Skip to content

Young Harris College · Georgia

Young Harris scholarships and merit aid

DRAFT: Every Young Harris admit lands in one of four GPA-based merit tiers worth $17,000-$21,000 (100% of students receive scholarships, and textbooks are free in tuition) — but YHC publishes neither the tier names nor the GPA cutoffs, and the standout extra is the need-plus-merit O. Wayne Rollins $25,000 award for six freshmen.

Verified Jun 20263 months ago

The short answer

Is Young Harris worth a closer look?

Young Harris awards automatic merit on admission. Young Harris does not publish a GPA or test chart, so you cannot self-calculate the dollars.

Merit tiers42 based on grades or scores
First-year students with school awards27%First-year students, CDS 2022-2023 (school-estimated)
Research checkedJun 2026By our research team

Free Merit Check

See what Young Harris's published rules mean for your student. Takes 30 seconds.

Checking merit aid at Young Harris

We’ll email you this result and a few short merit-aid pointers. We store score ranges only, never your student’s name. Unsubscribe anytime. See our privacy policy.

Published scholarships

These amounts and requirements come from the school’s own published pages. Open an award to see who qualifies and how to keep it.

$17,000-$21,000

Academic Scholarships (four merit tiers)

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
Based upon high school GPA — specific GPA cutoffs per tier are not published
SAT
Not mentioned
ACT
Not mentioned
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Full-time entering freshmen; considered upon completion of the application for admission and submission of the official high school transcript; 'Prospective students will qualify for one of these awards'

How to keep it

Awarded for up to four years as long as the student meets all renewal criteria (the specific renewal criteria are not published on the pages opened).

Notes

The financial-aid page states there are 4 merit tiers between $17,000-$21,000 and every prospective student qualifies for one; tier names and GPA bands are not published anywhere opened — do not invent a grid.

Source

Amount not published

Transfer Scholarships

Based on grades or scoresCan continue
GPA
Amounts determined by the student's college GPA (no published grid)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Students transferring with 30 or more hours of college-level coursework; students with fewer than 30 hours are considered for freshman scholarships

How to keep it

Renewal terms not stated.

Notes

GPA-determined but no dollar amounts or cutoffs published.

Source

$25,000…$25,000 ($6,250/year over four years)

O. Wayne Rollins Scholarship Fund

Apply separatelyCan continue
GPA
Academic excellence in high school (no numeric cutoff published)
See who qualifies and how to keep it
Who qualifies

Six incoming freshmen; must demonstrate financial need; must have worked or volunteered during the summer; application appears on the admissions portal for qualifying accepted students; deadline March 25

How to keep it

Renewable annually, contingent upon maintaining eligibility.

Notes

Merit-plus-need hybrid funded by the O. Wayne Rollins Foundation.

Source

Amount not published

Fine Arts Scholarships

Apply separatelyCan continue
See who qualifies
Who qualifies

Majors in Art, Graphic Design, Music, Music Education, Musical Theatre, Theatre Performance, or Theatrical Design and Production with outstanding ability; awarding includes on-campus interview, audition, portfolio survey, and written recommendations

How to keep it

Renewal terms not stated.

Notes

Talent-based; per-discipline audition/portfolio processes detailed on the page (art portfolio with drawing emphasis; two contrasting compositions for music; BFA Musical Theatre audition doubles as program audition).

Source

See what could change an award

What families often miss

  1. YHC publishes the range ($17,000-$21,000) and that awards are GPA-based, but NOT the tier names or GPA cutoffs. Families cannot pre-compute the award; ask admissions for the current tier criteria in writing.

  2. Scholarships are 'awarded for up to four years as long as the student meets all renewal criteria' — but the renewal criteria themselves are not published on the scholarship pages. Get them in writing before enrolling.

  3. The $25,000 Rollins award (six freshmen) requires demonstrated financial need AND having 'worked or volunteered during the summer' plus academic excellence; the application appears on the admissions portal and is due March 25.

  4. Students with fewer than 30 hours of college coursework are considered for FRESHMAN scholarships (based on high school GPA), not transfer scholarships (based on college GPA) — which set of grades is stronger can change the award.

  5. Don't over-budget — YHC includes all required textbooks in tuition ($0 line item on the cost breakdown). Conversely, don't expect a 'book stipend' from aid; there is no separate book charge to offset.

  6. The advertised $47,695 residential total uses the $6,000 Appleby Center double; Enotah/Hillgrove run $8,500 and a Village single $11,500, and the $1,600/year student fee plus $200 parking apply on top of base tuition.

See costs and school data

Who this school may work for

DRAFT: Students who want guaranteed, substantial GPA-based merit (every prospective student qualifies for one $17K-$21K tier) at a small Georgia Methodist college — especially Georgia residents stacking HOPE/Zell and GTEG, and lower-income high achievers eyeing the Rollins award.

Published yearly cost: Approximately $47,695 for 2026-2027. Source

Cost and graduation facts

Federal reporting on who actually enrolls at Young Harris, what they paid after aid, and what happened next — independent of anything the school markets.

Average annual net price by family income at Young Harris, academic year 2021-22
Family incomeAverage net price paid
$0–$30,000$19,721
$30,001–$48,000$17,986
$48,001–$75,000$20,095
$75,001–$110,000$22,992
$110,001+$25,053
All income levels (average)$22,034

Sticker price vs. what students actually pay

Published tuition & fees, AY 2022-23
$32,305
Average net price paid (all Title-IV aid), AY 2021-22
$22,034

That works out to roughly a 54% discount below the federal AY 2021-22 average cost of attendance of $48,301 (College Scorecard — a separate, federally reported figure, not the published cost of attendance shown above).

Outcomes for students who enrolled here

Graduation rate (150% of normal time), 2016 cohort
42%
First-year retention rate, 2021 cohort
65%
Median debt at completion, 2020–2021 completers
$27,000 (~$286/mo on a 10-yr plan)
Median earnings, 10 years after entry (measured 2020-21)
$47,195
Share of students receiving a Pell grant, AY 2021-22
38%
Share of students receiving a federal loan, AY 2021-22
66%
See other scholarships and cost examples

More school data

From the Young Harris Common Data Set 2022-2023 (school-estimated figures):

Merit penetrationHow likely is merit aid here?From Young Harris’s Common Data Set: the share of first-year students who receive institutional merit and the average dollar amount when they do.
27%of admitsget merit
Average award$17,534Covers ~37% of $47,695 cost of attendance

At Young Harris, roughly 1 in 4 first-year admits receive institutional merit aid. The average award is $17,534about 37% of total cost.

As filed in Young Harris's CDS Section H2A: of 251 first-time, full-time degree-seeking freshmen, 68 had no financial need and received institutional merit (non-need) scholarship or grant aid, averaging $17,534. Across all full-time degree-seeking undergraduates: 232 of 832, averaging $18,138. Athletic awards are excluded per the CDS definition.

The 2022-2023 column is marked "estimated" in the school's own CDS filing — school-projected figures, not final audited counts.

Receive institutional merit27%First-year students, Common Data Set 2022-2023 (school-estimated)
Average merit award$17,534Across recipients, Common Data Set 2022-2023 (school-estimated)

Source: Common Data Set 2022-2023 (verified 2026-07-23)

Other Young Harris scholarships worth checking

These awards can be harder to find. Each one has its own rules.

AmountVaries by programEligibilityActive, full members of The United Methodist Church enrolled full-time in a degree-seeking program at a participating college.

Applications through the United Methodist Higher Education Foundation and GBHEM.

Source

Amount$1,000 (one recipient per academic year)EligibilityCurrent students; application reviewed by Kessler family representatives.

Applications must be postmarked by December 10 each year.

Source

AmountAmount not published (external foundation award)EligibilityGeorgia resident, U.S. citizen, demonstrated financial need, 30+ completed credit hours with at least a 'B' average.

Apply online at tycobbfoundation.com by the March 1 deadline; renewable through the foundation's renewal process.

Source

Amount$5,000 (one student annually)EligibilityStudy abroad in England; recipient is the 'Woodward Scholar.'

Contact Dr. Jennifer Schroeder for deadlines.

Source

AmountAmount not publishedEligibilityCompetitive; YHC students studying abroad at Wesley House, Cambridge (≈6 weeks, May 15-end of June) with interest in Methodist heritage; earns six credit hours.

Source

AmountVaries (state-determined)EligibilityHOPE: Georgia residents with 3.0+ HOPE GPA and rigor requirements. Zell Miller: 3.7+ HOPE GPA plus 1200 SAT or 26 ACT. GTEG: full-time Georgia residents at a private Georgia college.

The State of Georgia determines eligibility; YHC also maintains a HOPE/Zell-eligible info page.

Source

Young Harris merit aid FAQ

  • What is the scholarship deadline?

    Merit academic scholarships have no separate application — the financial-aid page says 'There is no deadline to apply.' Exceptions: the O. Wayne Rollins Scholarship application is due March 25, the Rebecca Lynn Kessler Scholarship must be postmarked by December 10, and the (external) Ty Cobb Foundation application is due March 1.

  • How much merit aid will I get?

    YHC offers four merit tiers between $17,000 and $21,000 per year based on high school GPA, and states that every prospective student will qualify for one of them. Specific tier cutoffs are not published — confirm with admissions.

  • How long does the scholarship last?

    Academic scholarships are awarded for up to four years as long as the student meets all renewal criteria; the specific renewal criteria are not published on the scholarship pages.

  • What does Young Harris cost for 2026-27?

    The published full-year residential figure is $47,695: base tuition $33,970 (12-18 hours flat rate), unlimited meal plan $5,920, Appleby Center double room $6,000, textbooks $0 (included in tuition), plus the $1,600 student fee, $200 parking, and $5 green fee. Other halls range to $8,500 (Enotah/Hillgrove) and $11,500 (Village single).

  • Does YHC take HOPE and Zell Miller?

    Yes — as a private Georgia college, eligible Georgia residents can use the HOPE Scholarship (3.0+ HOPE GPA), Zell Miller Scholarship (3.7+ HOPE GPA with 1200 SAT/26 ACT), and the Georgia Tuition Equalization Grant (full-time students). The State of Georgia determines eligibility.

See sources and other schools

How Young Harris compares

  • 665 of 749 verified schools publish at least one four-year renewable merit award.

    Young Harris is one of them. The cohort minority (84 schools) only awards one-year scholarships, which means the four-year value families assume on a brochure quote isn't guaranteed at every school.

Sources used on this page

Every claim is checked against Young Harris’s own published materials. Below is the full reference set.

Compare with similar schools

Keep exploring Young Harris merit aid