Troy award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Troy?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
6 of 6 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 6 of 6
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 6
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Troy's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- The Scholars PLUS Award: See notes
- The Scholars Award: See notes
- The Chancellor's Scholarship: See notes
- The Trojan Leadership Scholarship: See notes
- Sunshine Scholars Award (Florida/Georgia): 2.7 GPA
- Cardinal and Black Award (Early College Dual Enrollment): 2.7 GPA
Renewal terms by tier
The Scholars PLUS Award
Tuition, full housing, and meal planEntry requirements: 3.7 GPA GPA · 1450-1600 RSAT SAT · 33-36 ACT ACT
To keep it: Covers up to 16 hours per semester; specific renewal GPA not stated on this page.
Source: https://www.troy.edu/scholarships-costs-aid/scholarships/index.html
The Scholars Award
Tuition and basic housingEntry requirements: 3.7 GPA GPA · 1360-1440 RSAT SAT · 30-32 ACT ACT
To keep it: Covers up to 16 hours per semester; specific renewal GPA not stated on this page.
Source: https://www.troy.edu/scholarships-costs-aid/scholarships/index.html
The Chancellor's Scholarship
$6,000-$10,000Entry requirements: 3.5 GPA GPA · 1230-1350 RSAT SAT · 26-29 ACT ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on this page.
Source: https://www.troy.edu/scholarships-costs-aid/scholarships/index.html
The Trojan Leadership Scholarship
$2,000-$4,000Entry requirements: 3.0 GPA GPA · 1030-1220 RSAT SAT · 20-25 ACT ACT
To keep it: Renewal terms not stated on this page.
Source: https://www.troy.edu/scholarships-costs-aid/scholarships/index.html
Sunshine Scholars Award (Florida/Georgia)
$1,000-$2,000Entry requirements: 3.0 GPA / 4.0 scale GPA · 1030 RSAT SAT · at least 20 ACT ACT
To keep it: Renewable for 4 years with a 2.7 GPA.
Source: https://www.troy.edu/scholarships-costs-aid/scholarships/index.html
Cardinal and Black Award (Early College Dual Enrollment)
$1,000-$2,000Entry requirements: 3.0 GPA / 4.0 scale GPA
To keep it: Renewable for 3 years with a 2.7 GPA.
Source: https://www.troy.edu/scholarships-costs-aid/scholarships/index.html
How families lose this aid
- Reading 'Scholars PLUS' as a full ride
Scholars PLUS covers tuition, full housing, and a meal plan (up to 16 hours/semester) — books (~$1,000), transportation, fees, and miscellaneous are still on the student, so it is not full cost of attendance.
- Exceeding the 16-hour cap and expecting full coverage
Scholars PLUS and Scholars cover up to 16 credit hours per semester; hours beyond that are not covered.
- Letting renewal GPA slip on the geographic/dual-enrollment awards
Sunshine Scholars (4 years) and Cardinal and Black (3 years) renew only with a 2.7 GPA; the TROY Legacy and Alabama Girls/Boys State awards are one-time and non-renewable.
Renewal questions families ask
- What earns the largest award?
- The Scholars PLUS Award (33-36 ACT/1450-1600 RSAT and 3.7 GPA) covers tuition, full housing, and a meal plan for up to 16 hours per semester.
- What is the Chancellor's Scholarship worth?
- $6,000–$10,000 annually, for students with 26-29 ACT/1230-1350 RSAT and a 3.5 GPA.
- Is there an award for Florida or Georgia students?
- Yes — the Sunshine Scholars Award ($1,000–$2,000, renewable 4 years with a 2.7 GPA) for FL/GA high school students with a 3.0 GPA and at least 20 ACT/1030 RSAT.
How Troy compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Troy is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Troy’s own published materials.
- Policy pageTroy stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceTroy cost-of-attendance worksheet
More on Troy merit aid
- Troy merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Troy scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Troy displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.