Skip to content

SUNY Oneonta scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$29,199per year · 2025-2026 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

SUNY Oneonta awards automatic merit on admission. SUNY Oneonta does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
3 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check SUNY Oneonta free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at SUNY Oneonta

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. President's Scholarship$5,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $20,000)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    President's Scholarship

    $5,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $20,000)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published; awarded to 'highest achieving applicants who have shown exceptional academic ability in high school'
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for President's Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    New York residents; new first-time first-year students; selected by the university from the admission application — no separate scholarship application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for 4 years (8 semesters) provided recipients meet continuing eligibility requirements. The scholarship policy states institutional GPA is reviewed at the completion of every term; no specific renewal GPA number is published.

    Worth knowing

    Awarded automatically using the admission application and FAFSA — there is no separate application. The page gives no GPA, SAT, or ACT cutoff, so the threshold is not knowable from official sources. Priority is given to students who apply for admission by January 15.

  2. Dean's Scholarship$3,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $12,000)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Dean's Scholarship

    $3,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $12,000)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published; awarded to students 'who have shown outstanding academic ability in high school'
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Dean's Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    New York residents; new, first-time students; no separate scholarship application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for 4 years (8 semesters) provided recipients meet continuing eligibility requirements. No specific renewal GPA number is published.

    Worth knowing

    Automatic; no separate application. No GPA or test-score cutoff is published. January 15 admission priority deadline.

  3. Provost's Scholarship$2,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $8,000)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Provost's Scholarship

    $2,000 per year (maximum 4-year value $8,000)

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published; awarded to students 'who have shown outstanding academic ability in high school'
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Provost's Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    New York residents; new, first-time students; no separate scholarship application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for 4 years (8 semesters) provided recipients meet continuing eligibility requirements. No specific renewal GPA number is published.

    Worth knowing

    Automatic; no separate application. No GPA or test-score cutoff is published. January 15 admission priority deadline.

  4. Transfer Excellence Scholarship$1,500 per year (renewable up to three years)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Excellence Scholarship

    $1,500 per year (renewable up to three years)

    Variable or qualified amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published; for 'highest-achieving transfer students'
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Excellence Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students with 24 or more transferable credits; no separate scholarship application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years of undergraduate study.

    Worth knowing

    Automatic transfer merit award; awarded from the admission application. No published GPA cutoff. The renewal cap is three years (not four) because it is a transfer award.

  5. Transfer Success Scholarship$500 to $1,000 per year (renewable up to three years)AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Success Scholarship

    $500 to $1,000 per year (renewable up to three years)

    Variable or qualified amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Not published; for transfer students 'who have demonstrated outstanding academic ability'
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Success Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Transfer students with 24 or more transferable credits; no separate scholarship application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years of undergraduate study.

    Worth knowing

    Automatic transfer merit award. Amount range $500-$1,000; the page does not say what determines where in the range a student lands. No published GPA cutoff.

Lights up against SUNY Oneonta's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

SUNY Oneonta's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes SUNY Oneonta different

SUNY Oneonta awards a small, automatic, no-extra-application merit grid to New York residents — President's $5,000/yr, Dean's $3,000/yr, Provost's $2,000/yr — all renewable for up to four years; there is no published GPA or test-score cutoff and no full-tuition merit award.

Merit tiers55 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Published academic criteria

Start with the thresholds.

These awards are recorded as automatic on academic criteria. Match the published grades and scores, then check residency, entering year and every additional condition.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take SUNY Oneonta's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Institutional merit is small and capped: the top award (President's) is $5,000/year, $20,000 over four years. There is no full-tuition or full-COA merit award. The school's value comes from a low SUNY sticker price (full COA ~$29,199 for 2025-26), not from large merit.

  2. The President's, Dean's, and Provost's Scholarships are all explicitly for New York residents. Out-of-state applicants are not eligible for the named institutional merit grid as published.

  3. The scholarships page describes awards as going to 'highest achieving' / 'outstanding academic ability' applicants but publishes no GPA, SAT, or ACT threshold. You cannot self-qualify from the website — selection is made by the university from your admission application.

  4. 'There is no separate application process for most SUNY Oneonta and SUNY Oneonta Foundation scholarships.' Awards use your admission application and FAFSA. But applying for admission after the January 15 priority date can cost you consideration.

  5. You must report additional awards not on your award letter; the school may then adjust your award notice. Failing to report can create an over-award problem later. The exact order of reduction (loan vs grant) is not published — ask the aid office.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

New York State residents who want a low total cost (full COA ~$29,199) plus a modest automatic merit award with no separate application. Out-of-state students and those expecting a large or full-ride merit scholarship will not find one here — institutional merit is small and tied to NY residency.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $29,199 for 2025-2026. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at SUNY Oneonta, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at SUNY Oneonta, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$11,044
$30,001–$48,000$14,427
$48,001–$75,000$19,189
$75,001–$110,000$20,552
$110,001+$25,382
All income levels (average)$19,158

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$8,831
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$19,781
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$19,158

That works out to roughly a 34% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $28,821 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

SUNY Oneonta is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
69%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
76%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$19,812 (~$210/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$60,386
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
40%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
64%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

SUNY Oneonta requires students to report any outside/additional scholarships not on the award letter, and the school 'may be required to adjust the awards' on the award notice. No published rule states the order of displacement (loan-first vs grant-first) or how an outside award interacts specifically with the institutional merit scholarships, so the displacement behavior is unclear from official pages.

The Financial Aid Award Disclosures and Procedures page states students must report additional awards and that the school may adjust the award notice. The standalone Scholarship Policy page is silent on outside scholarships, stacking, over-awards, and order of reduction. Whether the institutional merit grid itself is ever reduced (versus only need-based/federal aid) is not stated.

Source

Other SUNY Oneonta scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$600 awardEligibilitySUNY Oneonta Foundation / named endowed scholarship; eligibility not detailed on the scholarships page.

Listed among named/foundation scholarships; no separate application for most foundation awards. Specific criteria not published on this page.

Source

SUNY Oneonta merit aid FAQ

  • Do I have to apply separately for SUNY Oneonta merit scholarships?

    No. There is no separate application process for most SUNY Oneonta and SUNY Oneonta Foundation scholarships; they are awarded by the university from your admission application and FAFSA. Priority is given to students who apply for admission by January 15.

  • What GPA or test score do I need for the President's, Dean's, or Provost's Scholarship?

    The official scholarships page does not publish a GPA, SAT, or ACT cutoff. It only says awards go to the 'highest achieving' or 'outstanding academic ability' applicants who are New York residents. The threshold is set by the university and is not stated publicly — contact the aid office if you need to know where you stand.

  • Are these scholarships renewable?

    Yes. The President's, Dean's, and Provost's Scholarships are 'renewable for 4 years (8 semesters) provided recipients meet continuing eligibility requirements.' The scholarship policy says institutional GPA is reviewed at the end of every term, but no specific renewal GPA number is published. Transfer scholarships renew for up to three years.

  • Do outside scholarships reduce my SUNY Oneonta aid?

    You must report any additional awards not on your award letter, and the school 'may be required to adjust the awards' on your award notice. The published policy does not say whether an outside award reduces loans first, need-based grants, or the merit scholarship itself, so confirm the order of reduction with the Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships.

See sources and other schools

How SUNY Oneonta compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    SUNY Oneonta is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    SUNY Oneonta is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    SUNY Oneonta is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against SUNY Oneonta’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring SUNY Oneonta merit aid

The next chapter

Where does SUNY Oneonta fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook