Spring Hill College award rules
Will the scholarship last four years at Spring Hill College?
We pulled the school’s grade, credit, and time limits into one place so you can see what it takes to keep the award.
The short answer
9 of 9 published awards are listed as renewable.
The exact rule can change by award. Check the award your student may receive before you count on the same amount every year.
What to do
Find the award name in the full research below. Save its grade, credit, and deadline rules with your college plan.
See every award rule, common mistake, and source
At a glance
- Renewable tiers
- 9 of 9
- One-time tiers
- 0
- Tiers with published renewal terms
- 9
- Renewal risk profile
- low
Renewal risk profile
Spring Hill College's published renewal rules cluster around a 3.0 floor with no major-GPA gating, which is survivable for the typical freshman with steady study habits. The risk is non-renewal due to enrollment status (dropping below full-time), not GPA.
- Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic): See notes
- Magis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates): Full-time enrollment
- Legacy Award: See notes
- Opportunity Grant: See notes
- Visit Grant: See notes
- Transfer Academic Scholarship (tuition-only): See notes
- DeWine Family Scholarship: 2.5 GPA
- Foley Center Service Scholarship: See notes
- Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship (transfer): See notes
Renewal terms by tier
Academic Merit Scholarship (automatic)
$4,000-$11,500 per yearEntry requirements: Based on the student's high school record; no published numeric GPA/test cutoff grid GPA
To keep it: Described as merit scholarships students are awarded on admission; specific renewal GPA is not stated on the scholarships page (a third-party secondary source cites a renewal GPA, but it is NOT confirmed on an official SHC page — see Section C).
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
Magis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates)
$8,000 per year for up to four yearsTo keep it: Stated as 'for up to four years of full time study.' Specific renewal GPA not stated.
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
Legacy Award
$1,000 annually for four yearsTo keep it: Stated as '$1,000 annually for four year[s].'
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
Opportunity Grant
$1,000 annually for four yearsTo keep it: Stated as '$1,000 annually for four years.'
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
Visit Grant
$500 per year (up to $2,000 over four years)To keep it: Stated as '$500 annual visit grant ... up to $2,000 over four years.'
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/grants/
Transfer Academic Scholarship (tuition-only)
$6,000-$10,000 annuallyTo keep it: Renewal GPA not stated on the scholarships page.
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
DeWine Family Scholarship
Varies (amount not published)Entry requirements: Minimum unweighted high school GPA 3.0 GPA · 1030 SAT · 20 ACT
To keep it: Renewable provided the recipient maintains a minimum 2.5 GPA in all college coursework.
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
Foley Center Service Scholarship
$1,500 per year (divided in half, applied each semester as a tuition stipend)To keep it: Not stated.
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
Phi Theta Kappa Scholarship (transfer)
$1,000 scholarship for up to three yearsTo keep it: Stated as 'for up to three years.'
Source: https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/
How families lose this aid
- Treating the DeWine Family Scholarship as a merit award you can win on stats alone.
It is need-based: you must be Pell-eligible and 'would not otherwise have the financial means to attend,' meet a 3.0 GPA / 20 ACT / 1030 SAT floor, apply separately by March 15, and maintain a 2.5 college GPA to renew.
- Expecting a published GPA or test chart to predict the exact merit amount.
Spring Hill awards academic merit automatically on admission, based on the high school record, in a published range of $4,000 to $11,500 a year. It does not publish a numeric GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the exact dollars before the offer.
Renewal questions families ask
- Does the merit scholarship renew, and what GPA do I need?
- The awards are described as multi-year (e.g., 'for up to four years'), but Spring Hill's scholarships page does not publish a renewal GPA for the standard academic merit scholarship. The DeWine award explicitly renews at a 2.5 college GPA. Confirm the standard-merit renewal GPA with the financial aid office.
Rules that bite at Spring Hill College
The renewal trip wires we'd flag in a custom playbook, derived from Spring Hill College's own tier rules and not generic advice.
- Renewal ruleMagis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Stated as 'for up to four years of full time study.' Specific renewal GPA not stated. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
How Spring Hill College compares across our verified dataset
- 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Spring Hill College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every renewal claim is checked against Spring Hill College’s own published materials.
- Policy pageSpring Hill College stacking policy
- Cost of attendanceSpring Hill College cost-of-attendance worksheet
- Merit tiersVisit Grant
More on Spring Hill College merit aid
- Spring Hill College merit aid overviewFull tier ladder, named scholarships, departmental awards, and how families decide.
- Spring Hill College scholarship stackingWhether outside awards land as upside or quietly displace institutional aid.
- Does Spring Hill College displace outside scholarships?The dollar math on a $5,000 outside award, plus peer schools that handle it differently.