Skip to content

Montana Tech scholarships and merit aid

Two prices: the posted one, and yours.

Posted price$27,418per year · 2025-2026 · cost of attendance
Yours?depends on the rules below

The short answer

Montana Tech awards automatic merit on admission. Montana Tech does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Where does your student land?

Verified Jul 2026
4 school sources to explore

Published rules, with the school sources close at hand. Confirm the details before you count on an award.

The award collection

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

Where does your student land?

  1. Oredigger Merit ScholarshipAmount not publishedAutomaticRenewable
    Published awardAcademic thresholds

    Oredigger Merit Scholarship

    Amount not published

    Published award termsAll published eligibility conditions still apply. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Based on GPA (specific cutoffs not published)
    SAT
    Based on test scores (specific cutoffs not published)
    ACT
    Based on test scores (specific cutoffs not published)
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Oredigger Merit Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    New, first-time students who enroll in the first fall semester after high school graduation. No scholarship application necessary. Award announcement letters mailed in the fall upon acceptance.

    How to keep it

    Renewal terms not stated on the pages opened; confirm with Financial Aid.

    Worth knowing

    Automatic merit award; Montana Tech states it awards approximately $1 million to each incoming class of first-time undergraduates, a big portion merit-based. The specific dollar amounts and GPA/test bands for the Oredigger Merit grid are NOT published on the scholarship pages.

  2. Marie Moebus Presidential ScholarshipAmount not published (combination of a tuition waiver and cash)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Marie Moebus Presidential Scholarship

    Amount not published (combination of a tuition waiver and cash)

    Published coverage or packageNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Cumulative high school GPA of 3.75 or higher
    SAT
    SAT >= 1410
    ACT
    ACT >= 30
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Marie Moebus Presidential Scholarship

    Who qualifies

    Incoming first-time student pursuing a bachelor's (four-year) degree; actively engaged in community and school. Application required (600-word essay, two letters of recommendation, resume of activities) via the student's PURL page.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to four years; specific renewal GPA/criteria not stated on the page.

    Worth knowing

    Montana Tech's most prestigious and competitive award. NOT automatic — requires a separate application with essay and letters. Amount (tuition waiver + cash) is not published.

  3. Ryan and Lisa Lance Scholars Program$4,000 per year (renewable up to an additional three years; up to $16,000 total)Not automaticRenewable
    Published awardOther selection criteria

    Ryan and Lisa Lance Scholars Program

    $4,000 per year (renewable up to an additional three years; up to $16,000 total)

    Variable or qualified amountNot recorded as automatic on grades and scores. Read the selection rules. Confirm the policy year with the school.

    GPA
    Maintain a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher at the time of application
    RenewableCheck the conditions
    Open award details for Ryan and Lisa Lance Scholars Program

    Who qualifies

    Resident of Montana; incoming first-year, transfer, or Highlands student moving to a bachelor's program; complete the Lance Scholars scholarship application (3-5 sentence essay) via PURL; complete the FAFSA. 50 in-state students selected annually.

    How to keep it

    Renewable for up to an additional three years (four years total / up to $16,000); specific renewal GPA not stated.

    Worth knowing

    Distinct named award limited to 50 Montana residents per year. Requires both a separate application and the FAFSA, with firm deadlines.

Lights up against Montana Tech's published cutoffs. Not an award offer; confirm with the financial aid office. Award terms and residency rules change; some awards differ for in-state and out-of-state students. Always confirm at the school’s source page.

Free Merit Check

Check the rules that could cut this.

The free Merit Check shows which Montana Tech award your student's numbers reach, and the rules that could change it. About 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Montana Tech

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

This page covers one school.

Your playbook does this for every school on your list, sorted by what you’d pay.

Ready in under 10 minutes. 30-day money-back guarantee.

  • Secure payment through Stripe
  • “it told me what to ask and what the renewal GPA looked like, which I was not going to find on my own”Melissa

The fine print

Aid capHard $27,418 cost-of-attendance ceiling

Institutional aid at Montana Tech cannot push the package past $27,418. Big outside wins can mathematically reduce institutional grant once the ceiling is reached.

What makes Montana Tech different

A STEM university that auto-awards Oredigger Merit Scholarships on GPA/test scores (no application), tops it with the competitive Marie Moebus Presidential Scholarship (tuition waiver + cash, essay required), and adds a $4,000/year Lance Scholars award for 50 Montana residents. DRAFT.

Merit tiers31 based on grades or scores
Research checkedJul 2026By our research team

More than one award path

Separate the two paths.

Some awards use published academic thresholds. Others have different selection criteria. A score chart does not describe every award at this school.

  1. Match the published criteria

    Use all requirements together, including residency and the entering class.

  2. Check the application dates

    Confirm the current admission and scholarship deadlines directly with the school.

  3. Know what happens next year

    Check renewal, credit requirements and how other aid affects the award.

The fine print / Three questions to carry forward

Before you count on it.

Does it apply to us? Confirm the entering year, residency and every eligibility condition.

Can we keep it? Check renewal GPA, credits and how long the award lasts.

Can we combine it? Ask how outside scholarships and other school awards change the offer.

Take Montana Tech's decision sheet

A printable research summary, source links and room for your questions.

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. Only the Oredigger Merit Scholarship is automatic (no application). The Marie Moebus Presidential (essay + 2 letters + resume) and the Lance Scholars award (application + FAFSA) require separate submissions via the student's PURL page.

  2. For the cycle shown, the FAFSA was due February 1, 2026 and the Lance application February 15, 2026, with recipients notified April 1 and acceptance due May 1, 2026. Miss these and you lose the $4,000/year award.

  3. It is described only as 'a combination of a tuition waiver and cash' with no published dollar amount — it is not stated to cover full tuition or full cost of attendance.

  4. The Lance Scholars Program is limited to 50 Montana residents per year and requires the FAFSA.

  5. Montana Tech states COA serves as a cap on the total amount of aid a student can receive in an academic year, so additional scholarships can be limited once total aid reaches COA.

  6. If you are not enrolled full-time after the term's census date, the COA is adjusted to your new credit load and the financial aid offer is changed accordingly.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

High-stat STEM freshmen (3.75+ GPA, ACT 30/SAT 1410 for the Presidential), and Montana residents who can hit the Lance Scholars deadlines. DRAFT.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $27,418 for 2025-2026. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Montana Tech, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Montana Tech, academic year 2021-22 — in-state, Title-IV aid recipients only
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$11,914
$30,001–$48,000$13,733
$48,001–$75,000$15,187
$75,001–$110,000$18,843
$110,001+$19,595
All income levels (average)$16,481

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees (in-state), AY 2022-23
$8,340
Published tuition & fees (out-of-state), AY 2022-23
$26,150
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$16,481

That works out to roughly a 28% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $22,786 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Montana Tech is a public school; Scorecard's net price figure covers in-state, Title-IV-aid-recipient payers only — there is no comparable federal figure for out-of-state students.

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
58%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
77%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$18,750 (~$199/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$54,329
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
27%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
43%
See other scholarships and cost examples

If your student brings another scholarship

Cost of attendance serves as a cap on the total amount of aid a student can receive in an academic year.

The Net Price Calculator / cost page states COA is used to determine need-based eligibility and serves as a cap on total aid in a given academic year. The pages opened do not specifically address how private/outside scholarships displace institutional merit awards (an 'Outside Scholarships' page exists but was not opened for this extract).

Source

Other Montana Tech scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityCurrently enrolled Montana Tech undergraduates; based on credits earned at Montana Tech and cumulative GPA (some consider major/donor criteria). Apply via the Continuing Student Scholarship Application (AcademicWorks) for 2026-2027.

Separate application; reopened for late submissions for remaining funds.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityNew transfer students; evaluated on an ongoing basis after admission by GPA and other criteria (e.g., major). No application necessary; notified directly.

Automatic post-admission evaluation for transfers.

Source

Montana Tech merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    For the Lance Scholars Program cycle shown: FAFSA due February 1, 2026; Lance application due February 15, 2026; recipients notified April 1, 2026; deadline to accept May 1, 2026. Oredigger Merit Scholarships require no application (automatic on GPA/test scores); the Marie Moebus Presidential application is submitted via the student's PURL page.

  • Do I need to apply separately for merit aid?

    Oredigger Merit Scholarships are automatic with no application. The Marie Moebus Presidential and Lance Scholars awards each require a separate application (and the FAFSA for Lance).

  • How much does Montana Tech cost?

    For a bachelor's-seeking student at 12+ credits, the estimated full cost of attendance is $27,418 in-state, $45,218 out-of-state, and $30,868 at the WUE Advantage rate (tuition & fees $8,770 / $26,570 / $12,220, plus living, books, transportation, and personal).

  • What stats does the Presidential Scholarship require?

    A cumulative high school GPA of 3.75+ and ACT ≥ 30 or SAT ≥ 1410, plus an essay, two letters of recommendation, and a resume.

See sources and other schools

How Montana Tech compares

  • 235 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use cost-of-attendance cap displacement.

    Montana Tech is in a recognizable cluster (235 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Montana Tech is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Montana Tech’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Montana Tech merit aid

The next chapter

Where does Montana Tech fit in your plan?

You have the school’s rules. Now put them in the context of your student and the rest of your list.

  1. Check your student’s numbers, free
  2. Explore another school
  3. See how the research becomes a plan

Ready to work through your whole list? Get my playbook

Inside the sample

Jordan’s playbook

Same student.
Four schools.
Four very different bills.

An illustrative student profile, with a school order, scholarship research and a to-do list. Open the sample to see how it works.

Open the sample playbook