These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Where does your student land?
The Scholars PLUS AwardTuition, full housing, and meal planNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
The Scholars PLUS Award
Tuition, full housing, and meal plan
Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.7 GPA
SAT
1450-1600 RSAT
ACT
33-36 ACT
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for The Scholars PLUS Award
Who qualifies
Apply through the TROY Scholarship Portal
How to keep it
Covers up to 16 hours per semester; specific renewal GPA not stated on this page.
Worth knowing
Covers tuition, full housing, and meal plan (up to 16 hours/semester). Not a full cost-of-attendance ride (e.g., books, transportation, miscellaneous remain).
The Scholars AwardTuition and basic housingNot automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
The Scholars Award
Tuition and basic housing
Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.7 GPA
SAT
1360-1440 RSAT
ACT
30-32 ACT
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for The Scholars Award
Who qualifies
Apply through the TROY Scholarship Portal
How to keep it
Covers up to 16 hours per semester; specific renewal GPA not stated on this page.
Worth knowing
Covers tuition and basic housing (up to 16 hours/semester). Sorrell Scholars are selected from Scholars Award recipients.
The Chancellor's Scholarship$6,000-$10,000Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
The Chancellor's Scholarship
$6,000-$10,000
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.5 GPA
SAT
1230-1350 RSAT
ACT
26-29 ACT
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for The Chancellor's Scholarship
Who qualifies
Apply through the TROY Scholarship Portal
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on this page.
Worth knowing
Award amount varies $6,000–$10,000 annually.
The Trojan Leadership Scholarship$2,000-$4,000Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
The Trojan Leadership Scholarship
$2,000-$4,000
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.0 GPA
SAT
1030-1220 RSAT
ACT
20-25 ACT
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for The Trojan Leadership Scholarship
Who qualifies
Apply through the TROY Scholarship Portal
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on this page.
Worth knowing
Award amount varies $2,000–$4,000 annually.
Sunshine Scholars Award (Florida/Georgia)$1,000-$2,000Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Sunshine Scholars Award (Florida/Georgia)
$1,000-$2,000
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.0 GPA / 4.0 scale
SAT
1030 RSAT
ACT
at least 20 ACT
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Sunshine Scholars Award (Florida/Georgia)
Who qualifies
High school student from Florida or Georgia; apply through the TROY Scholarship Portal
How to keep it
Renewable for 4 years with a 2.7 GPA.
Worth knowing
Geographic award for FL/GA students.
Cardinal and Black Award (Early College Dual Enrollment)$1,000-$2,000Not automaticRenewable
Published awardOther selection criteria
Cardinal and Black Award (Early College Dual Enrollment)
$1,000-$2,000
Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.
GPA
3.0 GPA / 4.0 scale
RenewableCheck the conditions
Open award details for Cardinal and Black Award (Early College Dual Enrollment)
Who qualifies
Completed at least 12 hours of dual enrollment credit with TROY's Early College Dual Enrollment Program; main campus (Troy, AL) degree-seeking only
How to keep it
Renewable for 3 years with a 2.7 GPA.
Worth knowing
Beginning Fall 2025. Main-campus only.
Free Merit Check
Check the rules that could cut this.
The free Merit Check shows which Troy award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.
This page covers one school.
Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.
Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.
“it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa
The fine print
Outside awardsNo published displacement order
Troy's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.
What makes Troy different
Troy's top freshman awards (Scholars PLUS / Scholars) cover tuition plus housing for high-stat students, stepping down to fixed-dollar awards ($6,000–$10,000 Chancellor's, $2,000–$4,000 Leadership) — all applied for through the TROY Scholarship Portal.
Merit tiers6See who qualifies
First-year students with school awards14%First-year students, CDS 2023-2024
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
Selection beyond grades and scores
Start with the selection process.
These awards are not recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read each award's selection rules, application steps and dates. Meeting a minimum is not an award offer.
Read the selection rules
Look for the school's stated criteria and whether an additional application is needed.
Check the application dates
Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.
Know what happens next year
Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.
The fine print / Three questions to carry forward
Before you count on it.
Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.
Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.
Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.
A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.
See what could change an award+
Straight from the aid office
What Troy's aid office says
Per the Scholarship Office, Troy University, August 2026. How we verify
Retesting for scholarship reconsideration
Does a higher SAT score this fall get him reconsidered?
Students have plenty of time to retake tests, and an updated score could possibly change their scholarship.
“Yes, students have plenty of time to retake tests and have updated scoring possibly reflect a change in their scholarship.”
Effect of local scholarships on Troy award
If he wins a local scholarship, does it lower Troy's own award?
The writer does not believe local scholarships lower what a student receives from Troy, since local scholarships from a community or club tend to be cash value and should not alter the student's award.
“I do not believe it lower's what you would be receiving from Troy. Local scholarships from a student's community or club tend to be cash value and should not alter what a student is set to receive.”
GPA required to maintain Scholars Award
What GPA keeps the award in place?
If a student receives the Scholars Award based on the scores listed, they need to maintain a 3.3 GPA every academic year.
“If a student receives the Scholars Award based on the scores you listed, the student needs to maintain a 3.3 GPA every academic year.”
Recovery path after GPA drop
Is there a recovery path after one bad semester?
The only grace period is that if a student drops below the GPA threshold, they will be notified before summer term/semester registration so they can try to improve their GPA before the next academic year.
“The only grace period allowed is if a student drops below this threshold, they will be notified before summer term/semester registration to try to improve their GPA before the next academic year.”
What families often miss
Scholars PLUS covers tuition, full housing, and a meal plan (up to 16 hours/semester) — books (~$1,000), transportation, fees, and miscellaneous are still on the student, so it is not full cost of attendance.
Each freshman academic scholarship says 'APPLY THROUGH THE TROY SCHOLARSHIP PORTAL' — you must submit a scholarship application, not just be admitted.
Scholars PLUS and Scholars cover up to 16 credit hours per semester; hours beyond that are not covered.
Sunshine Scholars (4 years) and Cardinal and Black (3 years) renew only with a 2.7 GPA; the TROY Legacy and Alabama Girls/Boys State awards are one-time and non-renewable.
Troy Campus Foundation Scholarships are due March 1; other scholarship deadlines are listed inside the TROY Scholarship Portal — check each one.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
High-stat freshmen (33+ ACT, 3.7 GPA) chasing a tuition-plus-housing package, and solid 26-29 ACT students for the fixed-dollar Chancellor's award; Florida/Georgia students get a dedicated Sunshine Scholars award.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $27,910 for 2026-2027. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Troy, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Troy, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$12,656
$30,001–$48,000
$12,042
$48,001–$75,000
$14,321
$75,001–$110,000
$18,406
$110,001+
$22,139
All income levels (average)
$16,527
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$10,176
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$20,352
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$16,527
That works out to roughly a 29% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $23,165 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Troy is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
50%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
71%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$25,000 (~$265/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$42,062
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
46%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
83%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
Scholarships, unless otherwise specified, are for one academic year and applied for through the TROY Scholarship Portal. Transfer scholarships explicitly cannot be stacked with other TROY transfer scholarships; the freshman page does not state whether the freshman academic awards stack with one another. Outside/private scholarship displacement is not addressed.
Explicit anti-stacking applies to TROY Transfer Scholarships ('not eligible to stack this scholarship with other TROY Transfer Scholarships'). No combine/stack statement for the freshman academic awards; no outside-scholarship displacement language found.
Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Troy’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
14%of admitsget merit
Average award$9,962Covers ~36% of $27,910 cost of attendance
At Troy, roughly 1 in 7 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $9,962 — about 36% of total cost.
As filed in Troy's CDS Section H2A: of 1,446 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 202 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $9,962. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 523 of 6,977, averaging $8,442. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.
Receive institutional merit14%First-year students, Common Data Set 2023-2024
Average merit award$9,962Across recipients, Common Data Set 2023-2024
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
Amount$2,000 (in addition to The Scholars Award)EligibilityFive entering freshmen pursuing Accounting, Economics, or Global Business, selected from Scholars Award recipients
Additional endorsement from Sorrell College of Business; serve as student ambassadors
Amount$1,000 (one-time, non-renewable)Eligibility3.0 GPA + at least 20 ACT/1030 RSAT; parent/grandparent in the National Alumni Association and/or a local Alumni Chapter
Through the TROY Scholarship Portal. Troy Campus Foundation Scholarships are due March 1; other deadlines are listed in the portal.
What earns the largest award?
The Scholars PLUS Award (33-36 ACT/1450-1600 RSAT and 3.7 GPA) covers tuition, full housing, and a meal plan for up to 16 hours per semester.
What is the Chancellor's Scholarship worth?
$6,000–$10,000 annually, for students with 26-29 ACT/1230-1350 RSAT and a 3.5 GPA.
Is there an award for Florida or Georgia students?
Yes — the Sunshine Scholars Award ($1,000–$2,000, renewable 4 years with a 2.7 GPA) for FL/GA high school students with a 3.0 GPA and at least 20 ACT/1030 RSAT.
Can I stack Troy scholarships?
Transfer scholarships cannot be stacked with other TROY transfer scholarships. The page doesn't state whether the freshman academic awards combine — confirm with Student Financial Services.
See sources and other schools+
How Troy compares
133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.
Troy is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.
Troy is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Troy is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Troy’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.