Skip to content

William Jewell scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$36,982per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

William Jewell awards automatic merit on admission. William Jewell does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. First-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)$3,000-$5,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    First-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)

    $3,000-$5,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Minimum 3.25 cumulative HS GPA. Jewell Scholar 3.25-3.49 = $3,000; Trustee Scholar 3.50-3.74 = $4,000; Presidential Scholar 3.75 and above = $5,000.
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for First-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)

    Who qualifies

    Entering from high school. Most awards available to applicants admitted before Dec. 1; funds may become limited due to demand.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for four years (eight full-time semesters). Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.00 cumulative GPA in order to renew, and complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester.

    Worth knowing

    Awarded automatically based on the cumulative high school GPA grid. Cannot be combined with athletic grants and scholarships. A strong ACT/SAT adds a separate stackable Achiever award (see next tier).

  2. Achiever Scholarship (test-score award)$1,000-$2,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Achiever Scholarship (test-score award)

    $1,000-$2,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    SAT
    SAT 1160-1290 = $1,000; SAT 1300+ = $2,000
    ACT
    ACT 24-27 = $1,000; ACT 28+ = $2,000
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Achiever Scholarship (test-score award)

    Who qualifies

    Test scores must be provided by Feb. 1 (last day to provide test scores for Achiever Scholarships).

    How to keep it

    Listed among institutional scholarships requiring a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0 to renew; same 12-credit-hour / 2.0 cumulative GPA renewal rule as other institutional aid.

    Worth knowing

    Stacks on top of the GPA-based Academic Scholarship ('Your test score can take your total award to the next level'). The page presents this as a separate test-score award alongside the First-Year Academic Scholarship grid. Test-score awards begin at a 24 ACT / 1170 SAT in the eligibility paragraph; the published grid rows read ACT 24-27 / SAT 1160-1290 = $1,000 and ACT 28+ / SAT 1300+ = $2,000 (a minor 1160 vs 1170 SAT-floor discrepancy on the same page — see Section C).

  3. Transfer Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)$2,000-$4,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Transfer Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)

    $2,000-$4,000 per year

    Published rangeAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Minimum 3.25 cumulative college GPA. Jewell Scholar 3.25-3.49 = $2,000; Trustee Scholar 3.50-3.74 = $3,000; Presidential Scholar 3.75 and above = $4,000.
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Transfer Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar)

    Who qualifies

    Students transferring from another college or university.

    How to keep it

    Transfer Academic Scholarships are renewable for two years (four full-time semesters). Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.00 cumulative GPA in order to renew.

    Worth knowing

    Automatic on transfer GPA. Cannot be combined with athletic grants and scholarships. (Phi Theta Kappa transfers can instead take a $5,000/yr award, but it may not be combined with a merit scholarship — see lesser-known scholarships.)

  4. A+ Scholarship (Missouri A+ Program)$3,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    A+ Scholarship (Missouri A+ Program)

    $3,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Cumulative unweighted high school GPA of 3.0 or higher on the 6th or 7th semester transcript
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for A+ Scholarship (Missouri A+ Program)

    Who qualifies

    Eligible Missouri students in the State of Missouri A+ Program who have not yet graduated from high school; confirmed by the school A+ program coordinator to be in good standing. Jewell application by Feb. 1.

    How to keep it

    Replaces an equal-or-lesser first-year Academic Scholarship; renewal not separately stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Replaces (does not stack with) any equal or lesser value first-year Academic Scholarship — so it raises the floor for A+ students but does not add to a higher academic award. Missouri-only.

  5. Heritage (Alumni Legacy) Scholarship$3,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Heritage (Alumni Legacy) Scholarship

    $3,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Heritage (Alumni Legacy) Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Children of alumni, siblings of alumni, or siblings of current students. Legacy status verified after applying. Deadline Feb. 1.

    How to keep it

    Awarded per year; subject to the standard institutional 12-credit-hour / 2.0 cumulative GPA renewal rule.

    Worth knowing

    Automatically included in the aid package once legacy status is verified. Not need-based.

  6. Marionetta Snyder Scholarship$2,500 per academic yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Marionetta Snyder Scholarship

    $2,500 per academic year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Marionetta Snyder Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    A prospective female student (one award).

    How to keep it

    One scholarship per academic year; multi-year renewal not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Single award designated for a prospective female student.

  7. First-Generation Scholarship$1,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    First-Generation Scholarship

    $1,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for First-Generation Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    First college student in the family. Automatically included in the aid package after applying.

    How to keep it

    Awarded per year; multi-year renewal not separately stated. Subject to standard institutional renewal rule.

    Worth knowing

    New for students entering 2024-2025. Automatically added once you apply.

  8. Military Recognition Scholarship$1,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Military Recognition Scholarship

    $1,000 per year

    Published amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Military Recognition Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Verify military affiliation status after applying.

    How to keep it

    Awarded per year; subject to standard institutional renewal rule.

    Worth knowing

    Added to the package after military affiliation is verified.

Lights up against William Jewell's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which William Jewell award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at William Jewell

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleFirst-Year Academic Scholarship (Jewell / Trustee / Presidential Scholar): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Renewable for four years (eight full-time semesters). Recipients must maintain a minimum 2.00 cumulative GPA in order to renew, and complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

Aid capHard $36,982 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at William Jewell cannot push the package past $36,982. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes William Jewell different

William Jewell awards an automatic GPA-based Academic Scholarship of $3,000-$5,000/year to first-year students with a 3.25+ HS GPA, with a stackable test-score Achiever award of $1,000-$2,000/year for an ACT 24+/SAT 1160+ — small dollar amounts, but on a low private-college sticker (~$22K tuition) after Jewell's 2021 tuition reset.

Merit tiers83 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take William Jewell's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. After Jewell's 2021 ~45% tuition reset, both sticker tuition (~$22,160 for 2026-27) and the merit awards were scaled down. The top automatic Academic Scholarship is $5,000/year (Presidential, 3.75+ GPA) plus up to $2,000/year for test scores — modest in dollars, but against a low private-college price.

  2. Feb. 1 is the last day to provide test scores for Achiever Scholarships. Miss it and you keep the GPA-based Academic Scholarship but forfeit the $1,000-$2,000/year test-score add-on.

  3. Academic awards 'cannot be combined with athletic grants and scholarships.' Recruited athletes have to choose the larger of the two paths, not add them.

  4. The A+ Scholarship 'replaces any equal or lesser value first-year Academic Scholarship award' — it raises a low award to $3,000 but does not stack on a higher one.

  5. The $5,000/year PTK award 'may not be combined with a merit scholarship,' so a transfer takes whichever single award is larger.

  6. Jewell's Oxbridge Honors Program page states it is 'not accepting new Oxbridge Honors students for fall 2025.' Older figures (e.g., $26,000/year) circulating online come from a 2020 student-newspaper article, not a current official aid page.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Cost-conscious students with a 3.25+ high school GPA (ideally with an ACT 24+/SAT 1160+) who want a predictable, automatic merit award at a small, historically Baptist-affiliated liberal-arts college near Kansas City; transfer students with a 3.25+ GPA also qualify for an automatic award.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $36,982 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at William Jewell, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at William Jewell, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$12,909
$30,001–$48,000$4,356
$48,001–$75,000$12,869
$75,001–$110,000$16,624
$110,001+$23,901
All income levels (average)$17,562

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$20,610
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$17,562

That works out to roughly a 51% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $35,785 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
68%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
74%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$24,498 (~$260/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$59,268
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
36%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
87%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Stacking at Jewell is category-gated, with a full-tuition cap on several awards. Academic awards cannot be combined with athletic grants/scholarships. The test-score Achiever award stacks on the GPA-based Academic Scholarship. The Hispanic Development Fund (HDF) match is applied after academic merit awards but cannot combine with athletic or performing-arts scholarships. Christian Fellows (Faith & Culture) awards cannot stack with another Faith & Culture, talent, or athletic scholarship, but may combine with need-based grants or merit scholarships 'not in excess of full tuition.' Phi Theta Kappa transfer ($5,000) may not be combined with a merit scholarship. No published policy was found describing how third-party OUTSIDE/private scholarships displace institutional aid (the Private Scholarships page only lists outside entities).

Multiple explicit no-combine rules between categories (academic vs. athletic; Faith & Culture vs. talent/athletic; PTK vs. merit), plus an explicit 'not in excess of full tuition' cap on Faith & Culture stacking. Test-score award is additive to academic. Outside/private scholarship displacement is not published; ask the aid office.

Source

Other William Jewell scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

Amount$5,000 per yearEligibilityTransfer students accepted to Jewell who verify Phi Theta Kappa membership.

May not be combined with a merit scholarship — a transfer chooses this OR the GPA-based Transfer Academic Scholarship, whichever is larger.

Source

Amount$1,000-$5,000 (Jewell match; $1,000 base for non-finalists)EligibilityAmerican Legion Oratorical contest placers (1st $5,000 / 2nd $2,500 / 3rd $2,250 / 4th $2,000), each matched by Jewell; any non-finalist competitor receives Jewell's $1,000 American Legion Scholarship.

Stackable with academic scholarships and renewable for up to 4 years. American Legion awards themselves are one-time.

Source

Amount100% match up to full cost of tuitionEligibilityStudents admitted to Jewell who receive an HDF scholarship.

Applied after all appropriate academic merit awards; cannot be combined with Jewell athletic or performing arts scholarships.

Source

Amount$1,000EligibilityRegularly admissible applicants who completed a CAPS Network program in high school, on a Jewell admission counselor recommendation by Feb. 1.

Limited award.

Source

Amount$1,000EligibilityRegularly admissible applicants who completed two PLTW courses, on a Jewell admission counselor recommendation by Feb. 1.

Limited award.

Source

Amount$500EligibilityRegularly admissible applicants who are citizens in Missouri Boys State or Missouri Girls State programs.

Missouri program participants.

Source

AmountUp to an additional $1,000EligibilityStudents awarded a school-district-based future-teacher / grow-your-own scholarship and/or loan-forgiveness program.

Match added on top of district award.

Source

AmountAmount not published on pageEligibilityAdmitted; submit FAFSA or CSS Profile; Christian Fellows application by June 1 (priority by Feb. 15); faith-leader recommendation.

Cannot stack with another Faith & Culture, talent, or athletic scholarship; may combine with need-based grants or merit scholarships but not in excess of full tuition. No dollar figure shown on the page — confirm with the Center for Faith and Culture.

Source

AmountProjected $3,000 (state-funded)EligibilityGraduating Missouri high school seniors scoring in the top 3% of Missouri ACT/SAT takers.

State award, not institutional; funded by the State of Missouri (figure from Jewell's Grants page, 2021-2022 projection — confirm current amount).

Source

William Jewell merit aid FAQ

  • Is the Academic Scholarship automatic?

    Yes for admitted first-year students with a minimum 3.25 cumulative high school GPA: Jewell Scholar (3.25-3.49) = $3,000, Trustee Scholar (3.50-3.74) = $4,000, Presidential Scholar (3.75+) = $5,000 per year, awarded on the GPA grid. A strong ACT/SAT adds a separate $1,000-$2,000/year Achiever award.

  • What are the deadlines?

    Most awards are available to applicants admitted before Dec. 1 (funds can run limited due to demand). Feb. 1 is the last day to provide test scores for the Achiever Scholarship, and the deadline for several specialized awards (A+, Heritage, CAPS, PLTW).

  • How do I renew my scholarship?

    Complete a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester and maintain a cumulative GPA of at least 2.0. First-Year Academic Scholarships renew for four years (eight semesters); Transfer Academic Scholarships renew for two years (four semesters). Renewal is reviewed at the end of the academic year.

  • Can I combine Jewell scholarships?

    Sometimes. The test-score Achiever award stacks on the GPA-based Academic Scholarship. But academic awards cannot combine with athletic aid; Christian Fellows awards cannot combine with another Faith & Culture, talent, or athletic award (and Faith & Culture combined with need/merit cannot exceed full tuition); the Phi Theta Kappa $5,000 transfer award cannot combine with a merit scholarship; and the A+ award replaces rather than adds to an equal-or-lesser academic award.

See sources and other schools

How William Jewell compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    William Jewell is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    William Jewell is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against William Jewell’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

  • Avila merit aid. Missouri private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Saint Louis U merit aid. Missouri private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • WashU merit aid. Missouri private school — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.
  • Mizzou merit aid. Missouri public university — compare automatic merit, amounts, and stacking.

Keep exploring William Jewell merit aid

The next chapter

Where does William Jewell fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook