Skip to content

Findlay scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$53,100per year · 2025-2026 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Findlay is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 5 published awards, and 2 are based on those numbers.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jun 2026
2 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Automatic Merit Scholarships (First-Year) — GPA/Test Grid$18,500-$25,000AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Merit Scholarships (First-Year) — GPA/Test Grid

    $18,500-$25,000

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.29 (Merit) to 4.0 (Trustee)
    SAT
    1090 (Deans) to 1290 (Trustee)
    ACT
    21 (Deans) to 27 (Trustee)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Merit Scholarships (First-Year) — GPA/Test Grid

    Who qualifies

    CLT accepted (67 Deans to 89 Trustee). Test-optional: UF applies the HIGHER of the GPA-based or test-based amount. A 30 ACT / 1360 SAT or higher adds a +$2,000 bump.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not specified on the scholarships page (the grid lists annual award amounts).

    Worth knowing

    Full 2026-27 first-year grid (verbatim below). Highest qualifying amount is applied; GPA-only path tops out at the Faculty/Merit tiers when no test score is used.

  2. Transfer Merit Scholarships — GPA Grid$18,500-$25,000AutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Merit Scholarships — GPA Grid

    $18,500-$25,000

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Up to 2.99 (Merit) to 3.5+ (Trustee)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Merit Scholarships — GPA Grid

    Who qualifies

    Amounts based on cumulative transfer GPA. Associate's degree adds +$1,000.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not specified on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Trustee 3.5+ = $25,000; Deans 3.0–3.5 = $22,500; Merit up to 2.99 = $18,500.

  3. Elite Scholarship CompetitionFull tuitionNot automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Elite Scholarship Competition

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    4.0+ (or test path)
    SAT
    1310
    ACT
    28
    Open award details for Elite Scholarship Competition

    Who qualifies

    Most prestigious UF scholarship; ONE student selected for full tuition. Invitation-only Competition Day. All competitors receive a $2,000 participation tuition scholarship. Minimum ACT 28/SAT 1310 OR cumulative GPA 4.0+ to participate.

    Worth knowing

    Competition Day award.

  4. Leadership Scholarship CompetitionFull tuitionNot automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Leadership Scholarship Competition

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.85+ (or test path)
    SAT
    1100
    ACT
    22
    Open award details for Leadership Scholarship Competition

    Who qualifies

    TWO outstanding student leaders selected for full tuition. Competitors receive a $1,500 participation tuition scholarship. Minimum ACT 22/SAT 1100 OR cumulative GPA 3.85+ to participate.

    Worth knowing

    Competition Day award.

  5. Oiler Scholarship CompetitionFull tuitionNot automatic
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Oiler Scholarship Competition

    Full tuition

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.65+
    Open award details for Oiler Scholarship Competition

    Who qualifies

    ONE future Oiler awarded full tuition via team-building activities, tour, and conversations. Competitors receive a $1,000 participation tuition scholarship. Minimum GPA 3.65+ to participate.

    Worth knowing

    Competition Day award.

Lights up against Findlay's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Findlay award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Findlay

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

What makes Findlay different

Findlay publishes a fully automatic GPA/test merit grid ($18,500–$25,000/yr) and takes whichever path — GPA or test — pays you more, with a +$2,000 bump for a 30 ACT/1360 SAT; full-tuition awards run through invitation-only Competition Days.

Merit tiers52 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Findlay's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. UF takes the HIGHER of the GPA-based or test-based amount 'in your favor' — applying without scores still places you on the GPA grid; submitting strong scores can only raise the award (and a 30 ACT/1360 SAT adds $2,000).

  2. Those are invitation-only competitions where only one or two students win full tuition; everyone else receives a smaller participation tuition scholarship ($1,000–$2,000).

  3. The merit grid is the 2026-27 academic year, but the published cost-of-attendance page is 2025-26 — confirm 2026-27 costs before computing net price.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Students who want a predictable, published automatic award from GPA OR test scores (test-optional), and high achievers (28+ ACT or 4.0 GPA) willing to attend a Competition Day to chase full tuition.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $53,100 for 2025-2026. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Findlay, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Findlay, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$22,052
$30,001–$48,000$22,908
$48,001–$75,000$24,481
$75,001–$110,000$28,486
$110,001+$28,963
All income levels (average)$27,221

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$41,164
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$27,221

That works out to roughly a 50% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $54,580 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
58%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
74%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$25,439 (~$270/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$56,996
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
31%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
73%
See other scholarships and cost examples

Other Findlay scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$1,000EligibilityTransfer students who have earned their associate's degree.

Added to the transfer merit award.

Source

Amount$2,000EligibilityFirst-year students with a 30 ACT / 1360 SAT or higher.

Added on top of the merit grid amount.

Source

Findlay merit aid FAQ

  • How is my automatic merit amount determined?

    By GPA or test score — Findlay applies whichever yields the highest amount. The first-year grid runs $18,500 (Merit) to $25,000 (Trustee), with a $2,000 bump for a 30 ACT/1360 SAT or higher.

  • Are test scores required for merit?

    No. UF is test-optional and will award on GPA alone (Faculty $20,000 / Merit $18,500 tiers), but a qualifying test score can move you to a higher tier.

  • How do I get a full-tuition scholarship?

    Through an invitation-only Competition Day (Elite, Leadership, or Oiler). Call Admissions at 419-434-4732; eligibility is based on the stated ACT/SAT/GPA minimums.

See sources and other schools

How Findlay compares

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Findlay is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Findlay’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Findlay merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Findlay fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook