If you win a scholarship, will Spring Hill College lower other aid?
We checked the school’s published rule so you can decide whether an outside award is worth your time.
Verified Jul 20262 months ago
The short answer
The school does not publish a clear answer.
Spring Hill publishes no general institutional stacking or outside-scholarship displacement policy on its scholarships page. The one explicit stacking rule found is for the Magis Scholar Award, which REPLACES (does not add to) any other merit scholarship — a Jesuit-high-school graduate gets either the $8,000 Magis award or a higher merit award, never both. How third-party outside scholarships affect institutional aid is not stated.
What to do
Ask the financial aid office what it will reduce before you apply for outside awards.
See the dollar example, school comparisons, and sources
Published policy type
Displacement policy unclear
Spring Hill College has no published displacement order. In plain dollar terms, that means the published policy doesn't specify, so the family is guessing without a written aid-office answer.
shc.edu publishes the $40,948 cost-of-attendance worksheet the math is run against.
The math: a $5,000 outside scholarship at Spring Hill College
Setup
Spring Hill College's public stacking policy doesn't specify how outside scholarships are treated when added to institutional aid.
What Spring Hill College does
The financial-aid office can apply any of the displacement rules: loan-first, grant-first, COA-cap, or mixed. Without a written confirmation, families are guessing.
Family takeaway
Email the aid office with a specific dollar example before chasing private awards. Get the answer in writing so it's binding.
Schools with the same policy
These schools also use displacement policy unclear for outside scholarships. The same dollar math above applies at each.
Assuming a Jesuit-high-school graduate gets the $8,000 Magis award ON TOP of the regular merit scholarship.
Magis replaces the standard merit scholarship; it does not stack. If your regular merit award would be worth more than $8,000, you keep the higher award instead — so Magis only helps if your standard merit offer is below $8,000.
Reading the $40,948 'Total Direct Cost' as the full cost of attendance.
The 2026-2027 $40,948 figure is tuition ($26,482) + comprehensive fee ($550) + a freshman double room ($7,354) + the required unlimited meal plan ($6,562). It does not include books, transportation, or personal expenses, and a different room or meal plan changes the total.
Displacement questions families ask
Can I combine the Magis award with my regular merit scholarship?
No. The $8,000 Magis Scholar Award (for Jesuit-high-school graduates) replaces the standard merit scholarship rather than adding to it; if you qualify for a merit award above $8,000, you get the higher one instead.
Rules that bite at Spring Hill College
Trip wires derived from Spring Hill College's own published policy. These are the things a custom playbook would flag in the first pass.
Renewal ruleMagis Scholar Award (Jesuit high school graduates): renewal floor that quietly knocks awards out
Stated as 'for up to four years of full time study.' Specific renewal GPA not stated. A single rough term can end a four-year award here without warning if the GPA floor isn't met cumulatively.
Outside awardsNo published displacement order
Spring Hill College's policy doesn't specify whether outside scholarships hit loans, grants, or only the COA ceiling. Get a written aid-office answer before chasing private awards.
Aid-office script (copy & send)
The displacement rule is only binding when it's in writing. This script asks Spring Hill College's aid office the specific question that matters for displacement policy unclear.
Subject: Outside-scholarship treatment question, fall applicant
Dear Spring Hill College Financial Aid Office,
I'm a fall applicant reviewing how outside scholarships interact with my institutional aid package. I've read the public policy at https://www.shc.edu/admissions-aid/tuition-financial-aid/types-of-financial-aid/scholarships/ and the $40,948 cost-of-attendance worksheet.
The public policy doesn't specify how outside scholarships are treated against institutional merit and need-based aid. Can you confirm in writing whether outside awards reduce: (a) loans first, (b) institutional grant first, or (c) only trigger a reduction when total aid exceeds COA?
If the answer varies by aid type or award size, what's the dollar threshold or category split?
A written answer (email is fine) is important because the outside-scholarship awarding bodies want confirmation before disbursing. Thank you for the time.
— [Student name], [Application ID if available]
How Spring Hill College compares across our verified dataset
133 of 749 verified schools in our dataset use unclear or unpublished displacement.
Spring Hill College is in a recognizable cluster (133 schools share this category). That framing matters when comparing peer schools that may publish the policy differently or not at all.
133 of 749 verified schools publish no clear displacement order.
Spring Hill College is one of them. The right move is the aid-office email script below, not a guess.
665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.
Spring Hill College is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.
Sources used on this page
Every claim is checked against Spring Hill College’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.