Skip to content

University of Lynchburg · Virginia

Lynchburg scholarships and merit aid

DRAFT: University of Lynchburg awards every admitted full-time first-year student an automatic merit scholarship of $20,000-$25,000 based solely on weighted high school GPA — no application, no test scores required — with smaller stackable add-ons for Westover Honors Fellows and Phi Theta Kappa transfers.

Verified Jul 20262 months ago

The short answer

Is Lynchburg worth a closer look?

Lynchburg is worth checking if your student has strong grades or scores. We found 6 published awards, and 5 are based on those numbers.

Merit tiers65 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

Free Merit Check

See what Lynchburg's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Lynchburg

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

$25,000

Hopwood Scholarship

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
4.0+ weighted
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Full-time admitted student; weighted GPA used; GPA on a 100-point scale is converted to a 4.0 scale

How to keep it

Renewable with continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress. "After your first year, scholarships are renewable for three additional years if renewal eligibility is maintained."

Notes

All full-time admitted students are automatically considered — no separate scholarship application. SAT/ACT optional; submitting scores can increase the award (likely only if SAT above 1200-1300 or ACT 25-28). You may receive only one of the academic awards.

Source

$23,000

Founder's Scholarship

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
3.5+ weighted
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Full-time admitted student

How to keep it

Renewable with continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress; renewable for three additional years after the first year if renewal eligibility is maintained.

Notes

Automatic on weighted GPA; one academic award per student.

Source

$21,000

Trustee Scholarship

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
3.0+ weighted
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Full-time admitted student

How to keep it

Renewable with continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress; renewable for three additional years after the first year if renewal eligibility is maintained.

Notes

Automatic on weighted GPA; one academic award per student.

Source

$20,000

Presidential Scholarship

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
2.5+ weighted
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Full-time admitted student

How to keep it

Renewable with continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress; renewable for three additional years after the first year if renewal eligibility is maintained.

Notes

Automatic on weighted GPA; one academic award per student. This is the lowest tier on the published freshman grid.

Source

Up to $2,000

Westover Honors Scholarship

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
3.75+ (for automatic consideration for the Westover Honors program)
SAT
1250+ (for automatic consideration for the Westover Honors program)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Admission to the Westover Honors program; transcripts and an academic writing sample reviewed by a committee; space is competitive and limited

How to keep it

Renewal terms not stated on the pages opened; ask the aid office.

Notes

Paid in addition to (stacks with) the academic merit scholarship. Program admission is committee-reviewed and competitive, so the scholarship is not automatic on stats.

Source

$16,000-$20,000

Transfer Scholarships (Trustee Transfer, Dean's Transfer, Alumni Transfer Award)

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
2.50+ for Alumni Transfer Award ($16,000); 3.00+ for Dean's Transfer Scholarship ($18,000); 3.50+ for Trustee Transfer Scholarship ($20,000)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Transfer student; all full-time admitted students are automatically considered

How to keep it

The page states transfer students are also eligible for scholarships; the general renewal language on the page says scholarships are renewable for three additional years after the first year if renewal eligibility is maintained. Confirm transfer-specific renewal terms with the aid office.

Notes

GPA-based transfer grid published alongside the freshman grid. Phi Theta Kappa members get an additional $3,000 on top of the merit scholarship (see lesserKnownScholarships).

Source

See what could change an award

Rules that could change the answer

These are the rules we would flag for your family. Each comes from Lynchburg's published information.

  • Renewal ruleHopwood Scholarship: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

    Renewable with continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress. "After your first year, scholarships are renewable for three additional years if renewal eligibility is maintained." A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

  • Outside awardsNo published displacement order

    Lynchburg's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.

Straight from the aid office

What Lynchburg's aid office says

Per the Office of Enrollment, University of Lynchburg, August 2026. How we verify

Merit scholarship range

How much merit scholarship can a student receive?

Merit scholarships range between $18,000-$25,000 based on the student's weighted GPA.

“In terms of Merit scholarships, those range between $18,000-$25,000 based on the student's weighted GPA.”
Westover Honors Scholarship

Is there an additional scholarship for the Westover Honors program?

Students accepted into the Westover Honors program receive an additional $2,000 scholarship.

“In regards to the Westover Honors Scholarship, if the student is accepted into the program, they will receive the additional $2,000 scholarship.”
Application of outside scholarships

How are outside/third-party scholarships applied to a student's account?

Outside scholarships are first applied to whatever they are designated for (e.g., tuition vs. books/materials), then applied to the student's remaining balance unless otherwise noted.

“When students receive an outside scholarship, first and foremost, the financial aid office will apply the scholarship to whatever it is allowed to be awarded for. For example, some scholarships can only be applied to tuition vs. books & materials, etc. Once that has been completed, scholarships will go towards the students overall remaining balance, unless noted otherwise.”
Contact for aid impact questions

Who should be contacted about how outside scholarships affect federal or institutional aid?

The Solutions Center (home of Financial Aid) is the best contact for in-depth information about how specific scholarships may impact federal or institutional aid.

“The Solutions Center, home of Financial Aid, will be your best point of contact for more in-depth information about how some of those specific scholarships may impact any sort of federal or additional institutional aid.”
Cost of Attendance (last year)

What was last year's overall cost of attendance?

Last year's overall Cost of Attendance was $54,240, including tuition $39,690, housing $7,900, meal plan $6,650, Health Fee $300, and Technology Fee $400.

“Overall Cost of Attendance: $54,240 (includes tuition: $39,690, housing: $7,900, meal plan: $6,650, Health Fee: $300, and Technology Fee: $400)”
VTAG eligibility and amount

Is there additional aid for Virginia residents, and how much?

All Virginia residents are eligible for VTAG (Virginia Tuition Assistance Grant), currently worth $5,250.

“all Virginia residents are eligible for VTAG (Virginia Tuition Assistance Grant) which is currently worth $5,250.”
Order of aid application

In what order is aid applied to determine a student's financial aid package?

After institutional aid (merit, Westover, VTAG) is applied, FAFSA is processed to determine federal aid eligibility, and then any third-party scholarships are added to the account.

“Once all of your institutional aid has been applied, your FAFSA will be processed with your official financial aid package to determine how much federal financial aid you are eligible for. D. Lastly, any third party scholarships received will then be added to your account.”
Cost of Attendance figures still pending

Are this year's cost of attendance figures finalized?

The school is still finalizing cost of attendance numbers for the upcoming application cycle, so last year's figures were provided instead.

“we are in the process of finalizing some numbers for this upcoming application cycle before they will be officially published.”

What families often miss

  1. The financial aid page states plainly: 'You may receive only one of these awards.' Only the Westover Honors Scholarship (up to $2,000) and the Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship ($3,000, transfers) are listed as '(in addition to merit scholarship).'

  2. The Outside Scholarships page warns that outside awards 'may lead to adjustments in your overall aid package, such as loans or work-study amounts' and tells students to 'reach out to the Solutions Center before accepting an award to ensure you fully understand its impact on your aid.' The exact displacement order is not published.

  3. Renewal requires continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress, and 'your scholarship letter will indicate the academic standards required for renewal.' Scholarships are renewable for only 'three additional years' after the first year — a fifth year is not covered by the published policy.

  4. The university is test-optional for merit. Per the aid page: 'You may submit your SAT or ACT score to be combined with your GPA to increase your scholarship; however, it is only likely to change if your SAT is above 1200-1300 or ACT is 25-28.'

  5. VTAG (currently $5,250 for 2025-26) is not automatic — 'complete the VTAG application before the Sept. 15 deadline' and return it to the Office of Financial Aid. It is free state money on top of merit aid for VA residents at this private university.

  6. Lynchburg's own pages disagree: the financial-aid page says 2026-27 merit scholarships 'range from $18,000-$25,000,' the first-year apply page says '$16,000 to $25,000,' while the freshman grid actually bottoms out at $20,000 (Presidential, 2.5+ GPA) and the transfer grid at $16,000. Confirm your exact award tier with admissions.

  7. The university states 'If you only wish to receive merit aid, you do not need to complete the FAFSA,' but University of Lynchburg need-based grants and federal/state aid all require the FAFSA ('These grants are awarded after we receive your FAFSA results').

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

DRAFT: Students with at least a 2.5 weighted high school GPA who want a guaranteed, test-optional merit award — even a 2.5 GPA earns $20,000/year, and a 4.0 earns $25,000/year automatically. Virginia residents add the VTAG state grant on top.

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Lynchburg, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Lynchburg, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$20,692
$30,001–$48,000$18,303
$48,001–$75,000$18,649
$75,001–$110,000$20,707
$110,001+$25,063
All income levels (average)$22,235

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Total cost of attendance (sticker), AY 2021-22
$50,067
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$36,750
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$22,235

That works out to an average 56% discount off the sticker price above — both figures come from the same federal AY 2021-22 Scorecard report, not a number the school itself published.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
57%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
71%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$56,380
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
31%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
75%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

The University of Lynchburg's excerpt only says outside scholarships 'may lead to adjustments in your overall aid package, such as loans or work-study amounts' -- it does not state that loans/work-study are reduced before institutional grants, nor that grants are protected except to prevent an over-award. The school does not publish a specific displacement mechanism; confirm treatment with the aid office before counting on stacking.

Verified policy language (2026-07-02): Receiving outside scholarships can enhance your financial support, though it may lead to adjustments in your overall aid package, such as loans or work-study amounts. Separately, the school's own award-stacking rules: A student may receive only ONE of the academic merit scholarships (Hopwood/Founder's/Trustee/Presidential or the transfer equivalents). The undergraduate financial aid page states: 'You may receive only one of these awards' (referring to the academic scholarships). (per https://www.lynchburg.edu/admissions/cost-and-affordability/undergraduate-financial-aid/)

Source

Other Lynchburg scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$3,000EligibilityTransfer students (listed in the Transfer Scholarships table); paid in addition to the merit scholarship

Listed as '(in addition to merit scholarship)' — one of the few awards that explicitly stacks.

Source

Amount$5,250 (2025-26 figure; 'estimated at $5,250 annually')EligibilityVirginia residents attending full-time; non-need-based state grant; separate application due Sept. 15

Not a university merit award, but a stackable state grant the university highlights. 'VTAG is currently $5,250 for the 2025-26 academic year.' The 2026-27 amount was not published on the pages opened.

Source

AmountTuition-free (tuition only, not full cost of attendance)EligibilityVeterans who meet 100% Post 9/11 GI Bill eligibility and Lynchburg admissions requirements

'Through University of Lynchburg grants and the GI Bill, veterans who meet 100% Post 9/11 GI Bill eligibility and Lynchburg admissions requirements can attend University of Lynchburg tuition-free.'

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityA Westover Honors Fellow who has achieved academic success and demonstrated humanistic compassion and concern for others; annual award

Memorial award within the Westover Honors community; selection criteria are holistic and no dollar amount is published.

Source

Lynchburg merit aid FAQ

  • Is there a separate scholarship application or deadline for merit scholarships?

    No. 'All full-time admitted students are automatically considered for academic scholarships to the University of Lynchburg — no separate scholarship application is required.' Admission itself is rolling ('Lynchburg's rolling admissions offers flexibility to apply without deadlines'); application deadlines are July 31 for the fall semester and Dec. 19 for the spring semester, with later applications reviewed on a space-available basis.

  • What are the Early Decision and deposit deadlines?

    Per the first-year application page: for Early Decision, 'The application deadline is Dec. 15, and the deposit is due by Feb. 1.' For Regular Decision, 'The deposit deadline for Regular Decision is May 1.' (The page's cycle references mention Fall 2025, so confirm the exact dates for your entry year.)

  • Do I need SAT/ACT scores to get a merit scholarship?

    No. 'SAT and ACT scores are not required for admission or merit scholarships.' You may optionally submit scores to be combined with your GPA, but the award 'is only likely to change if your SAT is above 1200-1300 or ACT is 25-28.'

  • Can I stack multiple Lynchburg scholarships?

    You may receive only one of the academic awards (Hopwood, Founder's, Trustee, Presidential, or a transfer award). The Westover Honors Scholarship (up to $2,000) and Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship ($3,000, transfers) are explicitly '(in addition to merit scholarship).'

  • How do I keep my scholarship after freshman year?

    Merit scholarships 'are renewable with continued full-time enrollment and satisfactory academic progress.' Your scholarship letter will state the specific academic standards required for renewal, and 'After your first year, scholarships are renewable for three additional years if renewal eligibility is maintained.'

  • What is the VTAG deadline for Virginia residents?

    Complete the Virginia Tuition Assistance Grant application 'before the Sept. 15 deadline' and return it to the University of Lynchburg Office of Financial Aid. VTAG is $5,250 for the 2025-26 academic year (2026-27 amount not published on the pages opened).

  • Do I need the FAFSA to receive a merit scholarship?

    No — the university states: 'If you only wish to receive merit aid, you do not need to complete the FAFSA.' The FAFSA is required for need-based university grants and federal/state aid.

See sources and other schools

How Lynchburg compares

  • 133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.

    Lynchburg is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.

    Lynchburg is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Lynchburg is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Lynchburg’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Lynchburg merit aid