William Jewell award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at William Jewell?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
8 of 8 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 8 of 8
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 8
- Renewal risk profile
- moderate
Renewal risk profile
William Jewell's renewal bar is achievable for steady students but isn't generous. Most awards require a cumulative GPA in the 3.0–3.4 band plus full-time enrollment. Audit the strictest tier on this school's list before assuming the four-year value is locked in.
- First-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar): 2.00 GPA
- Achiever Scholarship (test-score award): 2.0 GPA
- Transfer Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar): 2.00 GPA
- A+ Scholarship (Missouri A+ Program): See notes
- Heritage (Alumni Legacy) Scholarship: 2.0 GPA
- Marionetta Snyder Scholarship: See notes
- First-Generation Scholarship: See notes
- Military Recognition Scholarship: See notes
Renewal terms by tier
First-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)
$3,000-$5,000 per yearEntry requirements: Minimum 3.25 cumulative HS GPA. Jewell Scholar 3.25-3.49 = $3,000; Trustee Scholar 3.50-3.74 = $4,000; Presidential Scholar 3.75 and above = $5,000. GPA
To keep it: Renewable for four years (eight full-time semesters). Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.00 cumulative GPA in order to renew, and complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester.
Achiever Scholarship (test-score award)
$1,000-$2,000 per yearEntry requirements: SAT 1160-1290 = $1,000; SAT 1300+ = $2,000 SAT · ACT 24-27 = $1,000; ACT 28+ = $2,000 ACT
To keep it: Listed among institutional scholarships requiring a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 to renew; same 12-credit-hour / 2.0 cumulative GPA renewal rule as other institutional aid.
Transfer Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)
$2,000-$4,000 per yearEntry requirements: Minimum 3.25 cumulative college GPA. Jewell Scholar 3.25-3.49 = $2,000; Trustee Scholar 3.50-3.74 = $3,000; Presidential Scholar 3.75 and above = $4,000. GPA
To keep it: Transfer Academic Scholarships are renewable for two years (four full-time semesters). Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.00 cumulative GPA in order to renew.
A+ Scholarship (Missouri A+ Program)
$3,000 per yearEntry requirements: Cumulative unweighted high school GPA of 3.0 or higher on the 6th or 7th semester transcript GPA
To keep it: Replaces an equal-or-lesser first-year Academic Scholarship; renewal not separately stated on the page.
Source: https://www.jewell.edu/afford/scholarships/specialized-and-partner-scholarships
Heritage (Alumni Legacy) Scholarship
$3,000 per yearTo keep it: Awarded per year; subject to the standard institutional 12-credit-hour / 2.0 cumulative GPA renewal rule.
Source: https://www.jewell.edu/afford/scholarships/specialized-and-partner-scholarships
Marionetta Snyder Scholarship
$2,500 per academic yearTo keep it: One scholarship per academic year; multi-year renewal not stated on the page.
Source: https://www.jewell.edu/afford/scholarships/specialized-and-partner-scholarships
First-Generation Scholarship
$1,000 per yearTo keep it: Awarded per year; multi-year renewal not separately stated. Subject to standard institutional renewal rule.
Source: https://www.jewell.edu/afford/scholarships/specialized-and-partner-scholarships
Military Recognition Scholarship
$1,000 per yearTo keep it: Awarded per year; subject to standard institutional renewal rule.
Source: https://www.jewell.edu/afford/scholarships/specialized-and-partner-scholarships
How families lose this aid
- Expecting big-name merit dollars like a flagship.
After Jewell's 2021 ~45% tuition reset, both sticker tuition (~$22,160 for 2026-27) and the merit awards were scaled down. The top automatic Academic Scholarship is $5,000/year (Presidential, 3.75+ GPA) plus up to $2,000/year for test scores — modest in dollars, but against a low private-college price.
- Assuming the test-score Achiever award is automatic without sending scores by the deadline.
Feb. 1 is the last day to provide test scores for Achiever Scholarships. Miss it and you keep the GPA-based Academic Scholarship but forfeit the $1,000-$2,000/year test-score add-on.
Renewal questions families ask
- Is the Academic Scholarship automatic?
- Yes for admitted first-year students with a minimum 3.25 cumulative high school GPA: Jewell Scholar (3.25-3.49) = $3,000, Trustee Scholar (3.50-3.74) = $4,000, Presidential Scholar (3.75+) = $5,000 per year, awarded on the GPA grid. A strong ACT/SAT adds a separate $1,000-$2,000/year Achiever award.
- How do I renew my scholarship?
- Complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester and maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0. First-Year Academic Scholarships renew for four years (eight semesters); Transfer Academic Scholarships renew for two years (four semesters). Renewal is reviewed at the end of the academic year.
- Can I combine Jewell scholarships?
- Sometimes. The test-score Achiever award stacks on the GPA-based Academic Scholarship. But academic awards cannot combine with athletic aid; Christian Fellows awards cannot combine with another Faith & Culture, talent, or athletic award (and Faith & Culture combined with need/merit cannot exceed full tuition); the Phi Theta Kappa $5,000 transfer award cannot combine with a merit scholarship; and the A+ award replaces rather than adds to an equal-or-lesser academic award.
Rules that bite at William Jewell
The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from William Jewell's own tier rules and not generic advice.
- Renewal ruleFirst-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Renewable for four years (eight full-time semesters). Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.00 cumulative GPA in order to renew, and complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
How William Jewell compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
William Jewell is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against William Jewell’s own published materials.
- Policy pageWilliam Jewell stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceWilliam Jewell cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersA+ Scholarship (Missouri A+ Program)
- Scholarship pageChristian Fellows / Worship Leadership Scholarship (Center for Faith and Culture)
- Scholarship pageBright Flight Scholarship (State of Missouri)
More on William Jewell merit aid
- William Jewell merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- William Jewell scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does William Jewell displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.