These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
Varied amounts up to full tuition p…Varied amounts up to full tuition per year
Xavier University Academic Scholarships
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Good high school GPA (no fixed cutoff published for the partial award)
- SAT
- Above-average SAT (no fixed cutoff published)
- ACT
- Above-average ACT (no fixed cutoff published)
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesAwarded automatically at the time of admission based on information submitted with the application; a high school counselor recommendation is part of the consideration
How to keep itRenewable for up to 8 consecutive semesters. Per the dedicated Academic Scholarship Policy page, renew by keeping a valid FAFSA on file, full-time enrollment, a cumulative GPA of 3.1 or higher, and 30 completed credit hours per year. A cumulative GPA of 3.0 (but below 3.1) drops the award to 75% of the initial amount; below 3.0 cancels it permanently. (The older catalog text states a 3.3 minimum with a 3.0-3.29 reduction band — see Section C conflict.)
NotesThis is the automatic base merit award every freshman is considered for at admission; amounts scale up to full tuition but no published dollar grid ties a specific amount to a specific GPA/test band. The dollar amount is not stated, so it is reported as a range, not a number.
Source
Full tuition…Full tuition, mandatory student fees, and room and board
Board of Trustees Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Minimum 3.8 high school GPA
- SAT
- Minimum 1250 SAT (combined Reading and Math)
- ACT
- Minimum 28 ACT composite
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesDemonstrated community involvement and leadership potential as evidenced in the admissions application and scholarship application materials
How to keep itCovers eight consecutive semesters and accounts for any institutional adjustments in Arts & Sciences tuition. Subject to the same renewal terms (3.1 cumulative GPA per the policy page; 75% reduction at 3.0).
NotesXULA's top award — the only one that also covers room and board, not just tuition/fees. Considered from the admissions application; note the page says 'scholarship application materials,' so confirm whether a separate scholarship application is required.
Source
Full tuition and a full housing all…Full tuition and a full housing allowance
President's Scholarship
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Minimum 3.8 high school GPA
- SAT
- Minimum 1170 SAT (combined Reading and Math)
- ACT
- Minimum 26 ACT composite
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesDemonstrated community involvement and leadership potential as evidenced in the admissions application and scholarship application materials
How to keep itCovers eight consecutive semesters and accounts for any institutional adjustments in Arts & Sciences tuition. Subject to the same renewal terms (3.1 cumulative GPA per the policy page; 75% reduction at 3.0).
NotesFull tuition plus a housing allowance (does not include the mandatory-fee + full room-and-board coverage of the Board of Trustees award). Slightly lower test bar (26 ACT / 1170 SAT) than Board of Trustees (28 ACT / 1250 SAT) at the same 3.8 GPA.
Source
Full tuition
St. Katharine Drexel Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesValedictorian or salutatorian of a U.S. Catholic high school graduating class
How to keep itCovers eight consecutive semesters and accounts for any institutional adjustments in Arts & Sciences tuition. Subject to the same renewal terms (3.1 cumulative GPA per the policy page; 75% reduction at 3.0).
NotesEligibility is rank-based (val/sal at a Catholic high school), not a published GPA/test grid, so it is not 'automatic on stats' in the usual sense. Named for St. Katharine Drexel, founder of the university.
Source
Full tuition
Norman C. Francis Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesValedictorian or salutatorian of a public high school in Orleans or Jefferson parish
How to keep itCovers eight consecutive semesters and accounts for any institutional adjustments in Arts & Sciences tuition. Subject to the same renewal terms (3.1 cumulative GPA per the policy page; 75% reduction at 3.0).
NotesGeographically restricted (Orleans/Jefferson public high schools) and rank-based, so not 'automatic on stats.' Named for Dr. Norman C. Francis, XULA's long-serving former president.
Source
Up to a maximum of $5,000 per year
Xavier University Grant
Based on grades or scoresCan continue
- GPA
- Good high school GPA
- SAT
- Above-average SAT
- ACT
- Above-average ACT
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesHigh school counselor recommendation; awarded to first-time freshmen based on application information
How to keep itRenewable for up to eight consecutive semesters of full-time enrollment; reviewed annually. Recipients must maintain at least a 2.75 GPA (a lower renewal bar than the academic scholarships).
NotesA smaller merit-grant tier (max $5,000) awarded alongside or below the academic scholarships; has its own lower 2.75 renewal GPA. Despite the name 'Grant,' the catalog describes it as merit-driven (HS GPA + test + counselor rec), not need-based.
Source
$2,500 to $5,000
Transfer Student Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifiesBased on the student's academic record at their previous institution (for transfer students)
How to keep itRenewal terms not stated on the catalog page for transfer awards specifically; the general academic-scholarship renewal policy (3.1 GPA, 30 credits/yr, FAFSA) governs institutional scholarships.
NotesFor transfer students only; awarded on the prior-institution academic record. Transfer students are not eligible for the Rousseve Scholars Program.
Source
Full tuition scholarship and a…Full tuition scholarship and a $250 book allowance for an academic year
Rousseve Scholars Program
Apply separatelyCan continue
- GPA
- Selected on the basis of the previous two semesters' GPA (top ten per class); cumulative GPA used to break ties (high school GPA for sophomores)
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifiesMust take the appropriate number of semester hours for advancement and have no grades of F, U, or W during the academic year. Transfer students are not eligible.
How to keep itSelected annually for one academic year; the top ten students in each of the sophomore, junior, and senior classes are chosen each year based on the previous two semesters' GPA. It is an annual selection rather than a multi-year renewable award.
NotesA continuing-student (sophomore/junior/senior) merit award, NOT an entering-freshman scholarship; included because it is a notable full-tuition merit track. Limited to the top ten students per class each year.
Source