Skip to content

Findlay award rules

Will the scholarship last four years at Findlay?

We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.

Verified Jun 20263 months ago

The short answer

2 of 5 published awards are listed as renewable.

The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.

What to do

Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.

See every award rule, common mistake, and source

At a glance

Renewable tiers
2 of 5
One-time tiers
3
Tiers with published renewal terms
2
Renewal risk profile
low

Renewal risk profile

Findlay's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.

  • Automatic Merit Scholarships (First-Year) — GPA/Test Grid: See notes
  • Transfer Merit Scholarships — GPA Grid: See notes

Renewal terms by tier

  • Automatic Merit Scholarships (First-Year) — GPA/Test Grid

    $18,500-$25,000

    Entry requirements: 3.29 (Merit) to 4.0 (Trustee) GPA · 1090 (Deans) to 1290 (Trustee) SAT · 21 (Deans) to 27 (Trustee) ACT

    To keep it: Renewal terms not specified on the scholarships page (the grid lists annual award amounts).

    Source: https://www.findlay.edu/admissions-aid/scholarships/

  • Transfer Merit Scholarships — GPA Grid

    $18,500-$25,000

    Entry requirements: Up to 2.99 (Merit) to 3.5+ (Trustee) GPA

    To keep it: Renewal terms not specified on the page.

    Source: https://www.findlay.edu/admissions-aid/scholarships/

How families lose this aid

  • Assuming a test-optional applicant loses out on merit.

    UF takes the HIGHER of the GPA-based or test-based amount 'in your favor' — applying without scores still places you on the GPA grid; submitting strong scores can only raise the award (and a 30 ACT/1360 SAT adds $2,000).

Renewal questions families ask

How is my automatic merit amount determined?
By GPA or test score — Findlay applies whichever yields the highest amount. The first-year grid runs $18,500 (Merit) to $25,000 (Trustee), with a $2,000 bump for a 30 ACT/1360 SAT or higher.
Are test scores required for merit?
No. UF is test-optional and will award on GPA alone (Faculty $20,000 / Merit $18,500 tiers), but a qualifying test score can move you to a higher tier.
How do I get a full-tuition scholarship?
Through an invitation-only Competition Day (Elite, Leadership, or Oiler). Call Admissions at 419-434-4732; eligibility is based on the stated ACT/SAT/GPA minimums.

How Findlay compares across our verified dataset

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Findlay is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every renewal claim is checked against Findlay’s own published materials.

More on Findlay merit aid