Truett McConnell award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Truett McConnell?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
2 of 2 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 2 of 2
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 2
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Truett McConnell's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Freshman Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid): See notes
- Transfer Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Freshman Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)
$3,000-$9,000Entry requirements: Presidential Scholar $9,000 at 4.0+ unweighted HS GPA; Trustee Scholar $8,000 at 3.7; Vice Presidential Scholar $6,500 at 3.4; Dean Scholar $5,000 at 3.0; Bear Award $3,000 below 3.0 (all unweighted HS GPA minimums) GPA · Not used SAT · Not used ACT
To keep it: Renewal criteria not stated in the institutional financial aid document.
Source: https://truett.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/TMU-Institutional-FA-26-27-INC.pdf
Transfer Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)
$3,000-$6,500Entry requirements: Presidential Scholar $6,500 at 3.7+ college GPA; Trustee Scholar $5,000 at 3.4; Vice Presidential Scholar $4,000 at 3.0; Dean Scholar $3,500 at 2.5; Bear Award $3,000 below 2.5 GPA
To keep it: Renewal criteria not stated in the institutional financial aid document.
Source: https://truett.edu/wp-content/uploads/2026/01/TMU-Institutional-FA-26-27-INC.pdf
How families lose this aid
- Expecting to combine two academic-grid awards (e.g., Presidential + Dean).
The institutional aid document states students 'will receive one Academic Scholarship based on unweighted GPA' — the grid awards are mutually exclusive, though the smaller institutional scholarships do stack on top.
- Using a weighted GPA to predict the freshman tier.
All freshman criteria are stated as UNWEIGHTED high school GPA. A weighted 4.0 that is unweighted 3.6 earns the $6,500 Vice Presidential tier, not the $9,000 Presidential.
- Counting on the Dual Enrollment Scholarship with non-TMU dual-enrollment credit.
The $1,000 award requires at least 6 credit hours or 2 courses of dual enrollment 'through TMU' before graduation — credit earned at other colleges does not qualify.
- Forgetting the annual re-application for the Baptist Minister Dependent award.
That $1,000 scholarship requires a completed application with the parent/spouse's signature 'each year' — it does not auto-renew.
- Assuming music and athletic awards renew automatically.
Both are 'renewed annually' at the discretion of the Music Department or Athletic Department — they are year-to-year awards, not four-year commitments.
- Assuming the renewal rules for the GPA-grid scholarships are known.
The 2026-27 institutional aid document publishes awarding criteria but no renewal GPA — families should ask the aid office what college GPA keeps each award.
Renewal questions families ask
- What is the scholarship deadline?
- No scholarship deadline is published in the 2026-27 institutional aid document — academic scholarships are assigned from GPA at admission. The Scholarships & Aid page directs students to complete the FAFSA, acceptance, and aid steps; application-based awards (minister dependent, cross-cultural) require their own forms.
- How much merit aid will I get as a freshman?
- By unweighted high school GPA for 2026-27: 4.0+ = $9,000 (Presidential Scholar); 3.7 = $8,000 (Trustee); 3.4 = $6,500 (Vice Presidential); 3.0 = $5,000 (Dean); below 3.0 = $3,000 (Bear Award). Every full-time on-campus student receives exactly one of these.
- How much do transfer students get?
- By college GPA: 3.7+ = $6,500; 3.4 = $5,000; 3.0 = $4,000; 2.5 = $3,500; below 2.5 = $3,000. Transfer status means 30+ earned college hours after high school graduation.
- What does TMU cost for 2026-27?
- Full-time tuition is $13,896 per semester plus a $1,058 student fee — $29,908/year in tuition and mandatory fees. With semi-private traditional housing and the unlimited (Golden Bear) meal plan, a freshman's annual tuition, fees, and room and board total $40,932 ($40,436 for upperclassmen in apartment housing with the basic plan).
How Truett McConnell compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Truett McConnell is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Truett McConnell’s own published materials.
- Policy pageTruett McConnell stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceTruett McConnell cost-of-attendance worksheet
More on Truett McConnell merit aid
- Truett McConnell merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Truett McConnell scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Truett McConnell displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.