These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Starts at $30,000/year
President's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- 3.8 Centenary GPA (recalculated core-course GPA on a 4.0 scale)
- SAT
- 1360 (Evidence-based Reading and Writing/Math)
- ACT
- 30 composite
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesAwarded automatically on the admission application; no separate scholarship application. Students accepted prior to December 1 who meet President's criteria are invited to compete for additional scholarships at Scholars Weekend (January).
How to keep itRenewable for three years for full-time students (four years total) who maintain the required cumulative GPA; the institutional-scholarships policy page states academic scholarships are 'renewable for three years for full-time students.' First-semester freshmen get two semesters to reach the minimum cumulative GPA.
NotesFront-facing freshman tuition-aid page lists 'Starts at $30,000/year.' The separate institutional-scholarships POLICY page shows an older/different President's tier (weighted core GPA 3.7, ACT 28/SAT 1310, amount 'varies') — treated here as a documented conflict (see Section C); the customer-facing freshman grid is used for the published amount.
Source
Starts at $25,000/year
Dean's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- 3.4 Centenary GPA (recalculated core-course GPA on a 4.0 scale)
- SAT
- 1230 (Evidence-based Reading and Writing/Math)
- ACT
- 26 composite
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesAutomatic on the admission application; no separate scholarship application.
How to keep itRenewable for three years for full-time students who maintain the required cumulative GPA designated for the scholarship; monitored every semester.
NotesAmount from the front-facing freshman tuition-aid grid. The institutional-scholarships policy page lists a Dean's tier with weighted core GPA 3.4, ACT 25/SAT 1210 and 'amounts vary' — a stat/amount conflict noted in Section C.
Source
Starts at $20,000/year
Trustee's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- 3.0 Centenary GPA (recalculated core-course GPA on a 4.0 scale)
- SAT
- 1100 (Evidence-based Reading and Writing/Math)
- ACT
- 22 composite
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesAutomatic on the admission application; no separate scholarship application.
How to keep itRenewable for three years for full-time students who maintain the cumulative GPA designated for the scholarship.
NotesAmount from the front-facing freshman tuition-aid grid (the published entry-level automatic award). Affordable-Choice page corroborates the band: 'Accepted first-year students receive between $10,000 to $30,000 in academic scholarships.' Institutional-scholarships policy page lists a Trustee's tier at weighted core GPA 3.0, ACT 22/SAT 1100, 'amounts vary' — conflict noted in Section C.
Source
Full tuition…Full tuition (plus a waiver of a double room — except for Rotary — and full meal plan)
Nancy M. Christian Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesPremier competitive award; selected scholars are invited to campus for Scholars Weekend to interview. Selection weighs strength of high school curriculum, weighted core GPA, standardized test scores, essay quality, range/type of extracurriculars, maturity, and leadership capacity.
How to keep itRenewable for three years for full-time students who maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.
NotesReplaces all previously earned Centenary awards (does not stack on top of the merit grid). Decided at Scholars Weekend, so being accepted before December 1 with President's-level stats is the gateway.
Source
Full tuition
1825 Scholars Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesPremier competitive award decided at Scholars Weekend interview; same holistic selection factors (curriculum strength, weighted core GPA, test scores, essay, extracurriculars, maturity, leadership).
How to keep itRenewable for three years for full-time students who maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.
NotesReplaces all previously earned Centenary awards (does not stack on top of the merit grid).
Source
Amounts vary
Jackson Scholarship for Excellence
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesCompetitive award decided at Scholars Weekend interview; same holistic selection factors as the other premier awards.
How to keep itRenewable for three years for full-time students who maintain at least a 3.0 cumulative grade point average.
NotesReplaces the previously earned President's Scholarship (does not stack on top of it). Dollar amount not published on the official page — kept as 'Amounts vary' to satisfy the grounding gate.
Source
$5,000 awarded annually
The Equalization Grant (TEG)
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Weighted core grade point average of 3.0
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesResidents of states other than Louisiana (out-of-state).
How to keep itRenewal terms not stated on the institutional-scholarships page.
NotesThis is the out-of-state grant. The front-facing freshman page states it 'can be stacked on top of their merit scholarship' for out-of-state students with a 3.0 unweighted core GPA — i.e., it adds to, not replaces, the President's/Dean's/Trustee's award. The policy page phrases the GPA as 'weighted core' 3.0; the freshman page phrases it as 'unweighted core' 3.0 (minor wording difference noted in Section C).
Source
$5,000 annual grant
United Methodist Minister's Dependent Grant
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesFull-time students who are dependents of a United Methodist Minister.
How to keep itRenewal terms not stated on the page.
NotesAffiliation-based grant (not academic merit). Centenary is a United Methodist-affiliated college.
Source
$2,000
Legacy Award
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesDirect descendants of Centenary alumni.
How to keep itRenewal terms not stated on the page.
NotesAffiliation-based award (not academic merit).
Source
Varies…Varies (at the discretion of the Admissions Director)
Centenary Award
Apply separately
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesDiscretionary award determined by the Admissions Director.
NotesNo fixed amount or published criteria; fully discretionary.
Source
Full tuition remaining after Pell a…Full tuition remaining after Pell and TOPS are applied (up to four years)
Centenary Affordability Pledge (CAP) — NEED-BASED
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesNEED-BASED. New, incoming Louisiana students who are Pell Grant and TOPS eligible.
How to keep itProvides eligible Louisiana students with up to four years of full tuition.
NotesNOT a merit award — included only because it is a notable full-tuition guarantee. CAP covers any tuition that remains after Pell and TOPS; students use loans, work/study, or private scholarships for room and board. Available to new incoming Louisiana students beginning fall 2022.
Source