Skip to content

Truett McConnell scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$40,932per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Truett McConnell awards automatic merit on admission. Truett McConnell does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
2 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

Step 1 of comparing your list

Check the rules that could cut this.

Check Truett McConnell free in 30 seconds. Then see how it ranks against the rest of your list.

Checking merit aid at Truett McConnell

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Freshman Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)$3,000-$9,000AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Freshman Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)

    $3,000-$9,000

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Presidential Scholar $9,000 at 4.0+ unweighted HS GPA; Trustee Scholar $8,000 at 3.7; Vice Presidential Scholar $6,500 at 3.4; Dean Scholar $5,000 at 3.0; Bear Award $3,000 below 3.0 (all unweighted HS GPA minimums)
    SAT
    Not used
    ACT
    Not used
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Freshman Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)

    Who qualifies

    Freshman status = fewer than 30 earned college hours after high school/home study graduation; applicable to full-time students in on-campus courses; students receive ONE academic scholarship

    How to keep it

    Renewal criteria not stated in the institutional financial aid document.

    Worth knowing

    Official 'Institutional Financial Aid – Incoming 2026-2027 Students' document; GPA-only (no test scores), with a floor award ($3,000 Bear) even below 3.0.

  2. Transfer Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)$3,000-$6,500AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)

    $3,000-$6,500

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Presidential Scholar $6,500 at 3.7+ college GPA; Trustee Scholar $5,000 at 3.4; Vice Presidential Scholar $4,000 at 3.0; Dean Scholar $3,500 at 2.5; Bear Award $3,000 below 2.5
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Academic Scholarships (GPA Grid)

    Who qualifies

    Transfer status = 30 or more earned college hours after high school/home study graduation; one academic scholarship per student

    How to keep it

    Renewal criteria not stated in the institutional financial aid document.

    Worth knowing

    Same one-award-per-student structure as the freshman grid, at lower dollar levels.

Lights up against Truett McConnell's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes Truett McConnell different

DRAFT: TMU publishes a clean unweighted-GPA grid ($3,000-$9,000 for freshmen, $3,000-$6,500 for transfers) where every student gets exactly one academic scholarship — plus a menu of small institutional awards (Christian school, home school, Baptist, sibling, cross-cultural) that are explicitly stackable with all other aid.

Merit tiers22 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Published academic criteria

Start with the thresholds.

These awards are recorded as automatic on academic criteria. Match the published grades and scores, then check residency, entering year and every additional condition.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Truett McConnell's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The institutional aid document states students 'will receive one Academic Scholarship based on unweighted GPA' — the grid awards are mutually exclusive, though the smaller institutional scholarships do stack on top.

  2. All freshman criteria are stated as UNWEIGHTED high school GPA. A weighted 4.0 that is unweighted 3.6 earns the $6,500 Vice Presidential tier, not the $9,000 Presidential.

  3. The document is headed 'Applicable to Full-time Students Enrolled in On-Campus Courses' — part-time and online students are outside the published grid.

  4. The $1,000 award requires at least 6 credit hours or 2 courses of dual enrollment 'through TMU' before graduation — credit earned at other colleges does not qualify.

  5. That $1,000 scholarship requires a completed application with the parent/spouse's signature 'each year' — it does not auto-renew.

  6. Both are 'renewed annually' at the discretion of the Music Department or Athletic Department — they are year-to-year awards, not four-year commitments.

  7. The 2026-27 institutional aid document publishes awarding criteria but no renewal GPA — families should ask the aid office what college GPA keeps each award.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

DRAFT: Students with strong unweighted GPAs (every admitted full-time on-campus student lands somewhere on the grid, even below 3.0), plus Christian-school/home-school graduates and Georgia Baptist families who can stack several smaller awards on top.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $40,932 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Truett McConnell, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Truett McConnell, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$21,274
$30,001–$48,000$18,953
$48,001–$75,000$20,984
$75,001–$110,000$22,134
$110,001+$24,560
All income levels (average)$22,227

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$26,792
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$22,227

That works out to roughly a 43% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $39,152 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
38%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
67%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$23,439 (~$248/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$46,700
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
33%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
55%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Each student receives exactly ONE academic scholarship from the GPA grid, but TMU's other institutional scholarships (Christian school, home school, dual enrollment, Georgia Baptist, minister dependent, sibling discount, cross-cultural, music, athletic) are explicitly 'stackable with all other student financial aid.' Outside/private scholarship displacement is not addressed in the documents opened.

The institutional aid PDF footnotes: academic grids — 'Students will receive one Academic Scholarship based on unweighted GPA'; institutional scholarships — 'Institutional Scholarships are stackable with all other student financial aid.' No COA cap, tuition-only restriction, or outside-scholarship rule appears in the PDF or on the Scholarships & Aid page sections that rendered.

Source

Other Truett McConnell scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityGraduate from a Christian high school.

Stackable with all other aid.

Source

Amount$1,500 per yearEligibilityGraduate from a home school program.

Stackable with all other aid; worth $500 more than the Christian-school award.

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityEarn at least 6 credit hours or complete 2 courses of dual enrollment credit THROUGH TMU prior to high school/home study graduation.

TMU dual-enrollment credit only.

Source

Amount$500 per yearEligibilityMember or attendee of a Georgia Baptist church.

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityDependent of a parent/spouse who is an ordained or licensed Baptist minister, a full-time missionary through a Baptist mission board, or full-time with the GBMB.

Application with parent/spouse signature required EACH YEAR.

Source

Amount10% tuition discountEligibilitySibling of a currently enrolled TMU student.

Percent-of-tuition discount rather than flat dollar award.

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibility1st or 2nd generation U.S. citizens OR eligible non-citizens (green card); valid FAFSA and application required.

Source

AmountDetermined by Chair of School of MusicEligibilityDemonstrated abilities.

Renewed annually by the Music Department.

Source

AmountDetermined by Head CoachEligibilityDemonstrated abilities.

Renewed annually by the Athletic Department.

Source

Truett McConnell merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    No scholarship deadline is published in the 2026-27 institutional aid document — academic scholarships are assigned from GPA at admission. The Scholarships & Aid page directs students to complete the FAFSA, acceptance, and aid steps; application-based awards (minister dependent, cross-cultural) require their own forms.

  • How much merit aid will I get as a freshman?

    By unweighted high school GPA for 2026-27: 4.0+ = $9,000 (Presidential Scholar); 3.7 = $8,000 (Trustee); 3.4 = $6,500 (Vice Presidential); 3.0 = $5,000 (Dean); below 3.0 = $3,000 (Bear Award). Every full-time on-campus student receives exactly one of these.

  • How much do transfer students get?

    By college GPA: 3.7+ = $6,500; 3.4 = $5,000; 3.0 = $4,000; 2.5 = $3,500; below 2.5 = $3,000. Transfer status means 30+ earned college hours after high school graduation.

  • Can I stack other TMU scholarships on top?

    Yes — the institutional scholarships (Christian School $1,000, Home School $1,500, TMU Dual Enrollment $1,000, Georgia Baptist $500, Baptist Minister Dependent $1,000, Sibling 10% tuition discount, Cross-Cultural $1,000, music and athletic awards) are 'stackable with all other student financial aid.'

  • What does TMU cost for 2026-27?

    Full-time tuition is $13,896 per semester plus a $1,058 student fee — $29,908/year in tuition and mandatory fees. With semi-private traditional housing and the unlimited (Golden Bear) meal plan, a freshman's annual tuition, fees, and room and board total $40,932 ($40,436 for upperclassmen in apartment housing with the basic plan).

See sources and other schools

How Truett McConnell compares

  • 14 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use no-displacement displacement.

    Truett McConnell is in the small minority (14 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Truett McConnell is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Truett McConnell’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Point merit aid. Georgia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Reinhardt merit aid. Georgia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Shorter merit aid. Georgia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Young Harris merit aid. Georgia private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring Truett McConnell merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Truett McConnell fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook