Skip to content

Texas Lutheran scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$53,150per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Texas Lutheran is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 10 published awards, and 7 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Regents' Scholarship$28,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Regents' Scholarship

    $28,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Recalculated GPA 4.60 and above
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Regents' Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically on admission as a full-time first-year student; no separate application — the admission application also serves as the scholarship application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU.

    Worth knowing

    Top tier of the automatic 2026-2027 first-year academic scholarship grid (six tiers, $18,000-$28,000/yr keyed to recalculated GPA).

  2. Presidential Scholarship$26,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Presidential Scholarship

    $26,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Recalculated GPA 4.10 - 4.59
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Presidential Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Automatic on admission as a full-time first-year student; no separate application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU.

    Worth knowing

    Second tier of the automatic 2026-2027 first-year academic scholarship grid.

  3. Distinction Scholarship$24,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Distinction Scholarship

    $24,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Recalculated GPA 3.70 - 4.09
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Distinction Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Automatic on admission as a full-time first-year student; no separate application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU.

    Worth knowing

    Third tier of the automatic 2026-2027 first-year academic scholarship grid.

  4. Academic Excellence Scholarship$22,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Academic Excellence Scholarship

    $22,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Recalculated GPA 3.30 - 3.69
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Academic Excellence Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Automatic on admission as a full-time first-year student; no separate application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU.

    Worth knowing

    Fourth tier of the automatic 2026-2027 first-year academic scholarship grid.

  5. Heritage Scholarship$20,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Heritage Scholarship

    $20,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Recalculated GPA 2.80 - 3.29
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Heritage Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Automatic on admission as a full-time first-year student; no separate application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU.

    Worth knowing

    Fifth tier of the automatic 2026-2027 first-year academic scholarship grid.

  6. Commendation Scholarship$18,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Commendation Scholarship

    $18,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Recalculated GPA 2.79 and below
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Commendation Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Automatic on admission as a full-time first-year student; no separate application

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU.

    Worth knowing

    Floor (lowest) tier of the automatic 2026-2027 first-year academic scholarship grid — even applicants below a 2.79 recalculated GPA receive $18,000/yr.

  7. SAT/ACT Award$1,000-$3,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    SAT/ACT Award

    $1,000-$3,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    SAT
    1100+ (=$1,000), 1300+ (=$2,000), 1400+ (=$3,000)
    ACT
    22+ (=$1,000), 28+ (=$2,000), 31+ (=$3,000)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for SAT/ACT Award

    Who qualifies

    Test scores must be received by June 1 to be eligible. Awarded on top of (in addition to) the academic scholarship.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms for the SAT/ACT award are not stated on the page (page does not specify whether it renews annually like the academic scholarship).

    Worth knowing

    Test-optional topper: stacks on top of the academic scholarship. Amount is keyed to the highest tier reached: 1400 SAT/31 ACT or above = $3,000; 1300 SAT/28 ACT or above = $2,000; 1100 SAT/22 ACT or above = $1,000.

  8. Jones Fine Arts Audition Award (Music)Up to $7,500 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Jones Fine Arts Audition Award (Music)

    Up to $7,500 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Jones Fine Arts Audition Award (Music)

    Who qualifies

    Audition required (the audition registration form serves as the scholarship application). For students pursuing a degree in music, music education, or dramatic media. A limited number of top awards require an audition by March 1, 2026.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to an additional three years; recipients must list music or music education as their major, maintain a 2.0 CGPA, and meet all participation/ensemble requirements.

    Worth knowing

    In addition to the student's TLU academic scholarship. Amount varies and is determined by department faculty. The School of Music page also lists a Karin M. Oliver, RN Choral Scholarship of up to $5,000/yr (see lesserKnownScholarships).

  9. Jones Audition Scholarship (Dramatic Media)Up to $7,500 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Jones Audition Scholarship (Dramatic Media)

    Up to $7,500 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Jones Audition Scholarship (Dramatic Media)

    Who qualifies

    Audition and interview required; application and reference form required. For students pursuing a baccalaureate degree in dramatic media.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to an additional three years; reviewed each semester by the dramatic media department chair with the director of financial aid, contingent on maintaining a 2.0 cumulative GPA and acceptable ensemble participation. No guarantees of renewal.

    Worth knowing

    In addition to any academic scholarships received upon admission to TLU. Amount is determined by department faculty.

  10. Performance Award (Music or Dramatic Media non-majors)Up to $3,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Performance Award (Music or Dramatic Media non-majors)

    Up to $3,000 per year

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Performance Award (Music or Dramatic Media non-majors)

    Who qualifies

    Audition (music) or audition and interview (dramatic media) required. For students majoring in a field OTHER than music, music education, or dramatic media.

    How to keep it

    Reviewed annually by the director/instructor; renewal and amount depend on level and quality of participation. There are no guarantees of renewal; awards are rescinded if participation is discontinued or unsatisfactory. (Dramatic-media version states renewable for up to an additional three years.)

    Worth knowing

    Can be combined with the TLU academic scholarship. Lets non-arts majors earn an arts award for performing in ensembles.

Lights up against Texas Lutheran's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Texas Lutheran award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Texas Lutheran

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleRegents' Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Renewable for up to three years (a total of four years) based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Outside awardsNo published displacement order

Texas Lutheran's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

What makes Texas Lutheran different

Every admitted Fall 2026 freshman automatically gets a renewable academic scholarship of $18,000-$28,000/year set by a published recalculated-GPA grid, with a separate $1,000-$3,000 SAT/ACT award and up to $7,500/year performing-arts scholarships stacking on top.

Merit tiers107 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Texas Lutheran's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The $1,000-$3,000 SAT/ACT award stacks on top of your academic scholarship, but the page states 'Test scores must be received by June 1 to be eligible for a SAT/ACT award.' Miss that date and you forfeit up to $3,000/yr (up to $12,000 over four years).

  2. The grid uses TLU's 'Recalculated GPA,' not your high-school weighted or unweighted number. The recalculation can move you to a different tier than your transcript GPA suggests; ask Admissions how your GPA recalculates before assuming a tier.

  3. For 2026-2027, on-campus Direct Costs are $53,150 (tuition $38,750 + fees $840 + room $7,340 + meals $6,220), but the full Direct & Indirect Cost of Attendance is $57,800 once estimated books ($1,000), personal/misc ($2,550), and transportation ($1,100) are added.

  4. The academic scholarship is automatic on admission, but the Jones awards (up to $7,500/yr) require an audition; the page notes a limited number of top music awards require an audition by March 1, 2026, and amounts are set by department faculty with no guarantee of renewal.

  5. Academic scholarships renew only with a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU plus continued full-time enrollment; arts awards add ensemble-participation requirements and their own review. A bad first year can cost the full renewable value.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students who want a guaranteed, automatic, GPA-based merit scholarship at a small private ELCA-affiliated Texas university (Hispanic-Serving Institution) — especially test-takers (1100+ SAT / 22+ ACT) and performing-arts students who can stack additional awards on top of a generous academic floor with a low 2.0 renewal GPA.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $53,150 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Texas Lutheran, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Texas Lutheran, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$20,512
$30,001–$48,000$22,843
$48,001–$75,000$24,243
$75,001–$110,000$24,555
$110,001+$28,596
All income levels (average)$24,654

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$36,230
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$24,654

That works out to roughly a 51% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $50,002 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
54%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
62%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$25,000 (~$265/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$53,863
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
45%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
67%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

The school does not publish a specific outside-scholarship displacement policy; confirm treatment with the aid office before counting on stacking.

Verified policy language (2026-07-02): I received a scholarship from an outside entity. How do I report it to TLU? You should send a copy of the letter or email you received notifying you of your scholarship to the Student Financial Services. Separately, the school's own award-stacking rules: TLU's institutional awards explicitly stack on top of each other: the academic scholarship is the base, and the SAT/ACT award, music/dramatic-media awards, and Lutheran/Alumni awards are all stated to be 'in addition to' or 'combined with' the academic scholarship. The SAT/ACT award is 'in addition to your Academic Scholarship'; School of Music scholarships are 'in addition to the student's TLU academic scholarship'; Performance Awards 'can be combined with your TLU academic scholarship'; and the Lutheran Advantage Scholarship 'will be combined with the student's academic scholarships and performance award if applicable.' This describes internal stacking only. (per https://www.tlu.edu/admissions-aid/firstyear-applications/scholarships)

Source

Other Texas Lutheran scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountUp to $5,000/yrEligibilityFirst-year students; awarded through the music audition (a new TLU choral scholarship). Audition required.

In addition to the TLU academic scholarship. Listed on the Music Scholarships page.

Source

Amount$1,000EligibilityLutheran students who list church affiliation on their application for admission; freshmen and transfer students eligible.

Combined with the student's academic scholarships and performance award if applicable; renewable for up to an additional four years provided the student maintains a 2.0 GPA.

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityFull-time students who are dependents of a TLU alumnus; parent must have completed at least 24 credit hours at TLU.

Renewal/deadline terms not specified on the page.

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityFull-time students who are dependent children of Lutheran clergy.

Renewal/deadline terms not specified on the page.

Source

Amount$9,000-$17,000/yrEligibilityTransfer students; amount based on cumulative GPA from all institutions attended (>=3.25 = $17,000; 3.0-3.24 = $16,000; 2.7-2.99 = $15,000; 2.5-2.69 = $14,000; below 2.5 = $9,000).

Renewable for six semesters; renewal based on continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.00 earned at TLU. (Transfer, not first-year — included for completeness.)

Source

Texas Lutheran merit aid FAQ

  • Do I have to apply separately for the TLU academic scholarship?

    No. Your application for admission (through the TLU Application, Common Application, or ApplyTexas) also serves as your scholarship application. Every admitted full-time freshman is automatically awarded $18,000-$28,000/year based on recalculated GPA.

  • Is there a deadline that affects my scholarship money?

    Yes for the test-score topper: SAT/ACT scores must be received by June 1 to qualify for the $1,000-$3,000 SAT/ACT award. Music's limited top awards require an audition by March 1, 2026.

  • Can I combine multiple TLU scholarships?

    Yes for institutional awards. The SAT/ACT award is 'in addition to your Academic Scholarship,' music and dramatic-media scholarships are 'in addition to' the academic scholarship, Performance Awards 'can be combined with' it, and the Lutheran Advantage Scholarship is 'combined with the student's academic scholarships and performance award if applicable.'

  • What GPA do I need to keep my scholarship?

    Academic scholarships are renewable for up to three years (four total) with continued full-time enrollment and a cumulative GPA of 2.0 earned at TLU. Arts awards require the same 2.0 GPA plus ensemble participation.

See sources and other schools

How Texas Lutheran compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Texas Lutheran is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Texas Lutheran is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Texas Lutheran is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Texas Lutheran’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Wiley merit aid. Texas private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • SMU merit aid. Texas private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • TCU merit aid. Texas private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Baylor merit aid. Texas private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Texas Lutheran merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Texas Lutheran fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook