replaces rather than stacks on the standard merit grant.

Merit tiers91 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Spring Hill College's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Magis replaces the standard merit scholarship; it does not stack. If your regular merit award would be worth more than $8,000, you keep the higher award instead — so Magis only helps if your standard merit offer is below $8,000.

  2. The 2026-2027 $40,948 figure is tuition ($26,482) + comprehensive fee ($550) + a freshman double room ($7,354) + the required unlimited meal plan ($6,562). It does not include books, transportation, or personal expenses, and a different room or meal plan changes the total.

  3. It is need-based: you must be Pell-eligible and 'would not otherwise have the financial means to attend,' meet a 3.0 GPA / 20 ACT / 1030 SAT floor, apply separately by March 15, and maintain a 2.5 college GPA to renew.

  4. The $1,000/year Opportunity Grant is awarded only to first-year enrollees who submit a complete FAFSA, with an April 1 priority deadline — no FAFSA, no grant.

  5. Spring Hill awards academic merit automatically on admission, based on the high school record, in a published range of $4,000 to $11,500 a year. It does not publish a numeric GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the exact dollars before the offer.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students who want a no-application, automatic merit scholarship at a small Jesuit/Catholic liberal-arts college in Mobile, Alabama; graduates of Jesuit high schools, SHC legacies, transfers, and service-minded or Pell-eligible applicants who can layer on named/stipend awards.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $40,948 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Spring Hill College, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Spring Hill College, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$15,598
$30,001–$48,000$20,141
$48,001–$75,000$22,317
$75,001–$110,000$20,642
$110,001+$26,240
All income levels (average)$20,449

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$24,054
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$20,449

That works out to roughly a 49% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $39,936 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
52%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
70%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$51,500
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
34%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
40%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Spring Hill publishes no general institutional stacking or outside-scholarship displacement policy on its scholarships page. The one explicit stacking rule found is for the Magis Scholar Award, which REPLACES (does not add to) any other merit scholarship — a Jesuit-high-school graduate gets either the $8,000 Magis award or a higher merit award, never both. How third-party outside scholarships affect institutional aid is not stated.

Magis explicitly does not stack on the standard merit scholarship. No published rule was found describing how external/outside scholarships displace institutional aid, or whether the Legacy/Opportunity/Visit grants and named awards combine with the base merit scholarship.

Source

Other Spring Hill College scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVaries (not published)EligibilityNeed-based; Pell-eligible; min 3.0 unweighted HS GPA and 20 ACT / 1030 SAT; priority to Ohio residents, students within 50 miles of campus, and former foster-care students.

Separate application by March 15; renews at a 2.5 college GPA.

Source

Amount$1,500/year (tuition stipend, split by semester)EligibilityStudents who perform community service through the Foley Community Service Center.

Priority deadline April 1st.

Source

Amount$1,000 for up to three yearsEligibilityTransfer students who are inducted Phi Theta Kappa members.

Transfer-only.

Source

AmountUp to $4,000 per yearEligibilityEducation-degree students who intend to teach in a school serving low-income families.

Federal grant with a teaching-service obligation that converts to a loan if not met (federal program, not SHC merit aid).

Source

Spring Hill College merit aid FAQ

  • Do I have to apply separately for Spring Hill's merit scholarship?

    No. All admitted students are automatically considered for an academic merit scholarship of $4,000-$11,500/year — 'No separate scholarship application is required.' Some named awards (DeWine, Foley) and the FAFSA-based Opportunity Grant do require separate steps.

  • Can I combine the Magis award with my regular merit scholarship?

    No. The $8,000 Magis Scholar Award (for Jesuit-high-school graduates) replaces the standard merit scholarship rather than adding to it; if you qualify for a merit award above $8,000, you get the higher one instead.

  • What deadlines should I watch?

    DeWine Family Scholarship: March 15. Opportunity Grant and Foley Center Service Scholarship: April 1st priority deadline. The base academic merit scholarship has no separate application.

  • Does the merit scholarship renew, and what GPA do I need?

    The awards are described as multi-year (e.g., 'for up to four years'), but Spring Hill's scholarships page does not publish a renewal GPA for the standard academic merit scholarship. The DeWine award explicitly renews at a 2.5 college GPA. Confirm the standard-merit renewal GPA with the financial aid office.

See sources and other schools

How Spring Hill College compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Spring Hill College is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Spring Hill College is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Spring Hill College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Spring Hill College’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Spring Hill College merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Spring Hill College fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook