Skip to content

Carroll University scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$55,220per year · 2026-2027 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Carroll University awards automatic merit on admission. Carroll University does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Trustee$26,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Trustee

    $26,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    4.00-3.9 (test-optional grid)
    ACT
    Per the test-score grid, a 3.8+ GPA with ACT 36-28 also qualifies for Trustee; specific full test grid not captured verbatim
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Trustee

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically at admission. Test-optional: ACT/SAT used only if it helps the application and merit scholarship.

    How to keep it

    Unless otherwise noted, scholarships are renewable for four years as long as the student maintains full-time financial aid undergraduate status and maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards.

    Worth knowing

    Top tier of the automatic GPA grid. The published range for the automatic merit scholarships is $18,000-$26,000 per year.

  2. Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Voorhees$24,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Voorhees

    $24,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.89-3.6 (test-optional grid)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Voorhees

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically at admission. Test-optional; ACT/SAT used only if it helps.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for four years as long as the student maintains full-time financial aid undergraduate status and maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards.

    Worth knowing

    Second tier of the automatic GPA grid.

  3. Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Charles Carroll$22,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Charles Carroll

    $22,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.59-3.3 (test-optional grid)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Charles Carroll

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically at admission. Test-optional; ACT/SAT used only if it helps.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for four years as long as the student maintains full-time financial aid undergraduate status and maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards.

    Worth knowing

    Third tier of the automatic GPA grid.

  4. Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Presidential$20,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Presidential

    $20,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    3.299-2.8 (test-optional grid)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Presidential

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically at admission. Test-optional; ACT/SAT used only if it helps.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for four years as long as the student maintains full-time financial aid undergraduate status and maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards.

    Worth knowing

    Fourth tier of the automatic GPA grid.

  5. Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Pioneer$18,000 per yearAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Pioneer

    $18,000 per year

    Published amountAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    2.799-2.5 (test-optional grid)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Automatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Pioneer

    Who qualifies

    Awarded automatically at admission. Test-optional; ACT/SAT used only if it helps.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for four years as long as the student maintains full-time financial aid undergraduate status and maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards.

    Worth knowing

    Entry tier of the automatic GPA grid; the floor of the $18,000-$26,000 published range.

  6. MacAllister Full Tuition ScholarshipFull tuition each year for four yearsNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    MacAllister Full Tuition Scholarship

    Full tuition each year for four years

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Maintain a 3.0 GPA
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for MacAllister Full Tuition Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Competitive. High school senior accepted to Carroll as a full-time student for fall 2027. Application opens September 1, 2026; deadline Monday, December 14, 2026. Finalists attend a mandatory on-campus interview Saturday, February 13, 2027.

    How to keep it

    Provides the full-tuition benefit each year for four years; recipients must maintain a 3.0 GPA. Recipients are not eligible for additional Carroll scholarships or grants.

    Worth knowing

    Three selected recipients receive full tuition for four years. Finalists who are not selected receive a $1,000 per year Scholar Award. Recipients are NOT eligible for additional Carroll scholarships or grants, so this replaces (does not stack on) the automatic merit grid.

  7. Davies Otto Fellow Science Scholarship$10,000 total; $2,500 renewable per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Davies Otto Fellow Science Scholarship

    $10,000 total; $2,500 renewable per year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Davies Otto Fellow Science Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Competitive; science focus

    How to keep it

    $2,500 renewable per year, $10,000 total over four years.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's competitive/named scholarships.

  8. William A. Ganfield Scholarship$5,000 total; $1,250 renewable per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    William A. Ganfield Scholarship

    $5,000 total; $1,250 renewable per year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for William A. Ganfield Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Competitive; named scholarship

    How to keep it

    $1,250 renewable per year, $5,000 total.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's competitive/named scholarships.

  9. George and Gerald Bitters Scholarship$1,000-$3,000 per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    George and Gerald Bitters Scholarship

    $1,000-$3,000 per year

    Published rangeNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for George and Gerald Bitters Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Competitive; named scholarship

    How to keep it

    Per-year amount stated; renewal terms not specified on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's competitive/named scholarships.

  10. Theatre Scholarship (majors)$4,000 total; $1,000 renewable per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Theatre Scholarship (majors)

    $4,000 total; $1,000 renewable per year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Theatre Scholarship (majors)

    Who qualifies

    Theatre majors (separate, smaller award for minors)

    How to keep it

    $1,000 renewable per year for majors, $4,000 total; minors receive $1,000 total / $250 renewable per year.

    Worth knowing

    Talent-based theatre award; minors get $1,000 total ($250 per year).

  11. Anne Hardy Art Scholarship$1,750 three year totalNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Anne Hardy Art Scholarship

    $1,750 three year total

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Anne Hardy Art Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Art focus; talent-based

    How to keep it

    Three-year total of $1,750.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's competitive/named scholarships.

  12. Jack and Corrine Reichert ScholarshipMinimum of $2,000 renewable per yearNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Jack and Corrine Reichert Scholarship

    Minimum of $2,000 renewable per year

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Jack and Corrine Reichert Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Competitive; named scholarship

    How to keep it

    Minimum of $2,000 renewable per year.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's competitive/named scholarships.

  13. Esports ScholarshipUp to $2,500Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Esports Scholarship

    Up to $2,500

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Esports Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Esports team participation

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not specified on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's competitive/named scholarships.

  14. Hilger Tradition Award$500 per year renewableNot automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Hilger Tradition Award

    $500 per year renewable

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Hilger Tradition Award

    Who qualifies

    Legacy/tradition award

    How to keep it

    $500 per year, renewable.

    Worth knowing

    Listed among Carroll's additional named awards.

  15. Visit Grant$2,000 ($500 per year)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Visit Grant

    $2,000 ($500 per year)

    Published award termsNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    Start with the award’s published eligibility.

    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Visit Grant

    Who qualifies

    Earned by completing an official campus visit

    How to keep it

    $500 per year, $2,000 total.

    Worth knowing

    Visit-based grant; total $2,000 paid as $500 per year.

Lights up against Carroll University's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Carroll University award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Carroll University

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Renewal ruleAutomatic Academic Merit Scholarship — Trustee: renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out

Unless otherwise noted, scholarships are renewable for four years as long as the student maintains full-time financial aid undergraduate status and maintains Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.

What makes Carroll University different

Carroll University (Waukesha, WI) awards every admitted freshman an automatic, GPA-only academic merit scholarship of $18,000-$26,000 per year on a published 5-tier grid, renewable for four years, with test scores used only if they help.

Merit tiers155 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Carroll University's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Carroll is test-optional for merit. The grid is GPA-only, and the page says scores are 'used only if it helps your application and merit scholarship.' A weak score cannot lower your award.

  2. MacAllister recipients 'are not eligible for additional Carroll scholarships or grants.' It replaces the merit grid rather than adding to it — and it goes to only three selected recipients after a December application and a February interview.

  3. Tuition is $41,200 and the comprehensive fee is $890, but room (e.g., a traditional double at $6,730) and a meal plan (e.g., Gold at $6,400) push the direct cost well past $55,000 before books and personal expenses.

  4. Carroll caps total aid at its cost of attendance and notes an outside award 'occasionally may have a direct effect on the type and amount of loan you will qualify for' — so it may displace loan eligibility rather than add cash.

  5. Automatic merit is set at admission from your GPA, and the headline MacAllister award has a hard December 14, 2026 application deadline plus a mandatory February 13, 2027 on-campus interview for finalists.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

Wisconsin-area and Midwest students who want a predictable, automatic, GPA-based merit floor at a small private health-sciences-focused university — strong-GPA applicants get the most, and test scores can only help, never hurt.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $55,220 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Carroll University, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Carroll University, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$15,718
$30,001–$48,000$16,875
$48,001–$75,000$14,134
$75,001–$110,000$15,730
$110,001+$14,891
All income levels (average)$15,193

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$38,890
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$15,193

That works out to roughly a 71% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $52,639 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
71%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
78%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$58,009
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
24%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
57%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Carroll's FAQ states that an outside scholarship in most cases has no effect on a student's aid, but occasionally may change the type and amount of loan a student qualifies for, and that financial aid from all sources cannot exceed Carroll's established cost of attendance. This is loan-first behavior with a COA cap. Note: MacAllister recipients are explicitly NOT eligible for additional Carroll scholarships or grants, so the headline full-tuition award does not stack with the automatic merit grid.

Outside scholarships first reduce loan eligibility ('occasionally it may have a direct effect on the type and amount of loan you will qualify for') rather than institutional merit aid in most cases, subject to a cost-of-attendance cap ('Financial aid from all sources cannot exceed the cost of attendance established by Carroll'). The page does not state how multiple institutional awards combine, except that MacAllister replaces rather than stacks.

Source

Other Carroll University scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVarying renewable amountsEligibilityEngineering / Computer Science majors.

Departmental; amount varies. Competitive.

Source

AmountVarying renewable amountsEligibilityMusic students; audition/talent-based.

Amount varies by audition.

Source

Amount$1,000 one year scholarshipEligibilityNamed award; one-year, non-renewable.

One-time award.

Source

Amount$2,000 one year scholarshipEligibilityHigh school seniors who reside or attend high school in Waukesha County.

Corporate-funded, one-year award; separate program page exists.

Source

AmountVarying renewable amounts up to full tuitionEligibilitySelective; amount varies.

Can reach full tuition; competitive.

Source

Carroll University merit aid FAQ

  • Is the academic merit scholarship automatic?

    Yes. Carroll awards an automatic merit scholarship at admission based on your GPA, ranging from $18,000 to $26,000 per year across five tiers (Pioneer through Trustee). No separate scholarship application is required for the automatic grid.

  • Do I need test scores to qualify?

    No. The grid is GPA-only and Carroll is test-optional: 'If you send us your ACT or SAT score, we'll use it only if it helps your application and merit scholarship.' A submitted score can move you up but cannot move you down.

  • How do I keep my scholarship for four years?

    Unless otherwise noted, the scholarships are renewable for four years as long as you maintain full-time financial-aid undergraduate status and meet Carroll's Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Standards. The page does not publish a specific renewal GPA for the automatic grid.

  • Will an outside scholarship reduce my Carroll aid?

    In most cases it has no effect, but occasionally it can change the type and amount of loan you qualify for, and total aid from all sources cannot exceed Carroll's cost of attendance. Carroll asks you to notify the Financial Aid Office if you receive one.

  • Can I get both the automatic merit scholarship and the MacAllister full-tuition award?

    No. MacAllister recipients are not eligible for additional Carroll scholarships or grants, so the full-tuition award replaces the automatic grid rather than stacking on it.

See sources and other schools

How Carroll University compares

  • 145 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use loan-first displacement.

    Carroll University is in a recognizable cluster (145 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Carroll University is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Carroll University’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Carroll University merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Carroll University fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook