Skip to content

Union University scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$56,630per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Union University is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 9 published awards, and 5 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. University Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)$11,000 per year on campus / $8,000 per year off campusAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    University Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    $11,000 per year on campus / $8,000 per year off campus

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.0
    SAT
    960
    ACT
    18
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for University Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    Who qualifies

    CLT 55; meet BOTH the test-score and GPA minimums; merit awards are higher for students who live on campus; apply via the Undergraduate Admissions Application (no separate scholarship application). Test-optional applicants and those below the minimums can be considered for a Director's Incentive Grant.

    How to keep it

    Most institutional scholarships at Union are renewable each academic year if eligibility requirements are met; undergraduates must maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 for financial-aid satisfactory academic progress. Specific per-scholarship renewal GPA is published in the student's online financial aid listing, not on this grid.

    Worth knowing

    Stated amount, awarded automatically on test score + GPA for Fall 2025 entrants. The off-campus figure is the lower award for students not living on campus. Union superscores standardized tests for scholarship purposes.

  2. Dean's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)$12,000 per year on campus / $9,000 per year off campusAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Dean's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    $12,000 per year on campus / $9,000 per year off campus

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.5
    SAT
    1060
    ACT
    21
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Dean's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    Who qualifies

    CLT 67; meet BOTH minimums; on-campus award is higher than off-campus.

    How to keep it

    Renewable each year if eligibility requirements are met (Union institutional scholarship policy); undergrad SAP floor is a 2.0 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Stated amount, awarded automatically on test score + GPA for Fall 2025 entrants.

  3. Provost's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)$15,000 per year on campus / $11,000 per year off campusAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Provost's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    $15,000 per year on campus / $11,000 per year off campus

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.0
    SAT
    1160
    ACT
    24
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Provost's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    Who qualifies

    CLT 79; meet BOTH minimums; on-campus award is higher than off-campus.

    How to keep it

    Renewable each year if eligibility requirements are met; undergrad SAP floor is a 2.0 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Stated amount, awarded automatically on test score + GPA for Fall 2025 entrants.

  4. President's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)$17,000 per year on campus / $13,000 per year off campusAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    President's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    $17,000 per year on campus / $13,000 per year off campus

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5
    SAT
    1260
    ACT
    27
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for President's Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    Who qualifies

    CLT 90; meet BOTH minimums; on-campus award is higher than off-campus.

    How to keep it

    Renewable each year if eligibility requirements are met; undergrad SAP floor is a 2.0 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Stated amount, awarded automatically on test score + GPA for Fall 2025 entrants.

  5. Trustees' Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)$17,000 per year on campus / $13,000 per year off campusAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Trustees' Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    $17,000 per year on campus / $13,000 per year off campus

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5
    SAT
    1330
    ACT
    29
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Trustees' Scholarship (2025 Freshman Academic Award)

    Who qualifies

    CLT 95; meet BOTH minimums. At this stat level the student is also 'Eligible for Scholars' (the invitation-only Scholars of Excellence competition, which is where larger/full-tuition awards are decided).

    How to keep it

    Renewable each year if eligibility requirements are met; undergrad SAP floor is a 2.0 cumulative GPA.

    Worth knowing

    Stated amount; same dollar award as the President's tier but the higher stats (29 ACT / 1330 SAT / 95 CLT, 3.5 GPA) make the student eligible to be invited to the Scholars of Excellence weekend. Note the marked dollar amount is the same as the President's tier — the value of crossing into the Trustees' band is the Scholars invitation, not a larger base grid award.

  6. Founders' Scholarship (Scholars of Excellence)Full tuition, room and board (covers tuition, room, meals and student services fees for up to eight undergraduate semesters)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Founders' Scholarship (Scholars of Excellence)

    Full tuition, room and board (covers tuition, room, meals and student services fees for up to eight undergraduate semesters)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5 (Section B option) or Top 15% class rank
    SAT
    1330 (Section A option)
    ACT
    29 (Section A option)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Founders' Scholarship (Scholars of Excellence)

    Who qualifies

    Incoming freshman for Fall 2026; CLT 95 OR National Merit Finalist / National Hispanic Scholar / National Merit Semi-Finalist (Section A) AND top-15% class rank OR 3.5 GPA (Section B). Invitation-only; requires the Undergraduate Admissions Application first, then the Scholars of Excellence application + essay, then on-campus competition. One recipient chosen per year.

    How to keep it

    To retain the Founders' Scholarship, recipients must maintain a 3.25 cumulative Union University GPA and perform up to 50 hours per semester of leadership services for the University; covers a maximum of eight undergraduate semesters. Recipients are also automatically admitted to the Honors Community.

    Worth knowing

    Union's single top award; competitive, not automatic. IMPORTANT: the Founders' Scholarship 'serves as replacement of any institutional aid (Merit and Stackable awards) if received' — it is not stacked on top of the grid award; it replaces it. Apply by Jan 2, 2026; competition weekends Feb 6-7 and Feb 20-21, 2026; decisions mailed in March.

  7. Scholars of Excellence AwardAmounts vary based on the applicant's participation in the weekend eventsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Scholars of Excellence Award

    Amounts vary based on the applicant's participation in the weekend events

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.5 or Top 15% class rank (Section B)
    SAT
    1330 (Section A)
    ACT
    29 (Section A)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Scholars of Excellence Award

    Who qualifies

    CLT 95 or National Merit/Hispanic recognition (Section A); incoming Fall 2026 freshman; must participate in the on-campus competition weekend. Invitation only.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Unlike the Founders' Scholarship, the Scholars of Excellence Award 'may be combined with all other institutional aid' (it stacks on top of the freshman grid award). The specific dollar amount is not published — it is set by weekend performance — so no figure is asserted here.

  8. Kalos Scholarship (humanities 'last dollar')Last-dollar award that covers tuition, fees, housing, and meals after all other aid (for Fall 2026 and later entrants)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Kalos Scholarship (humanities 'last dollar')

    Last-dollar award that covers tuition, fees, housing, and meals after all other aid (for Fall 2026 and later entrants)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.75 (unweighted, 4.0 scale)
    SAT
    1320 (combined)
    ACT
    28 (excluding Writing)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Kalos Scholarship (humanities 'last dollar')

    Who qualifies

    CLT 92; humanities focus (Art, Communication Arts, History, Languages/Literature/Writing, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology & Family Studies, Theology & Missions, or other areas approved by committee); one pastoral + one academic reference; writing sample (the Scholars of Excellence essay); must participate in Scholars of Excellence competition ON CAMPUS (not virtual). Priority to students intending graduate study.

    How to keep it

    Recipients must complete a FAFSA annually, prepare an annual progress summary, meet annually with the Kalos representative, and execute a Student Information Release. All recipients are automatically admitted to the Honors Community. Specific renewal GPA not stated.

    Worth knowing

    A 'last dollar' merit award: it is applied after all other financial aid is calculated and essentially covers the recipient's tuition, fees, housing, and meals (students who entered before Fall 2026 have it cover tuition and fees only). No flat dollar figure is published, so amount is described, not numbered. Apply by Jan 2, 2026; recipients notified by April 1, 2026.

  9. IMPACT 360 Partnership Award$8,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    IMPACT 360 Partnership Award

    $8,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.0 minimum HS GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for IMPACT 360 Partnership Award

    Who qualifies

    Completion of the IMPACT 360 Gap Year program (beginning Fall 2022). Identified institutionally by Union; no additional application required.

    How to keep it

    Awarded at initial admission; renewal governed by Union's general institutional scholarship policy (renewable if eligibility met). Requires a minimum high school GPA of 2.0.

    Worth knowing

    A stated-amount partnership award for IMPACT 360 gap-year completers. Stacks as an 'Additional Scholarship Award' but subject to the cost-of-attendance cap.

Lights up against Union University's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Union University award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Union University

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Outside awardsGrant-first displacement = outside wins can pay the school

Union University reduces institutional grant before any other aid line when an outside award arrives. A $5,000 community-foundation win can leave the family bill unchanged.

What makes Union University different

Every admitted freshman gets a stated-amount automatic academic scholarship on a published ACT/SAT/CLT + GPA grid — $11,000-$17,000/year on campus (less off campus) — and the highest-stat students compete at the invitation-only Scholars of Excellence weekend for the full-tuition-room-and-board Founders' Scholarship.

Merit tiers95 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Union University's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. The freshman grid pays a LOWER off-campus amount at every tier (e.g., University Scholarship is $11,000 on campus but $8,000 off campus; Trustees' is $17,000 vs $13,000). Choosing to live off campus reduces the merit award.

  2. Both the President's and Trustees' tiers list the same dollar award ($17,000 on campus / $13,000 off). The benefit of the higher Trustees' stats (29 ACT / 1330 SAT / 95 CLT) is becoming 'Eligible for Scholars' — an invitation to the Scholars of Excellence competition where the larger awards are decided — not a bigger base grid award.

  3. The Founders' Scholarship 'serves as replacement of any institutional aid (Merit and Stackable awards) if received' — it replaces your grid award rather than adding to it. By contrast, a regular Scholars of Excellence Award 'may be combined with all other institutional aid.'

  4. Both the Scholars of Excellence program and the Kalos Scholarship require submission by Friday, January 2, 2026, and require attending an on-campus competition weekend (Feb 6-7 or Feb 20-21, 2026). Miss it and you lose access to the full-tuition Founders' and the humanities 'last dollar' Kalos award entirely.

  5. Under Union's Reduction of Institutional Scholarships Policy, if your total gift aid from all sources exceeds Union's billed charges, Union reduces ITS OWN institutional aid first so the total does not exceed your University charges — so an outside scholarship can displace your Union merit award rather than reduce your out-of-pocket cost.

  6. The 2026-27 $56,630 figure is tuition ($41,170) + fees ($1,520) + Heritage housing ($10,000) + the 140 meal plan ($3,940). It excludes the one-time $175 registration/orientation fee and does not include books, transportation, or personal expenses that the financial-aid Cost of Attendance adds.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Christian (Baptist-affiliated) students who want a transparent, automatic, stats-based merit award with no separate application; high-stat humanities/theology students (3.75 GPA, 28 ACT) who want the Kalos 'last dollar' near-full-cost award; and top academic/leadership students (29 ACT / 1330 SAT, top-15% rank) who can compete for the full-tuition-room-and-board Founders' Scholarship.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $56,630 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Union University, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Union University, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$25,839
$30,001–$48,000$26,181
$48,001–$75,000$23,891
$75,001–$110,000$27,841
$110,001+$30,373
All income levels (average)$27,171

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$40,025
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$27,171

That works out to roughly a 53% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $58,363 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
66%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
89%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$20,714 (~$220/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$53,990
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
30%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
41%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Union's freshman academic grid award is a 'base award.' A set of named 'Stackable Scholarship Awards' (Alumni Legacy, Ministry Dependent, TBC/SBC) stack on top of it but are capped at a $2,000 annual limit combined. Scholars of Excellence Awards 'may be combined with all other institutional aid.' BUT the Founders' Scholarship and several others (INAMB, certain endowed/other awards) are 'Merit Replacement' awards that replace — not stack with — the grid award. Outside scholarships are governed by a reduction policy: if total gift aid from all sources exceeds Union billed charges, Union reduces its own institutional aid first, and total aid can never exceed the cost of attendance.

Reduction of Institutional Scholarships Policy: when total scholarships/grants from all sources (institutional, state, federal, or outside) exceed Union billed charges (tuition, fees, and in some cases books/room/meals), Union reduces the student's institutionally funded aid so total gift aid does not exceed University charges. In a full cost-of-attendance overage, the return order is institutional aid first, then PLUS loans, unsubsidized loans, subsidized loans, SEOG, work-study — i.e. the institution's own grant/scholarship is displaced before loans (grant-first). Stackable named awards are subject to a $2,000 annual cap; Founders' and INAMB are replacement (not stackable) awards.

Source

Other Union University scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$2,000 per yearEligibilitySouthern Baptist, traditional undergraduate students studying in the School of Theology and Missions.

Additional scholarship award; requires a separate STM application. Min HS GPA 2.0; awarded at initial admission.

Source

Amount$1,500 per yearEligibilityOn-campus students who are residents of designated West TN counties (Benton, Carroll, Chester, Crockett, Decatur, Dyer, Fayette, Gibson, Hardeman, Hardin, Haywood, Henderson, Henry, Lake, Lauderdale, Madison, McNairy, Obion, Shelby, Tipton, or Weakley).

Recipients must maintain on-campus residence for continued eligibility. Min HS GPA 2.0.

Source

Amount$2,000 per yearEligibilityTeenPact alumni (graduates of TeenPact's core State Class Program), for students enrolling Fall 2022 or after.

Self-identify on the admission application; provide participation documentation. Min HS GPA 2.0.

Source

Amount$2,000 per yearEligibilityYoung Life alumni; requires a recommendation letter from local Young Life club staff to admissions@uu.edu.

Self-identify on the admission application. Min HS GPA 2.0.

Source

Amount$1,000 per yearEligibilityStudents who participate in a Centrifuge camp at Union University and complete an inquiry card indicating interest.

Awarded automatically based on receipt of completed inquiry card; no application. Min HS GPA 2.0.

Source

AmountUp to $4,000 in annual scholarship assistanceEligibilityInternational students not eligible for federal student aid; identified through the Admissions application.

Up-to amount.

Source

AmountSubject to a $2,000 annual limit (combined)EligibilityAlumni Legacy = dependent of a Union alum (parent/grandparent) with 48+ Union credit hours; Ministry Dependent = dependent of a minister of the Gospel; TBC/SBC = member of a Southern Baptist church for at least one year.

These stack ON TOP of the freshman merit award but the combined stackable total is capped at $2,000/yr. No separate application; min HS GPA 2.0; awarded at initial admission.

Source

AmountTransfer Trustee's Scholarship level plus $2,000EligibilityTransfer students who were PTK members at their two-year institution.

A merit REPLACEMENT award (not stackable with the standard transfer merit award); requires the PTK scholarship application.

Source

AmountHalf-tuition per yearEligibilityStudents whose parent(s) serve full-time with the IMB or NAMB.

A merit REPLACEMENT award — half-tuition in place of the merit scholarship the student would otherwise qualify for. Self-identify and provide documentation to admissions@uu.edu.

Source

AmountVaries (set by partner church)EligibilityStudents from participating Southern Baptist churches.

Amounts and requirements vary by partner church; contact the church directly.

Source

Union University merit aid FAQ

  • Is the freshman merit scholarship automatic?

    Yes. The Freshman Academic Awards (University, Dean's, Provost's, President's, Trustees') are awarded automatically based on your test score (ACT/SAT/CLT) and GPA when you complete the Undergraduate Admissions Application — no separate scholarship application is required. Union superscores test sections for scholarship purposes.

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    There is no separate deadline for the automatic freshman grid award (it follows admission). But the competitive awards have a hard deadline: the Scholars of Excellence application and the Kalos Scholarship are both due Friday, January 2, 2026, with on-campus competition weekends on February 6-7 and February 20-21, 2026, and notifications mailed in March (Kalos by April 1, 2026).

  • Can I combine Union scholarships?

    Some, not all. The named 'Stackable' awards (Alumni Legacy, Ministry Dependent, TBC/SBC) stack on top of your merit award but are capped at $2,000/year combined, and a Scholars of Excellence Award 'may be combined with all other institutional aid.' However, the Founders' Scholarship and the INAMB award are 'Merit Replacement' awards that replace your grid award. In all cases total aid cannot exceed the cost of attendance.

  • What do I have to maintain to keep my scholarship?

    Most institutional scholarships are renewable if you meet eligibility each year; undergraduates must keep at least a 2.0 cumulative GPA for financial-aid satisfactory academic progress, and fund-specific GPA requirements appear in your online financial-aid listing. The Founders' Scholarship specifically requires a 3.25 cumulative Union GPA plus up to 50 hours of leadership service per semester.

  • What is the Kalos Scholarship?

    Kalos is a humanities-focused 'last dollar' merit scholarship: for Fall 2026 and later entrants it is applied after all other aid and essentially covers tuition, fees, housing, and meals. It requires a 3.75 unweighted GPA and a 28 ACT / 1320 SAT / 92 CLT, a humanities major, references, a writing sample, and participation in the on-campus Scholars of Excellence competition; apply by January 2, 2026.

See sources and other schools

How Union University compares

  • 19 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use grant-first displacement.

    Union University is in the small minority (19 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • Grant-first displacement is the rarest published policy in our dataset.

    It also produces the worst family-dollar outcome on outside scholarships. Union University sits in this small minority, so treat outside-award strategy here as conservatively as you would at a school with no published policy at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Union University is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Union University’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Union University merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Union University fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook