DRAFT: Reinhardt's headline merit awards are capped-count competitive scholarships — eight $10,000 Presidentials (3.75+ GPA) and thirty $3,000 Diverse Talents awards (2.7+ GPA, residential) — layered over a first-come, first-served United Methodist (Hagan) scholarship program worth up to $12,000 in tuition-only aid.
Verified Jun 20263 months ago
The short answer
Is Reinhardt worth a closer look?
Reinhardt may be worth checking, but its awards do not follow a simple grades-and-scores chart. Start with the published scholarships below.
Merit tiers5See who qualifies
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team
Free Merit Check
See what Reinhardt's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.
Published scholarships
These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.
$10,000
Presidential Scholarship
Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
High school GPA of 3.75 or above
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifies
Engagement in service to others; primary educational goal in liberal arts and sciences or high-need areas such as cybersecurity and nursing; eight awarded annually; priority to residential students not receiving other talent aid
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Notes
Reinhardt's highest academic award. The page states these 'can be coupled with another merit award.'
Admitted students with a 2.5 or higher high school GPA are eligible to apply (as currently printed on the page — see note)
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifies
Application required; learning community and leadership development program participation
How to keep it
Renewal terms not stated on the page.
Notes
CAUTION: the page's Sharp Scholarship text is word-for-word identical to the Lettie Pate Whitehead entry ('supports Christian women leaders on campus ... 2.5 or higher'), which appears to be a copy-paste error; a Reinhardt news page surfaced in search describes Sharp as the second-highest academic award at 3.2+ GPA, but that was not verified on an opened page. Confidence: needs confirmation.
High school GPA of at least 2.0 (all Hagan awards); UMC Youth award: $2,000 max at 3.0+ HS GPA, $1,000 max at 2.0
See who qualifies and how to keep it+
Who qualifies
First-time Reinhardt student enrolled full-time (12+ hours) at the Waleska campus; separate Hagan application due July 1; UMC Youth requires active membership in North/South Georgia Conference UMC + two church letters; Ministers' Dependents award (up to $12,000 tuition) requires District Superintendent letter and HS graduation within 5 years; Ministerial Aid ($1,000 max) requires ministry career intent + chaplain interview
How to keep it
Renewable for subsequent years by maintaining a minimum 2.50 cumulative GPA at Reinhardt and meeting program requirements.
Notes
Tuition-only: 'Hagan Scholarships are restricted to cover the cost of tuition and cannot be used to offset other costs, including room and board or fees.' Only one Reinhardt-funded United Methodist scholarship may be received; if eligible for multiple Hagan types, the highest-value one is awarded. Funds are first-come, first-served within annual budget caps; not applicable to summer.
STEM Teacher Education Development Scholarship (Noyce/NSF)
Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies+
Who qualifies
Biology and mathematics high school teacher candidates; must commit to teach full-time in a high-need school as a STEM teacher for two years after graduation per scholarship year
How to keep it
Awarded in the student's last two years; each scholarship year carries a two-year teaching service commitment.
Notes
Stated as 'up to $20,000 per year in their last two years.' Service obligation makes this conditional aid.
These are the rules we would flag for your family. Each comes from Reinhardt's published information.
Outside awardsNo published displacement order
Reinhardt's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.
What families often miss
Hagan applications and all supporting documents are due by July 1 before enrollment, are reviewed only once a year, and each program has a fixed annual budget awarded first-come, first-served. Late or slow applicants get nothing even if eligible.
Hagan Scholarships 'are restricted to cover the cost of tuition and cannot be used to offset other costs, including room and board or fees' — and they are split fall/spring only, with no summer application.
Students 'may receive only one United Methodist Scholarship funded by Reinhardt University,' and a student eligible for multiple Hagan types receives only the single highest-value category.
While the Presidential 'can be coupled with another merit award,' the page states priority goes 'to residential students who are not receiving other talent aid' — holding talent aid can cost you one of only eight awards.
Hagan renewal requires a 2.50 cumulative GPA at Reinhardt — notably higher than the 2.0 high-school GPA needed to get the award initially.
Both awards require living in residential housing/on campus per the published criteria.
Each $20,000 scholarship year obligates the student to teach full-time in a high-need school as a STEM teacher for two years after graduation.
See costs and school data+
Who this school may work for
DRAFT: High-GPA students in liberal arts or high-need majors (cybersecurity, nursing) chasing one of eight Presidentials, residential students with leadership profiles for Diverse Talents, and United Methodist families who apply early for first-come Hagan funds.
Published yearly cost: Approximately $46,612 for 2024-2025. Source
Cost and graduation facts
Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Reinhardt, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.
Average annual net price by family income at Reinhardt, academic year 2021-22
Family income
Average net price paid
$0–$30,000
$21,877
$30,001–$48,000
$21,977
$48,001–$75,000
$23,758
$75,001–$110,000
$28,296
$110,001+
$26,816
All income levels (average)
$24,425
Sticker price vs. what students actually pay
Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$30,074
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$24,425
That works out to roughly a 47% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $46,386 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).
Outcomes for students who enrolled here
Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
44%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
62%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$23,900 (~$253/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$46,541
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
48%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
69%
See other scholarships and cost examples+
If your student brings another scholarship
Reinhardt publishes award-specific combination rules rather than a general policy: the Presidential Scholarship 'can be coupled with another merit award' (but priority goes to students NOT receiving other talent aid); students may hold only ONE Reinhardt-funded United Methodist (Hagan) scholarship, and Hagan awards are tuition-only; outside/private scholarship displacement is not addressed on the page.
Presidential: '(These scholarships can be coupled with another merit award.)' and 'Priority will be given to residential students who are not receiving other talent aid.' Hagan: 'You may receive only one United Methodist Scholarship funded by Reinhardt University'; 'Should an applicant be eligible for more than one type of Hagan Scholarship, the award will be made from the category which provides the recipient with the maximum scholarship possible'; 'restricted to cover the cost of tuition.' No COA-cap or outside-scholarship rule found on pages opened.
These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.
Amount$4,000 (5 recipients annually)EligibilityStudents supporting the athletic department at home events WITHOUT being on a team; 3.0+ GPA maintained; must live on campus.
A work-style scholarship with GPA, residency, and participation conditions.
AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityAutomatic for permanent Cherokee County residents (12 consecutive months pre-enrollment) or dependents of such residents.
Amount$1,000 (one-time)EligibilityFemale graduates of Cherokee County high schools with 3.0+ GPA; preference for softball/sports, peer mediator/student council, and Christian club involvement.
Amount$3,000 annuallyEligibilityFirst-time freshmen of Hispanic or Latino descent with 3.0+ cumulative GPA, school/community involvement, and financial need.
Blanche Hagan (United Methodist) scholarship applications and supporting documents are due July 1 before the enrollment year, and funds are awarded first-come, first-served. Most other institutional scholarships are considered automatically during admissions; some (Diverse Talents, Lettie Pate Whitehead, Sharp) require separate applications with no published deadline.
How much is the top academic scholarship?
The Presidential Scholarship is $10,000 per year, with eight awarded annually to incoming students with a 3.75+ high school GPA, service engagement, and a primary goal in the liberal arts and sciences or high-need fields like cybersecurity and nursing.
Is there extra aid for United Methodist students?
Yes — three Blanche Hagan programs: UMC youth ($2,000/yr max at 3.0+ HS GPA; $1,000 at 2.0), dependents of UMC ministers in the North/South Georgia Conference (up to $12,000/yr, tuition only), and future ministers of any denomination ($1,000 max). One award per student; renewal requires a 2.50 Reinhardt GPA.
What does Reinhardt cost?
The most recent published full cost of attendance (2024-25) for an on-campus student was $46,612 (tuition & fees $28,420, food & housing $11,700, books $1,226, transportation $3,252, miscellaneous $2,014). The 2025-26 catalog lists full-time tuition at $15,050 per semester ($30,100/year); 2026-27 figures were not yet published on the pages opened.
See sources and other schools+
How Reinhardt compares
133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.
Reinhardt is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.
Reinhardt is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Reinhardt is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Reinhardt’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.