Western Oregon's Merit Award is fully automatic on unweighted GPA — Oregon residents and WUE students earn $1,000-$4,000/yr and nonresidents earn $5,000-$12,000/yr, with no separate application.
Verified Jul 20262 months ago
The short answer
Is Western Oregon worth a closer look?
Western Oregon awards automatic merit on admission. Western Oregon does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.
Merit tiers32 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team
Free Merit Check
See what Western Oregon's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.
Published scholarships
These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Graduating high school seniors who are Oregon residents or qualify for the Western Undergraduate Exchange (WUE) rate. No separate application — automatic on admission GPA.
How to keep it
Renewal period: 3 years. Must complete 36 credits by the end of spring term with a 3.0 WOU cumulative GPA to continue with the award.
Notes
Awarded automatically based on unweighted high school GPA at admission. The same dollar grid applies to Oregon residents and WUE students. WOU also publishes a separate, higher nonresident grid (see next tier).
Graduating high school seniors admitted at the nonresident tuition rate. No separate application — automatic on admission GPA.
How to keep it
Renewal period: 3 years. Must complete 36 credits by the end of spring term with a 3.0 WOU cumulative GPA to continue with the award.
Notes
Larger automatic award for students paying the nonresident rate. Students who qualify for the WUE rate use the Resident & WUE grid instead, not this one.
Covers tuition…Covers tuition, mandatory fees, food and housing, and books after other gift aid (dollar value not published)
David S. Brody Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifies
Incoming students apply at WOU. Award is calculated after other gift aid is applied (a 'last-dollar' style award), so the actual dollar value varies by student.
How to keep it
Renewal terms not published on the freshman scholarships page.
Notes
Separate application required. Per the FAQ, the David S. Brody Scholarship deadline is May 1, 2026 (awarded late May to mid-June). Dollar amount is not published — value depends on remaining cost after other gift aid, so the listed amount is descriptive, not a fixed number.
These are the rules we would flag for your family. Each comes from Western Oregon's published information.
Aid capHard $30,657 cost-of-attendance ceiling
Institutional aid at Western Oregon cannot push the package past $30,657. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.
What families often miss
WOU publishes two different 2026-2027 grids. Oregon residents and WUE students use the $1,000-$4,000 grid; nonresidents paying the out-of-state rate use the separate $5,000-$12,000 grid. WUE students do NOT use the larger nonresident grid.
The award is set automatically on your unweighted high school GPA at admission. There is no separate application and no re-rating once the award is set.
It renews for a 3-year renewal period only if you complete 36 credits by the end of spring term with a 3.0 WOU cumulative GPA. Falling below full-time progress or the 3.0 cumulative GPA can end the award.
WOU's 2026-2027 resident on-campus Cost of Attendance is $30,657 — tuition ($10,350) plus mandatory fees, housing, food, books, transportation, and miscellaneous. A $4,000 Merit Award covers only part of that total.
Brody covers tuition, fees, food/housing, and books 'after other gift aid has been applied,' so its dollar value depends on what other aid you already have. It also requires a separate application by May 1, 2026, not the March 1 general deadline.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
Cost-sensitive Oregon residents and WUE-eligible Western students who want a guaranteed, no-application merit award that scales with GPA, and out-of-state students who want a large automatic nonresident discount at a small public university.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $30,657 for 2026-2027. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Western Oregon, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Western Oregon, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$15,575
$30,001–$48,000
$14,585
$48,001–$75,000
$16,151
$75,001–$110,000
$17,974
$110,001+
$20,243
All income levels (average)
$17,237
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$11,879
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$32,534
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$17,237
That works out to roughly a 31% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $25,062 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Western Oregon is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
47%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
73%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$20,609 (~$218/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$51,815
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
50%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
91%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
WOU does not publish a rule that outside scholarships first reduce loans/work-study. The stated policy is a Cost-of-Attendance / financial-need cap: if a private scholarship pushes a student over their Cost of Attendance or financial need, the Financial Aid Office adjusts the aid package. Which aid is reduced first is not specified.
Private scholarships are reported to the Business Office, which notifies Financial Aid. The published trigger for any reduction is exceeding Cost of Attendance or financial need, not a fixed loan-first order. The page does not state whether the institutional Merit Award itself would be reduced before federal aid.
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
AmountVariesEligibilityBoth incoming and current students; one application unlocks nearly 200 scholarships through the Scholarship Icon in the WOU Portal.
Non-renewable — students must reapply every year. Deadline March 1, 2026 for the upcoming academic year (awarded early April).
Do I have to apply separately for the Merit Award?
No. The Merit Award is automatically granted to graduating high school seniors who meet the unweighted-GPA cutoffs. There is no separate merit application — it is set from your admission GPA.
How much is the Merit Award?
For 2026-2027, Oregon residents and WUE students get $1,000 (2.75-3.10 GPA), $1,500 (3.11-3.40), $2,000 (3.41-3.75), or $4,000 (3.76+) per year. Nonresidents get $5,000 (3.00-3.59), $8,000 (3.60-3.74), $10,000 (3.75-3.94), or $12,000 (3.95+) per year.
How do I keep the Merit Award each year?
It renews over a 3-year renewal period if you complete 36 credits at WOU by the end of spring term and maintain a 3.0 WOU cumulative GPA.
What happens if I win an outside scholarship?
If a private scholarship pushes you over your Cost of Attendance or financial need, the Financial Aid Office will adjust your aid package and email you. WOU does not publish a rule guaranteeing outside scholarships reduce loans before grants — ask the aid office how an outside award affects your specific package.
What are the scholarship deadlines?
The WOU General Scholarship (one application for nearly 200 awards) is due March 1, 2026. The David S. Brody Scholarship and most department scholarships are due May 1, 2026.
See sources and other schools+
How Western Oregon compares
235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.
Western Oregon is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Western Oregon is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Western Oregon’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.